We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
Ranked #8 of 71 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 2, 2013

I stayed here with my friend for a few days in March and cannot fault the place. The manager Serge went out of his way to make our stay a happy one. I am vegetarian and we wanted to have the banquet meal, he had the chef come and check with me what I could eat and then made a special meal for me. It was delicious. Room was lovely, service from the staff was great and so friendly. If ever I go back to Laos would definitely stay there again

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Bitezbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (851)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

486 - 492 of 851 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2013

Just a block away from the busstle of the morning and evening markets as well as the traditional ritual of barefoot monks on their alms rounds shortly after daybreak. Service and food was good and a bonus was being entertained by various dance groups during dinner..

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Great staff that really made you feel welcome, nice and cool pool, good breakfast and location close to the night market and mount phousi. The perfect choice for an enjoyable and tranquil stat in Luang Prabang!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swedalb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, Hotel Manager at Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Dear swedalb,

Thank you for your feedback.

I am certainly glad to learn that you have enjoyed the services and facilities of Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel and that you found our establishment to be the perfect choice for exploring and enjoying Luang Prabang.

We would be delighted to be of service to again in the future and in the meantime, I would like to wish you a good week ahead and all the very best!

Kind regards
Serge Ditesheim
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

I really enjoyed and felt home. Rooms are nice and charming, you feel cosy and instantly good, you can forgive the loud aircon and fridge, anyway i never travel without earplugs.

Very personalized service, staff would remember what you had for breakfast the day before and i allways had a nice chat at the lobby.

Not in the very center but very close to all things to see and to in short walking distance, bikes available.

The pool is not very big. But sufficient for such a place and very cool water, so reakly refreshing.

Good service, extremely fast laundry.


Excellent spa!

Minus: restaurant nothing special, foodies should go outside.
Tours via website overprized and nothing special, book on site, there is an army of suppliers waiting for you

Room Tip: Garden as far away from the road Main building to poolside
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reise_rini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, Hotel Manager at Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Dear Reise_rini,

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback with us and fellow travelers here on Tripadvisor. I have very much appreciated your constructive and informative feedback.

I am glad to learn that your stay was an overall pleasant experience. Further I have allowed myself to share your kind praise for our associates and especially our SPA and laundry with the team. Also on their behalf - thank you very much.

Thank you also for having pointed out that the fridge and air-conditioning unit in your room were noisy. My sincere apologies for the inconveniences caused by this and please trust that we have with the help of your remarks here been able to fix this issue in a timely and efficient manner.

Once again dear Reise_rini, thank you for having chosen Maison Souvannaphoum as your preferred Hotel in Luang Prabang and for having provided us with your invaluable feedback.

Kind regards
Serge Ditesheim
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights at the start of a tour of Laos.
It is a very attractive, well-run hotel in a good location.
It was a lovely haven to return to after sightseeing, pottering about the nearby night market and town or eating at one of the many restaurants there are to choose from within easy walking distance .Tuk-tuks are also readily available if walking in the heat is too much.
We only ate breakfast in the hotel - a la carte or buffet depending on the number of guests staying - there is a good choice for all palates and freshly cooked coconut Laos pancakes were delicious!
Our Garden Wing room was cool, tastefully furnished,spacious and comfortable with a good-sized balcony complete with fan,overlooking the lush gardens and pool(be careful not to shut yourself out on the balcony - we did, twice, to our embarrassment despite having been made aware of how easy it is to do, but were rescued quickly by amused but courteous staff).
Turn down service is provided each evening and includes lighting of oil burners in the room and mosquito coils on the balcony - a thoughtful touch. We actually did not see or suffer the presence of many mosquitoes - but we did enjoy and see many beautiful butterflies flitting around the lovely gardens.
ALL the staff and the manager Serge are friendly,smiling,courteous and attentive, ready to help without being intrusive. Most understood us very well and if they didn't quickly found someone who could.We did have an issue with our aircon unit that dripped one afternoon though it was still doing a good job of keeping our room cool and was quickly attended to.
The pool area was great for relaxing and a good place to meet and chat to other friendly guests who, like ourselves, were enjoying similar tours and ready to share experiences. We stayed at other hotels after where guests did not seem interested in mixing but seemed to prefer to be glued to their mobile phones or laptops!
If we were to return to Laos it would probably be to Luang Prabang and in that case definitely Maison Souvannaphoum.

Room Tip: We always prefer to be upstairs and were but as far as we could see all the garden wing rooms have s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oldbid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, Hotel Manager at Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Dear oldbid,

I trust you have had a smooth and uneventful journey back to England.

Thank you very much for kindly having taken the time to share your detailed review of your recent vacation here on Tripadvisor. It is invaluable for my team and I to read of what our valued guest value and like. I am very glad to learn that we have been able to provide you with the relaxing and enjoyable stay you deserve.

I would however not want to miss to apologize yet again for the dripping air-conditioning unit in your room and the inconveniences this may have caused to you. Thank you for having reported the drip to us quickly so that we were able to fix and rectify the problem right away.

We really hope you will be visiting this wonderful part of the world again in the future and would certainly be delighted to welcoming you back to Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel on such occasion.

In the meantime, I would like to wish you a good week ahead and all the very best!

With best regards from Luang Prabang

Serge Ditesheim
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

This was our first visit to Luang Prabang and our first stay at Maison Souvannaphoum. Everything about our hotel met or exceeded our expectations. Most impressive was the attentive, friendly service. All the staff, from the Front Desk staff to our breakfast waiter went out of their way to ensure that everything was provided for and all our needs anticipated. Everyone went out of their way to establish a caring, personal rapport.

Our room in the new building though not large was very comfortable, with a balcony opening onto a lushly landscaped yard with a view over the swimming pool to the main building, a former royal residence. The bed was very comfortable and we slept beautifully. Although the Maison is located just off one of the main roads in LP, we never were disturbed by traffic noise. The place is peaceful and quiet. Another nice feature of the location is that it is just outside of the main downtown area: a short walk but far away enough to be beyond the hubbub of the night market.

On our last night, my wife and I had a wonderful massage in their on-site spa. Like everything else at the Maison, the spa is not large, but it is intimate and welcoming, and the masseuses were first rate. Our 90 minute session was a wonderful treat, which just made us want to stay longer!

We were busy in Luang Prabang. We only had a short time and were anxious to get the most out of our time there. The concierge services provided by the Front Desk took care of everything, from arranging tours to setting up an on-site cooking class conducted by the hotel's own chef where we learned how to prepare several Lao delicacies.

So, kudos to the manager Serge and everyone there at the Maison. Outstanding job. Great memories. We will certainly be back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnULord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, Hotel Manager at Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Dear JhonULord,

Greetings from Luang Prabang.

It has been a great pleasure to have made your acquaintance during your recent stay with us. Please allow me to thank you yet again for having selected Maison Souvannaphoum as your preferred Hotel for your vacation in Luang Prabang.

Thank you also for having taken the time to share your account here on Tripadvisor. I have read your comments and feedback with great interest and joy. I am glad that you have had the opportunity to participate in many of the activities offered in and around town and it is wonderful to know that my team was able to contribute to an overall memorable holiday.

Please trust that we are fully committed to constantly look for ways to improve on our facilities and services we render and shall certainly not rest on our laurels now.

Once again, JohnULord, thank you very much for your kind words of encouragement and we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the hopefully not too distant future.

Have a good day!

Kind regards
Serge Ditesheim
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

You've heard the clothes make the man, well in this case the manager and employees make the hotel. Lovely peaceful property in a lovely town. After visiting hectic Hanoi for three nights and going to Laos for three nights it was like wonderful dream. Check in was where the magic started. From the desk staff to the personal welcome from the manager Serge was unexpected. Our room was on the second floor and the view from the balcony was the beautiful pool and surrounding mountains.
The room was very nice with many amenities. Breakfast was wonderful. Twice we had a buffet and one morning it was off the menu as the hotel was not very full. The breakfast staff are so kind and thoughtful. We only had breakfast in the hotel. The night market is only five minutes away on foot and very large. Good shopping. We would definitely stay in this hotel again.Thanks to a wonderful caring staff for making our time in Luang Prabang so memorable.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karen t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, Hotel Manager at Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Dear karen t,

Thank you very much for your wonderful feedback. I am really glad to learn that you have had an overall excellent stay with us here at Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel. My team was certainly very proud to have received such high praise from your good self and I am very proud of them too – they are a special group of people indeed. I am also very pleased to hear that you took full advantage of our location to do some quality shopping on the night market and that you would stay with us again when you may return to this part of the world.

We would certainly be delighted to welcoming you back and in the meantime, I would like to wish you a good day and all the very best!

Kind regards
Serge Ditesheim
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.2 mi away
Satri House
Satri House
#6 of 71 in Luang Prabang
615 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#3 of 71 in Luang Prabang
872 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Luang Say Residence
The Luang Say Residence
#1 of 71 in Luang Prabang
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#2 of 71 in Luang Prabang
844 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
#5 of 71 in Luang Prabang
670 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel
#7 of 71 in Luang Prabang
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel

Address: Rue Chao Fa Ngum | Banthatluang, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Phone Number:
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Luang Prabang
#6 Luxury Hotel in Luang Prabang
#9 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
#12 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range: $149 - $306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel by Angsana is a boutique luxury hotel in the heart of Luang Prabang, Laos. It's the perfect retreat for the modern traveller seeking style and authenticity. Once the residence of the late Prince Souvanna Phouma, the mansion is an elegant blend of French colonial architecture and Lao motifs with the addition of all the modern comforts. The hotel is an 8-minute walk to the town centre - close the sights, night market, restaurants, bars and river, but away from the bustle and noise. Cool off in the pool, enjoy a drink in the garden, or unwind at the Angsana Spa after a long day of sightseeing. Our attentive staff are always on hand to meet your every need with warm, personalized service. The rooms and grounds are designed to be your home away from home. Maison Souvannaphoum is your private oasis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison Souvannaphoum Luang Prabang
Hotel Maison Souvannaphoum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing