We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional customer care”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
Ranked #9 of 71 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 29, 2012

3 nights was too short !
Serge (hotel manager) and his entire team made us feel pampered and looked after right from the minute we arrived at the hotel. Serge personally welcomes all guests, his team are always on hand with help, advice and big smiles.
The building is charming too, we had a room in the new wing on the ground floor. Nice bathroom, effective air conditioning, and wonderful lemongrass oil burners lit each night.
The breakfast was excellent, plenty of choice and a good blend of local and European options. Try the Spa; foot massage very good value.
What a wonderful start to our holiday in Laos.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank KJG75017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (820)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

522 - 528 of 820 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2012

Very nice, super relaxing hotel with great service and location right near the main street in town. Our room was very clean and comfortable. We stayed in the new wing, where the rooms have small balconies overlooking the pool area. Great places to relax during the hottest part of the day. The entire staff was great with recommendations on sights and activities. We were greeted with cool lemongrass tea upon arrival and a handwritten postcard from Serge, the manager, welcoming us to the hotel. We recommend the spa and the cooking class -- because we were there in low season, our group cooking lesson became a private one. The food in the restaurant was amazing -- get the prix fixe menu of small dishes served in a boat. We definitely recommend staying here and will be back!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tagehowerton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

This hotel is not the most luxurious in South East Asia, the pool area is quite small,and internet service is erratic, but the standard of customer service surpasses anything we have seen elsewhere - including the Raffles Hotel Group. The staff make this hotel truly excellent. From the gardener right up to the General Manager everyone was exceptional. We arrived after a very long journey from London via Bangkok and were greeted personally by the General Manager, Serge. Check in was swift and our rooms were ready even though we had arrived many hours before the official check in time. We were travelling with our teenage daughters, and our room allocations were exactly as requested. The girls particularly liked the personal greeting card left for them by Serge. The garden wing rooms are not incredibly spacious, but are beautifully appointed, and have all the amenities that you require. What made this hotel special for us was the fact that we never had to ASK for anything, the staff seem to anticipate your every need without being obtrusive. In the restaurant the breakfast waiters only had to be told once what our tea / coffee requirements were, and they remembered them for our entire stay. Your cup was never empty - someone would glide over with a cafetiere, just as you were contemplating asking for a refill. The buffet breakfast never ran out of any items, and slightly unusual requests such as soya milk etc did not pose any problems. Rooms were cleaned very promptly every morning, and the "turn down team" always arrived at the same time each evening with supplies, and a speedy service. This was much appreciated, as at the Raffles in Phnom Penh we never knew when the 45 minute turn down ritual would occur - usually just when we wanted to have a shower. Serge, the General Manager would have a friendly chat with guests in the breakfast room each day, and knew exactly how long to stay at each table. The friendly parakeet sitting on top of the dining room door muttering to himself was a great hit with our daughters. The atmosphere at the hotel is very relaxed, but extremely professional. It is a comfortable and welcoming place, where guests are allowed to strum their guitars by the pool if they want to; whereas the Raffles can be a bit over the top with valet service, flag bearing limousines, and impersonal staff. When you consider that Laos is an extremely poor country it was a revelation to find such high quality food and service. We will definitely return, and will visit other Angsana properties. We were happy to pay the small voluntary charity contribution of $1 per room per night, which is matched by the Angsana Group. The donations help to put local students through higher education, which is very worthwhile in a country that only has 65% literacy. I hope that others who visit this wonderful country will have the opportunity to stay at Maison Souvannaphoum.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank queenofdrains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Good location, just a few steps outside the small center. Spacious and clean rooms with private balcony. (garden site, 1st floor). Service is excellent and the restaurant of good value ! (try the Cambodian tasters !) Very helpfull and corteous staff. Rent a hotel bike to explore the town.
Truly relaxing !

Room Tip: Garden wing rooms are very nice, particularly on the "étage".
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peet61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

What a wonderful experience!!! I don't think our words can do this hotel justice.
We stayed at the Maison Souvannaphoum for three nights. This was our first visit to Luang Prabang, and our stay at this hotel has ensured it will not be our last.
On our arrival we were met with a cool drink and a genuinely warm welcome from the manager Serge. Upon arrival in our room we were greated again in a personalised, hand written welcome postcard from the manager, and a beautiful fern and floral decoration on the bed welcoming us to the hotel.
The staff especially Tom in the dining room were fantastic. Nothing was too much trouble.
The food, gardens and pool all beautiful. Our stay the most relaxing we have ever had.
The hotel is a very short walk from the night markets and some amazing resturants. There are bikes for hire if you wish to cycle around the town, or a tuk-tuk just outside the hotel if you wish to go exploring.
The staff were so pleased that we wished to see there city, and were more than happy to provide suggestions for our sight seeing.
For anyone intending to visit Luang Prabang and wanting to stay in a hotel where you are made to feel spoilt and relaxed I would strongly recommend you book into this hotel for your stay. P.S. Make sure you say hello to buddy!!!
Peter and Dina Geelong

Room Tip: All rooms are good, have there own balcony and are very comfortable and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank asiantravelers_57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

I recently spent three nights at Maison Souvannaphoum, the former home of Prince Souvannaphouma. Everything was superb from beginning to end: the hotel manager, Serge, personally welcomed my wife and I whilst we completed our check-in formalities in the dining room by the pool. The hotel is located a 5 minute stroll to the main town centre so everything is within easy reach. The atmosphere is very laid-back (as everything seems to be in Luang Prabang) yet the reception, dining and room/cleaning staff were all very attentive and considerate in looking after us. As it was our honeymoon, the manager also had a nice bottle of red wine and cake waiting for us upon arrival – a much appreciated touch!

The room was fairly spacious with a large, comfortable bed, nice TV, very effective air-conditioning and nice ornaments positioned within insets in the wall. We had a generously-sized balcony overlooking the central courtyard (which had a nice view of the mountains in the distance) and a ceiling fan to keep us cool, and each evening the staff would place a small, yet highly effective, stick of incense to keep mosquitoes away. After one afternoon’s jungle trekking our shoes required rather serious cleaning. Our request to have them cleaned was dealt with swiftly and looked as good as new!

Breakfast and dinners were very tasty. The staff repeated orders to ensure no misunderstanding, cocktails were well made and the wine list was very extensive. Western and Asian food is available with traditional Lao cuisine too. The “Royal Lao” (set menu) dinner was extremely good value for money and the same can be said for the a la carte menu also.

This is one of those hotels where you can relax in it for quite some time; the hotel’s ambience de-stresses you. The structure of the building is very “open” – the reception area leads to the dining area which is adjacent to the pool; despite visiting Luang Prabang when day time temperatures were about 35 celcius, the fans kept the open areas cool and well ventilated. The historical significance of this building to Luang Prabang’s history is hard to miss; the hotel has presence, nice open architecture, adjacent to the town centre without being “right in the middle”, and a very relaxing atmosphere coupled with excellent service and attention to detail - definitely a place to stay again!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Angsana.com
Thank HomeTraveller1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

My wife and I had an amazing stay at Maison Souvannaphoum for our one year wedding anniversary! This was the only non-Starwood hotel that we stayed at during our trip to Thailand, Cambodia and Laos, and it was also our favorite! An absolute must stay if you're in LP.

First impressions:
From the moment we checked in, the staff was incredibly gracious and helpful. We were greeted in our room with a bottle of wine and "happy anniversary" written on the bed! When we returned to our room after dinner in town, they left us an anniversary cake on the counter! Very thoughtful!

Staff:
The staff at Maison Souvannaphoum were a highlight of our trip to LP. Because there are so few rooms at the Maison, the staff members interact with guests frequently and take a genuine interest in each guest's experience in LP. They would frequently ask what we had on tap for the day, providing recommendations for fun activities and can't-miss experiences. Every single staff member was exceedingly friendly and helpful, including the manager, Serge.

Location:
The Maison is located a short 5 minute walk to the center of town where you can schedule outdoor activities during the day and enjoy a Beer Lao while walking the Hmong market at night.

Food and Amenities:
The Maison had a great breakfast spread with actual coffee (may not sound like much but after spending time in Thailand and Cambodia where brewed coffee was non-existent, this was a real treat!). We also took a cooking class while there and made some delicious and authentic Lao food (including a fantastic red curry with chicken). The pool was nice and refreshing in the mid-afternoon heat (as were the cocktails!). We also signed up for a couples massage which was one of the best we had on our entire SE Asia trip.

We had an amazing time during our stay in LP. Thank you Maison Souvannaphoum!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Berj G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
1.1 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#3 of 71 in Luang Prabang
843 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Luang Say Residence
The Luang Say Residence
#2 of 71 in Luang Prabang
600 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel
#7 of 71 in Luang Prabang
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#1 of 71 in Luang Prabang
805 reviews
0.2 mi away
Satri House
Satri House
#6 of 71 in Luang Prabang
593 reviews
1 mi away
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Luang Prabang View Hotel
#18 of 71 in Luang Prabang
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel

Address: Rue Chao Fa Ngum | Banthatluang, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Phone Number:
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Luang Prabang
#7 Luxury Hotel in Luang Prabang
#9 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
#12 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range: $183 - $354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel by Angsana is a boutique luxury hotel in the heart of Luang Prabang, Laos. It's the perfect retreat for the modern traveller seeking style and authenticity. Once the residence of the late Prince Souvanna Phouma, the mansion is an elegant blend of French colonial architecture and Lao motifs with the addition of all the modern comforts. The hotel is an 8-minute walk to the town centre - close the sights, night market, restaurants, bars and river, but away from the bustle and noise. Cool off in the pool, enjoy a drink in the garden, or unwind at the Angsana Spa after a long day of sightseeing. Our attentive staff are always on hand to meet your every need with warm, personalized service. The rooms and grounds are designed to be your home away from home. Maison Souvannaphoum is your private oasis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison Souvannaphoum Luang Prabang
Hotel Maison Souvannaphoum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing