We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely laos”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
Ranked #5 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Forest Row, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“lovely laos”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

best managed hotel that we stayed at in Laos ("de-luxe" selection); but what a magical city Luang Prabang is, fabulous ambience; great location, peaceful and discreet, nice cool pool, superb breakfast

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Angsana.com

Helpful?
Thank dunstanrichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, Hotel Manager at Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your contribution here on Tripadvisor.

I am really glad to know you enjoyed the city of Luang Prabang during your recent visit. I could not agree more with you; Luang Prabang is a magical city and the people of Laos so warm-hearted and friendly. Thank you very much for having entrusted us with hosting your vacation and we would be delighted to welcoming you back again in the future.

In the meantime, I wish you a good day and all the very best for 2013.

Kind regards
Serge Ditesheim
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

759 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    518
    176
    37
    19
    9
See reviews for
104
415
61
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

A real elegant piece with its history. Staffs were very nice and sweet. They give us a fantastic Xmas party and cooking class. Managers were readily for help and they were indeed very helpful. There were here and there some more can be done and improved. But i guess this is more because i need time to adapt the laotian style, slow, no rush at all.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CamnoENG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, Hotel Manager at Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear CamnoENG,

Greetings from Luang Prabang.

Thank you for posting your review here on Tripadvisor. We are all glad you enjoyed your time spent here with us at Maison Souvannaphoum and especially Chef Vanhsay was pleased to learn that you liked the X-Mas dinner and the cooking class you did with him. Please trust that we are fully committed to making “Maison” a more pleasant and enjoyable place on a daily basis and are therefore very much able to appreciate the feedback received from your good self here.

We would be delighted to be of service to you again in the future and look forward to welcoming you back.

In the meantime, I wish you a good day and all the very best!


Kind regards
Serge Ditesheim
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

We stayed at Maison for 3 nights in the Champa Room. The best thing about staying at the Maison was its very professional, warm and helpful staff, attentive and unobtrusive. They are without exception, very knowledgeable, cheerful and charming. The building and its surroundings are well-maintained, clean, tasteful and restful. It is a sanctuary,very close to the main part of town which made it conducive for walks and exploration on our own. We loved our stay and regretted that we had not booked for a longer stay. Staying at the Maison is like staying with family.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marianne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, Hotel Manager at Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Marianne C,

It was with great interest and joy that I have read your review here on Tripadvisor. I have not missed to share your encouraging feedback with my team here and it certainly made everyone really proud. Therefore also on behalf of all of my associates here – thank you very much!

Please trust that we are fully committed to making Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel a more enjoyable and pleasant place on a daily basis and shall certainly not rest on our laurels. It would be wonderful to welcoming you back to our Maison again soon so that you can explore beautiful Luang Prabang more extensively.

In the meantime I would like to wish you and your beloved ones a very healthy and happy 2013 and all the very best.

Kind regards
Serge Ditesheim
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

We stayed at the Maison for 3 nights. Really enjoyable stay. Lovely room which was very clean, neat and practical. The bathroom was just right with an excellent shower. There was everything you would expect in the room from an equivalent hotel in Europe.

The hotel facilities including pool area were nice; and the staff were also very helpful and pleasant.

Location was great. The whole of Luang Prabang is best explored on foot so we expect most other places in the town would be fine.

Breakfast was fine, the usual bits and bobs.

Small touches: staff were helpful in sorting our airport transfer when the time was amended by our travel agent for no reason; when the bed is turned down of an evening they also light a candle in an oil burner; and they also light a joss stick on the balcony to try and fend off the Mosquitos so that you can sit out and enjoy the warm evening air!

The hotel will exchange money, but the rate is ever so slightly less favourable than the numerous kiosks on the town. We did one organised trip to Pak ou caves (not booked through the hotel) through one of the operators in the town - we did consider arranging ourselves through the boatmen but opted to spend an extra £1 or so for relative peace of mind. Shopping around will not save you much at all, as they all seem to work together!

Excellent base from which to explore.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TravelBudz48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, Hotel Manager at Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear TravelBudz48,

Greetings from Luang Prabang.

Thank you so much for sharing your impressions of your stay with us here on Tripadvisor. We are certainly glad to know that you have had an enjoyable stay in Luang Prabang and that my team here was able to contribute to a memorable vacation. I am also delighted to learn that you found our rooms and facilities to be up to your expectations; please trust that we are fully committed to upkeep and improve on the same on a daily basis.

TravelBudz48 once again, thank you for having selected Maison Souvannaphoum as your Hotel of choice for your recent vacation and for providing us with your invaluable feedback here.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the hopefully not too distant future and in the meantime I wish you a healthy and happy 2013!

Kind regards
Serge Ditesheim
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

Stayed for 4 nights in room 204. Nice room with huge bed and nice fittings and very pleasant balcony overlooking the garden and pool. Nice to relax in the warm balmy evening after returning from town.

Staff were pleasant, helpful and tried their upmost to please, however, when groups were at breakfast, service efficiency came under pressure and was not so smooth.

Breakfast choice a bit limited, but there was sufficiency.

Swimming pool very nice to relax in after hectic touring days.

Hotel well located, only a few minutes from town.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frankandliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, Hotel Manager at Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Frankandliz,

I trust you have had a smooth and uneventful journey back to the UK.

Thank you very much for kindly having taken the time to review your recent stay at Maison Souvannaphoum here on tripadvisor.
We are glad to learn that you have had an overall very good stay with us and that our rooms, facilities and location were up to your expectations.

On the other hand I would certainly not want to miss to extend my apologies for any inconvenience caused to you during our breakfast time. I have allowed myself to discuss your comments with regards to service efficiency during breakfast with my Restaurant Manager as the experience described by your good self does not match the standards we have set ourselves. Once again, my apologies for the shortfalls.

We would be delighted to welcoming you back to Maison Souvannaphoum in the future and in the meantime, I would like to wish you and your beloved ones a merry festive season and all the very best!

Kind regards
Serge Ditesheim
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

We arrived at the Maison well past midnight and we were impressed by the security and welcome at reception and within minutes, we were led to Rooms 109 and 110. The rooms were large and spacious with two enormous single beds. The wooden floor was highly polished and clean. Unlike many hotels, the lighting was bright enough to read newspapers with the addition of the reading lamp. The chair and table were very comfortable. Indeed five good nights' sleep was assured.
The breakfast was a buffet type in the restaurant behind reception. There were fresh juice and good coffee. Fresh fruits, bread, croissants, hot dishes were all neatly laid out and best of all were the freshly cooked to order Laotian pho and pancakes. The staff here were very pleasant and the excellent coffee was most welcome.
We explored the grounds and found that the garden was neatly laid out with interesting flowers. The pergola between reception and the rooms provide shade from the hot Laotian sun with an elephant sculpture not far away. The whole place was meticulously clean with people putting flowers in pots of water.
We had dinner in the grounds on 11th November 2012. This was a great experience. There were four musicians providing the gamelan type of music with three females dancers in a variety of dances and costumes. After the Amuse Bouche and the soup, the remaining dishes were presented in a long curved boat. There dishes had delicate flavours in a variety of meat and vegetables. The heat of the chilli was not excessive, extra heat could be acquired from a few small Birdseye chilli on the side. The whole dinner was rounded up by a plate of desserts. This Prince Laos Dinner was well thought out and executed and at US $ 25.00 each person, represented good value.
Incidentally, we returned on another night after having dinner in town and asked for sticky rice pudding. This was served with mango and we were not disappointed.
Mention must be made of the most relaxing times my wife had in the Spa. She found that the Javanese massage most relaxing and somehow, she managed to indulge herself to four massages during our five nights' stay!
The laundry service was also very efficient, and we appreciated the express service on our last night.
An interesting member of the resident staff was the green parakeet which was either on the computer screen or someone's shoulder.
The stay in the Maison Souvannaphoum was most relaxing.
Sze Ng

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Angsana.com

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, Hotel Manager at Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Sze Ng,

Greetings from Luang Prabang.

I trust you and your family had a smooth and uneventful journey back home.

Thank you ever so much for having taken the time to share your experience with Maison Souvannaphoum in such detail here on Tripadvisor. I am very glad you were able to experience our special Lao dinner and my food and beverage team was really happy to read that you have thoroughly enjoyed the evening. Also our SPA team was very proud to learn that your wife found the treatments and services offered to be relaxing and memorable.

Your kind feedback here is certainly a huge encouragement for all of us. Please trust that we are committed to making Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel a more enjoyable and pleasant place and shall not stop looking for ways to improve and fine tune.

Once again dear Sze Ng, thank you for your time and consideration and for providing your invaluable feedback.
I am looking forward to welcoming you back to Luang Prabang in the hopefully not too distant future and in the meantime wish you a good day and all the very best!

Kind regards
Serge Ditesheim
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

Recently stayed at Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel. It was charming and full of character and in the best location, so easy to get to restaurants, markets, temples etc. Everybody fell in love with the staff and particularly, the General Manager of the hotel. So warm and friendly. They all went out of their way to make us feel extremely special. They helped us plan our day, our spa treatments (which were outstanding) and made us feel like we were staying in someones home. Food in the hotel was very good including the snacks by the pool. It was our first time in Laos, which we all loved, and staying at this great hotel made a fantastic visit even better. Hope to return to Maison Souvannaphoum one day.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Angsana.com

Helpful?
Thank Alystern1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, Hotel Manager at Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear valued Guest,

It is wonderful to read that we were able to make a contribution to a memorable and enjoyable first holiday in Laos and truly hope that many more travels to this wonderful part of the world will follow.

Please allow me to thank you yet again for having stayed with us on this occasion and for kindly having taken the time to reflect on your experience here on Tripadvisor.

My team is very proud to have received such high praise from your good self. It certainly made our day!

It was great to have made your acquaintance during your recent visit and I am looking forward to welcoming you back to Maison Souvannaphoum one day!

In the meantime, I am sending you sunny greetings from Luang Prabang and wish you a very good day.

Kind regards

Serge Ditesheim
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
1.1 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#1 of 69 in Luang Prabang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 69 in Luang Prabang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
0.9 mi away
Burasari Heritage
Burasari Heritage
#7 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
#4 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
0.9 mi away
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
#6 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Luang Say Residence
The Luang Say Residence
#2 of 69 in Luang Prabang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel

Property: Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
Address: Rue Chao Fa Ngum | Banthatluang, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Luang Prabang
#4 Luxury Hotel in Luang Prabang
#11 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
#12 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel by Angsana is a boutique luxury hotel in the heart of Luang Prabang, Laos. It's the perfect retreat for the modern traveller seeking style and authenticity. Once the residence of the late Prince Souvanna Phouma, the mansion is an elegant blend of French colonial architecture and Lao motifs with the addition of all the modern comforts. The hotel is an 8-minute walk to the town centre - close the sights, night market, restaurants, bars and river, but away from the bustle and noise. Cool off in the pool, enjoy a drink in the garden, or unwind at the Angsana Spa after a long day of sightseeing. Our attentive staff are always on hand to meet your every need with warm, personalized service. The rooms and grounds are designed to be your home away from home. Maison Souvannaphoum is your private oasis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison Souvannaphoum Luang Prabang
Hotel Maison Souvannaphoum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing