We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't recommend this place highly enough”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
Ranked #6 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Couldn't recommend this place highly enough”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

An attractive hotel in lovely grounds, just a short walk away from the main street. Our room was large, light and airy and there was a pleasant pool/bar area that provided a welcome oasis at the end of a day's sightseeing. The hotel was spotlessly clean with the most helpful, charming team of staff who did everything they could to make our stay special.

Room Tip: We had a deluxe garden room which was lovely and overlooked the gardens and pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TJ1711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, Hotel Manager at Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear TJ711,

I trust you have had a smooth and uneventful journey back to the UK.

Thank you ever so much for having taken the time to share your holiday experience here on Tripadvisor. On behalf of my entire team here - thank you very much for your praise and kind words. We are glad to have been able to make your stay here in Luang Prabang memorable and special and would be delighted to welcoming you back again in the future.

Please trust that we shall certainly not rest on our laurels and make every effort possible to keep our grounds and facilities pleasant and enjoyable as you have found them on your recent visit to Maison Souvannaphoum.

I wish you a good day!

Serge Ditesheim
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

790 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    539
    185
    38
    19
    9
See reviews for
108
430
65
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cordes-sur-Ciel, France
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

this is a lovely hotel in the middle of the tranquil city , when i rented a motor bike they warned me of the traffic coming from phuket, what traffic . lovely rooms with everything you could desire, beautiful to look at and really nice food,good breakfast . very helpful is advising where to visit and what to look at . make friends with the parrot

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TIMOTHY C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, Hotel Manager at Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear TIMOTHY C,

Greetings from Luang Prabang.

It is great to hear that you have had such an enjoyable holiday here in Luang Prabang. We are glad to read that you found our location as well as our rooms and food to be commendable. Thank you for your kind praise! I am also glad to inform you that our little parrot “Buddy” is doing very well and is learning to speak the local language now.

He will hence be welcoming you with a resounding “Sabaidee” when you may visit us next time.

In the meantime, I wish you a good day and all the very best!

Best Regards
Serge Ditesheim
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 27, 2012

The hotel is set in an attractive garden with a beautiful small swimming pool. All areas of the hotel including our room were very tastefully decorated, obviously by some on with an artistic eye. The staff are very friendly and helpful. We felt they genuinely wanted to know us and help us to appreciate Luang Prabang. Their restaurant served delicious meals, very fresh and well presented. Great location as well. Walking distance to many sites.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Artihc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, Hotel Manager at Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear Artihc,

I trust you have had an uneventful journey back to Autralia.

Please allow m e to thank you yet again for staying with us on your recent visit to Luang Prabang. Thank you further for your kind feedback on our interior design, the quality of our food and the friendliness of our team. Comments such as the one received from your good self here certainly make every hotelier’s day and I have not missed to pass on your praise to all my associates.

We would be delighted to be of service to you again in the hopefully not too distant future and in the meantime, I wish you a good day!

Kind regards
Serge Ditesheim
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 26, 2012

We booked our stay online and didn't know what to expect. We had been to Luang Prabang 12 years earlier, but didn't know how much things had changed. We had only booked for one night, thinking we would see how we liked it. We loved everything about Maison Souv. and extended our stay. It was a short walk to the center of town, giving us respite from the bustle but proximity to everything. The staff was great, and the room was excellent value for our money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Angsana.com

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, Hotel Manager at Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear valued Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments which I have read with great interest and joy! I am really glad that after having visited Luang Prabang 12 years ago, you and your family yet again thoroughly enjoyed this truly special place. We are glad to have been able to add our part to a memorable and pleasant holiday and are looking forward to welcoming you back to Maison Souvannaphoum in the future.

Have a good day!

Best regards

Serge Ditesheim
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Since my first step down from the airplane, I didn't expect anything, told myself I came here for being a tourist. But after I spend my first night in this hotel, all the service, all the friendly smiling, and every good thing I was served. Those gave me "a special guest of them"....no more a tourist.
I use this way to say thanks to them, and'll keep this hotel in my mind till the next holiday comes!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank udonstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, Hotel Manager at Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear undonstar,

Thank you for sharing your encouraging feedback here on Tripadvisor. I am delighted to hear that you felt so comfortable when staying with us here at Maison Souvannaphoum. Your “thanks” to the team have been very well received and please allow me to in return also thank you once again for having selected Maison Souvannaphoum as your preferred Hotel in Luang Prabang. We are looking forward to welcoming you back on your next holiday!

In the meantime, I am sending you warmest regards and wish you all the very best!

Serge Ditesheim
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We received a Princely welcome back. It is great to return to this ex-Prince Residence. Lush greenery, well-landscaped garden and friendly staff to greet you by your name at every meeting point.

Every staff is commendable, including the hotel manager, Serge and resident parakeet, Buddy. This time we stayed 2 days longer and managed to do and experience more. We rented the hotel bikes for self-exploration of the area along Mekong River. Was a great suggestion by the hotel. Other than the must-do Alm offering by the streets early in the morning, we also booked a local market tour with their Executive Chef, Vahnsay. It was well worth the time and fees, we saw many interesting and gross items for sale. Chef would explain what the odd items were and how it may be used for cooking. It was educational and truly an experience, though not for the faint hearted. That said, my travelling companions from Germany found it extremely interesting!

Try the local cuisine in the hotel, it is much better and definitely comparable in price than the other restaurants in town.

The Spa in the hotel is always booked up. Out of our 6 travellers, only 3 of us managed to get a slot during our 4 days stay. I must remember to book the moment I check in next time!
A memorable stay again and looking forward to return again next year!

Room Tip: The Garden Rooms are nice, but if you are needing only 1 room try the main masion room. We needed 3...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexsfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BTGroup, Hotel Manager at Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear alexfish,

Sunny greetings from Luang Prabang.
We are all very happy to read that you and your travel companions from Germany have enjoyed your recent stay at Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel. Thank you ever so much for your gracious comments made here in Tripadvisor and for sharing your experience with fellow travelers. I have passed on your feedback to all the team and it certainly made everyone really proud! I am sending you personal regards from Chef Vanhsay as well as from our “mascot” Buddy and would love to welcome you back to Maison Souvannaphoum in the hopefully not too distant future.

In the meantime, I wish you and your family all the very best!

Kind regards
Serge Ditesheim
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bari, Italy
1 review
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Some reasons why the hotel is top in all hotels we’ve ever stayed:
Location - just amazing with only 5 minutes walking from main sights, shopping centre.
Room - very comfortable bed, bathroom was lovely and well-equiped with all things you need.
Food- Breakfast are fantastic, service from the waiting staff in the restaurant was superb.
Staff - staff very helpful, friendly, attentive and always there for you if needed
If I have chance to visit here again I would definitely choose this hotel and recommend it to anyone - it has made our visit even more special

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fillip0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.4 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#2 of 69 in Luang Prabang
760 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#3 of 69 in Luang Prabang
808 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel
#7 of 69 in Luang Prabang
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Kiridara
Kiridara
#12 of 69 in Luang Prabang
648 reviews
0.9 mi away
Burasari Heritage
Burasari Heritage
#8 of 69 in Luang Prabang
461 reviews
1.0 mi away
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Luang Prabang View Hotel
#19 of 69 in Luang Prabang
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel

Property: Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
Address: Rue Chao Fa Ngum | Banthatluang, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Luang Prabang
#5 Luxury Hotel in Luang Prabang
#11 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
#12 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel by Angsana is a boutique luxury hotel in the heart of Luang Prabang, Laos. It's the perfect retreat for the modern traveller seeking style and authenticity. Once the residence of the late Prince Souvanna Phouma, the mansion is an elegant blend of French colonial architecture and Lao motifs with the addition of all the modern comforts. The hotel is an 8-minute walk to the town centre - close the sights, night market, restaurants, bars and river, but away from the bustle and noise. Cool off in the pool, enjoy a drink in the garden, or unwind at the Angsana Spa after a long day of sightseeing. Our attentive staff are always on hand to meet your every need with warm, personalized service. The rooms and grounds are designed to be your home away from home. Maison Souvannaphoum is your private oasis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison Souvannaphoum Luang Prabang
Hotel Maison Souvannaphoum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing