We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stately Beautiful Mansion - Will Be Back”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
Ranked #6 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
99 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Stately Beautiful Mansion - Will Be Back”
Reviewed June 1, 2011

Luang Prabang has this charming and unspoilt beauty. It was different from my expectation. This Hotel was highly recommended by friends, who were charmed by it's personal, intimate and yet professional service.
I was not disappointed.
The hotel looks more like a residence, a mansion. A large garden greeted me on the front. There was also a decent size swimming pool - which I was too busy exploring the site to use.

According to the staff, the hotel was previously the residence of Prince Souvannaphoum. I was supposedly booked into 1 of the rooms in the main mansion. The furnishing was quaint, old-fashioned but princely. For the price, the accommodation and the wonderful service from the staff was well-worth it. I was one of the priviledge guests to be able to use their newly arrived bicycle to explore the city. At no extra charge.

As the location was central, I could safely walk to the night market about 5 minutes away. The hotel staff came early one morning at 5.30am to guide me on offering alms to some tens of monks that marches past the hotel every morning on their way to the main temple. Awesome experience.

Expect to have the staff patiently chat with you, and provide you with local tips on what activities and venue is key to visit in the city. The hotel manager would greet me in the morning and expects to hear my experiences of the day prior.
It did feel like home.
Will be returning with my family.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexsfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    522
    177
    37
    19
    9
See reviews for
105
419
61
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 21, 2011

Set in a little oasis in the heart of the city centre. Staff couldn't do enough for you. Grounds were immaculate. Some of the paint work was a bit chipped, but it all added to the rustic charm and history of the place. Food was lovely.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kittbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shropshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2011

Delightful hotel in French colonial style in the heart of town within easy distance of temples.Lovely setting with very friendly and helpful staff.Highly recommended and would return there.

Room Tip: Stay in for great food and first class service
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laguna29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 21, 2011

This hotel absolutely cannot be faulted! We checked in with amazing, friendly faces, then were helped with our luggage. Oh, the excitment when we saw our room! The breakfast was scrumptious. The make your own waffles was so much fun and different types of juices and milks, and coffee and tea. I have never seen waitresses at a breakfast before!This hotel was excellent in every way. The room was very comfortable with every amenity,room service was most accommodating to a special request.I have no negatives.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janice032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2011

I stayed for 3 nights with my husband at the hotel. The staff was very kind , the rooms were OK according to the other hotel options in the city.. Some rooms need to be renewed. Beware that there are different types of rooms.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juaann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, Sussex UK
Level Contributor
101 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2011

When travelling to a new country - as we were doing with Laos - you are never quite sure as to what you will end up getting. Well - what we got was a marvellous four day stay (not long enough) in great accommodation in a great town, Luang Prabang.

The Maison Souvannaphoum is situated just a short walk from the centre of town - and the huge night market that occurs each evening. Just far enough away from the bustle of the town centre to afford some peace and tranquillity -- but not too far. Anyway as with many far eastern countries there are always tuc -tucs on hand to transport you for a reasonable price.

Tranquillity is the name of the game here - very relaxed, the Hotel nestles in its own well kept grounds - and is the former home of Laotian royalty. The rooms are large - four poster beds, balconies, all the necessary mod cons for a relaxed stay. Yes the orange screen in the bathroom with the large, well placed hole was different - but even this added to the overall experience.

The staff are great - always there to help you out - nothing is too much trouble. Breakfast is served either inside or out (dependent on the cold) and is a nice mix of Asian and Western influences.

The pool is also nice - there always seem to be sun beds to await us after a mornings walk around interesting Luang Prabang - you could even reserve them at breakfast!

Luang Prabang itself is very interesting - plenty of temples to see - go up the hillside for the amazing view. Set between two rivers (one of which is the Mekong) you can easily spend a couple of mornings just wandering. You can also take a boat up the Mekong - a great, not to be missed experience. There are plenty of restaurants and bars - you do have to look for them - but try Blue Ice Bar for a beer, Lao Lao Garden for a wonderful barbeque experience and The House, an amazing Belgium Restaurant that does wonderful food.

We will be going back to Luang Prabang - probably next time coupled with a trip to Hanoi and Halong Bay - and when we go back we will definitely stay at the Maison Souvannaphoum.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cessna152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton-Le-Dale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2011

This is a lovely hotel about ten minutes walk from the centre of Luang Prabang. Our room in the Garden Wing was very comfortable with a verandah overlooking the swimming pool. The staff are very attentive and friendly. Fantastic quality restaurant reasonably priced. Lovely pool area and gardens.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debbielovestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
1.1 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#2 of 69 in Luang Prabang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 69 in Luang Prabang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
0.9 mi away
Burasari Heritage
Burasari Heritage
#8 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
#4 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
0.9 mi away
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
#7 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Luang Say Residence
The Luang Say Residence
#1 of 69 in Luang Prabang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel

Property: Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
Address: Rue Chao Fa Ngum | Banthatluang, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Luang Prabang
#5 Luxury Hotel in Luang Prabang
#11 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
#12 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel by Angsana is a boutique luxury hotel in the heart of Luang Prabang, Laos. It's the perfect retreat for the modern traveller seeking style and authenticity. Once the residence of the late Prince Souvanna Phouma, the mansion is an elegant blend of French colonial architecture and Lao motifs with the addition of all the modern comforts. The hotel is an 8-minute walk to the town centre - close the sights, night market, restaurants, bars and river, but away from the bustle and noise. Cool off in the pool, enjoy a drink in the garden, or unwind at the Angsana Spa after a long day of sightseeing. Our attentive staff are always on hand to meet your every need with warm, personalized service. The rooms and grounds are designed to be your home away from home. Maison Souvannaphoum is your private oasis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison Souvannaphoum Luang Prabang
Hotel Maison Souvannaphoum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing