We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
Ranked #7 of 71 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 1, 2012

A nice warm hotel, within walking distance from the main Luang Prabang attractions and the night martket. Warm atmosphere with great staff and service. Lovely breakfast spread and great happy hour cocktails. The rooms are very comfortable and clean with great power showers. The Spa is high recommended. We filled out a customer comment questionnaire and received a feedback from the manager stright away - very impressive.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Angsana.com
Thank Khilan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (839)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

538 - 544 of 839 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2012

This was such a lovely place to stay.It is very central for the town of Luang Prabang which is beautiful with no western influence at all ( such a welcome change to most of the rest of South East Asia). We had a garden room in the hotel and it was beautifull - with the delight of scented candles lit every night for us ( a small but welcome touch). The staff are all very welcoming and friendly. The breakfast was a great choice of hot and cold foods. The swimming pool was a welcome relief after a day vsiiting the sights of this lovely town.
We wished we had stayed longer

Room Tip: Stay as long as you can!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julienne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Stayed here for five nights at the end of July and from the moment we arrived we knew we had found something really special.
From the welcome drink by the pool, greetings from Serge the hotel manager, superb service provided by all staff, the stunning grounds, a beautiful room all added to the relaxing ambience this hotel exudes.
The location is great a leisurely 5 minute walk to the night markets/shops with a grocery store half way in where you can stock up on drinks and snacks.
Whilst the weather wasn't great we did manage to have a swim one day and relax by the pool which is very welcoming.
The room was cozy yet relatively spacious and well appointed, with a big balcony overlooking the gardens and pool.
I can't rave enough about the staff, everyone provided superb service. We ate breakfast at the hotel each morning and there was a good variety of options. On our final night we decided to eat at the hotel an opted for ten course Lao Banquet which was just divine and very reasonably priced. I highly recommend it.
We did have a minor issue, due to a mechanical fault with the motor, our safe would not open and unfortunately our passports and most of our money was in the safe. Serge and the staff went to great lengths to assure us they would resolve the problem and they did and our safe was replaced within the hour. In other hotels I would have been concerned, not at Maison.
I can’t put into words how impressed I was with Maison, if you’re visiting Luang Prabang, do yourself a favour and stay at Maison, you will not be disappointed

Room Tip: I would imagine rooms away from the main road, closer to the pool would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vichri81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

3 nights was too short !
Serge (hotel manager) and his entire team made us feel pampered and looked after right from the minute we arrived at the hotel. Serge personally welcomes all guests, his team are always on hand with help, advice and big smiles.
The building is charming too, we had a room in the new wing on the ground floor. Nice bathroom, effective air conditioning, and wonderful lemongrass oil burners lit each night.
The breakfast was excellent, plenty of choice and a good blend of local and European options. Try the Spa; foot massage very good value.
What a wonderful start to our holiday in Laos.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank KJG75017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Very nice, super relaxing hotel with great service and location right near the main street in town. Our room was very clean and comfortable. We stayed in the new wing, where the rooms have small balconies overlooking the pool area. Great places to relax during the hottest part of the day. The entire staff was great with recommendations on sights and activities. We were greeted with cool lemongrass tea upon arrival and a handwritten postcard from Serge, the manager, welcoming us to the hotel. We recommend the spa and the cooking class -- because we were there in low season, our group cooking lesson became a private one. The food in the restaurant was amazing -- get the prix fixe menu of small dishes served in a boat. We definitely recommend staying here and will be back!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tagehowerton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

This hotel is not the most luxurious in South East Asia, the pool area is quite small,and internet service is erratic, but the standard of customer service surpasses anything we have seen elsewhere - including the Raffles Hotel Group. The staff make this hotel truly excellent. From the gardener right up to the General Manager everyone was exceptional. We arrived after a very long journey from London via Bangkok and were greeted personally by the General Manager, Serge. Check in was swift and our rooms were ready even though we had arrived many hours before the official check in time. We were travelling with our teenage daughters, and our room allocations were exactly as requested. The girls particularly liked the personal greeting card left for them by Serge. The garden wing rooms are not incredibly spacious, but are beautifully appointed, and have all the amenities that you require. What made this hotel special for us was the fact that we never had to ASK for anything, the staff seem to anticipate your every need without being obtrusive. In the restaurant the breakfast waiters only had to be told once what our tea / coffee requirements were, and they remembered them for our entire stay. Your cup was never empty - someone would glide over with a cafetiere, just as you were contemplating asking for a refill. The buffet breakfast never ran out of any items, and slightly unusual requests such as soya milk etc did not pose any problems. Rooms were cleaned very promptly every morning, and the "turn down team" always arrived at the same time each evening with supplies, and a speedy service. This was much appreciated, as at the Raffles in Phnom Penh we never knew when the 45 minute turn down ritual would occur - usually just when we wanted to have a shower. Serge, the General Manager would have a friendly chat with guests in the breakfast room each day, and knew exactly how long to stay at each table. The friendly parakeet sitting on top of the dining room door muttering to himself was a great hit with our daughters. The atmosphere at the hotel is very relaxed, but extremely professional. It is a comfortable and welcoming place, where guests are allowed to strum their guitars by the pool if they want to; whereas the Raffles can be a bit over the top with valet service, flag bearing limousines, and impersonal staff. When you consider that Laos is an extremely poor country it was a revelation to find such high quality food and service. We will definitely return, and will visit other Angsana properties. We were happy to pay the small voluntary charity contribution of $1 per room per night, which is matched by the Angsana Group. The donations help to put local students through higher education, which is very worthwhile in a country that only has 65% literacy. I hope that others who visit this wonderful country will have the opportunity to stay at Maison Souvannaphoum.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank queenofdrains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Good location, just a few steps outside the small center. Spacious and clean rooms with private balcony. (garden site, 1st floor). Service is excellent and the restaurant of good value ! (try the Cambodian tasters !) Very helpfull and corteous staff. Rent a hotel bike to explore the town.
Truly relaxing !

Room Tip: Garden wing rooms are very nice, particularly on the "étage".
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peet61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
1.1 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#3 of 71 in Luang Prabang
857 reviews
0.2 mi away
Satri House
Satri House
#6 of 71 in Luang Prabang
604 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Luang Say Residence
The Luang Say Residence
#2 of 71 in Luang Prabang
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#1 of 71 in Luang Prabang
823 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel
#8 of 71 in Luang Prabang
745 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
#5 of 71 in Luang Prabang
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel

Address: Rue Chao Fa Ngum | Banthatluang, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Phone Number:
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Luang Prabang
#6 Luxury Hotel in Luang Prabang
#9 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
#12 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range: $166 - $327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel by Angsana is a boutique luxury hotel in the heart of Luang Prabang, Laos. It's the perfect retreat for the modern traveller seeking style and authenticity. Once the residence of the late Prince Souvanna Phouma, the mansion is an elegant blend of French colonial architecture and Lao motifs with the addition of all the modern comforts. The hotel is an 8-minute walk to the town centre - close the sights, night market, restaurants, bars and river, but away from the bustle and noise. Cool off in the pool, enjoy a drink in the garden, or unwind at the Angsana Spa after a long day of sightseeing. Our attentive staff are always on hand to meet your every need with warm, personalized service. The rooms and grounds are designed to be your home away from home. Maison Souvannaphoum is your private oasis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison Souvannaphoum Luang Prabang
Hotel Maison Souvannaphoum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing