We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dreadful attitude”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Indigo House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Indigo House
Ranked #19 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Bega, NSW, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Dreadful attitude”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

We booked two rooms with the Ancient Luang Prabang two months before our family of 4 arrived off the night plane. As we checked in, we were asked whether we wanted to pay for our 6 night stay up-front, or later. If later, we were told we had to leave our passports with the hotel. This hadn't happened anywhere else in SE Asia and we were surprised... but it was late, we were all tired and we went along with it, opting to leave our passports, not wanting to make a 6-day commitment without even having seen our rooms.

In the darkness, our rooms looked lovely. Lots of polished wood, white linen, soft lighting and a great view over what looked like a quiet street from the upstairs (double) room. But the children's room, downstairs, opened directly onto the street... which meant they were in a nicely appointed cave, with no view out of the room whatsoever unless they wanted every passer-by to share whatever they were doing. I didn't feel happy about the distance between our rooms & the lack of air and light my children had access to. I thought the hotel could have given us rooms on the same floor given the 2-months notice they'd had prior to our arrival.

However... the following morning we were offered a very limited western-style breakfast menu (very ordinary) and left for the day. On returning in the afternoon, we realised there was a chainsaw operating constantly across the road (a construction site?) and a popular local hang-out/shop directly across the road. The volume of noise built up as the light faded. That night, karaoke began in earnest at full volume and my daughter began vomiting.

After a difficult night, we realised the children's room - with very limited air flow and light - was unsuitable for illness as the room was dark, dank and fetid. The two beds faced the street, immediately in front of the doors, so there was no way we could open the doors and get air into the room without essentially inviting the street in. We discussed the situation with reception - a nice guy - who explained there were no other rooms available. We nodded and thanked him, without making any fuss. If there were no other rooms, what was the point in complaining? Privately, we decided to look around and find more a more comfortable hotel....

Directly after breakfast, the receptionist approached us and asked us to pay for our rooms then and there. We reminded him he had our passports and had been given the option. He then said his boss wanted us to pay up-front.

We were offended but paid for our two nights, set off into the street and almost immediately found a much lovelier, far more welcoming, infinitely more pleasant hotel overlooking the nearby river.

In all, we have rated the Ancient Luang Prabang harshly because of the lack of consideration for customer comfort and well-being. The rooms are lovely, but the hotel is badly situated and uncomfortably set-out, giving little privacy and having unusually loud neighbours. Out of interest, two other travellers left at the same time we did and moved into the same hotel we found (a new hotel called Burasari Heritage) for their week in Luang Prabang. All of us felt conned by the fact the Luang Prabang didn't inform us of the major differences between their two hotels and weren't interested in making us comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    175
    36
    17
    7
See reviews for
49
138
67
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is for the location away from the night market:

I stayed in a ground floor room, and although it was beautifully decorated, the shutters have to be closed at pretty much all times or anyone walking by will be able to see you having a bath or sleeping or walking around naked or ... :) I don't get the tub in the room thing. Thank god the toilet was private at least although if I were traveling with a friend or a parent, I'd have to leave the room if they used the bath or toilet!

Having said that, I liked that it was away from the noise and action. Luang Prabang is a very small town, so nothing is "far". This hotel was a 7-10 minute walk to the night market at most.

Plus it on the morning alms route for the monks. I just sat on the steps and watched the monks go by every morning. A very moving experience.

Breakfast only has Western items. However, one can go across the street and have a bowl of Laos rice soup and congealed blood (yum!) for under a dollar.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
494 reviews
153 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

I really liked this hotel because it was right in the middle of the night market, but a couple of my traveling companions had a problem with the noise. So choose your room carefully!

I stayed for 4 nights in the "rabbit" room - rooms are named for the 12 animals in the Chinese zodiac - and it was spacious, clean, nicely decorated and comfortable with a king bed, large mini-fridge, free WiFi and in-room safe, big-screen TV, a table and 2 chairs, cold AC, hot water, and fruit basket replenished daily. Because I was staying alone in this room, having the tub/shower in the room was fine (the toilet is in its own little room, but the sink & tub are right in the room).

The included breakfast at the cafe in the hotel was surprisingly good. Guests choose from a menu of 5 set breakfasts, all large and delicious. We also had dinner her one night & I can recommend the cold beer and hot, crunchy egg rolls. Laundry was reasonably priced and always returned the same day. The front desk staff was friendly and efficient.

Recommended for sound sleepers and shoppers!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Retirada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed (1 couple, 1 F single) at the hotel in October 2012. We were initially booked in as part of tour which finished in Luang Prabang and elected to extend our stay for an extra night. We were happy with the choice as the location in the heart of the night market is great. We (couple) had a room on the street and were not disturbed by the noise of the market . The rooms were comfortable and well set up although the shower nozzle in the over bath shower was a little wayward and we did create some minor flooding. We found the staff helpful with advice and looking after luggage and arranging airport transfers on our last day. We would stay there again for a short stay (1-2 days) but probably stay somewhere a bit more out of town if we were there for longer. Breakfast included in the rate was plentiful but average

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maconnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

I recently stayed at both Ancient LB locations, I should have been booked at the Ban Pakham site but was mistakenly booked at the Phonheuang site by the tour operator. This review covers both locations (4 star rating mainly for Ban Pakham site).

The Phonheuang site was just okay, the room was small but clean, however lacked sole and had very inadequate bathroom facilities where the toilet kept clogging and there was no hot water. Luang Prabang old town is rather small so was in walking distance of things but not quiet the location of the Ban Pakham. However I did get to witness the morning alms procession from my balcony, a very awesome site. The hotel upon request will prepare alms offerings for you to give the monks. Also only 2 min walk to Wat Xieng Thong.

Thankfully the very helpful manager (John a lovely Aussie guy) was able to at least save 2 nights and get me back to the Ban Pakham location.

The Staff at both locations were friendly and helpful and rooms at both locations had, flat screen TV, air conditioning and free wi-fi. There is also free airport shuttle and shuttle between the 2 properties. The non sectioned off bathrooms in both locations is still a mystery to me (toilet was private at least).

The Ban Pakham location has several rooms overlooking Sisavang Road, which is also the beginning of the awesome night markets (superb handicraft selection), I personally enjoyed overlooking the street especially at night. Also owned by the hotel is a lovely café and bakery where your choice of breakfast set was served (good choices of local and western dishes and generous servings). The rooms were large and specious with a separate sitting area in addition to the outside patio. I had read the front rooms were very noisy but once the night markets packed up by 11pm at the latest this was not a problem and prior to 11pm I was either at the markets or at one of the many bars or great restaurants Luang Prabang has to offer. This location is a very easy walk to most of LB main attractions and shops including the steps to Mount Phousi, Royal Place Museum / Haw Kham and the Traditional Arts and Ethonology Centre (just to name a few) there is also night food market which runs down the side of the hotel. The location was second to none if you want to be in the thick of it.

On the day of my departure I had a very early flight so the Staff kindly packed me a ‘to go’ breakfast, which was great especially since LB airport has little amenities.

Luang Prabang is one of the most enchanting places I have been so I look forward to returning one day and would have no hesitation staying at the Ancient Ban Pakham site again.

Room Tip: Rooms at front offer great street and market views, enjoy a Beer Laos on your balcony whilst people...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SydneyKate_40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Male
Level Contributor
108 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

I stayed in this place for a few nights. It is ideally located in middle of where everything is happening and also the night market....as some pointed out already it can get a bit noisy. The room is ok. Bathroom is just behind the bed so if you have privacy issues this is not your place. All done in wood and Lao style. Wifi in all rooms and quite fast. Downstairs is a nice bakery which serves pastries and other food. Breakfast is a choice of 5 different sets which is quite good.
All in all I find this hotel quite nice and in a good location.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurent D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zabrze, Poland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

Ancient Luang Prabang that is a little walk out of the main city centre. It's a lovely location.Our room was beautiful with a wooden Asian-style decoration.The bed was also super comfy,there was fresh fruit for welcome was brought to our hotel every day.Only complaint that the staff was not particularly helpful enough and some of them could not speak much English.The breakfast was not so great, so try out one of the plenty nice cafes in town instead.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sheadirector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.9 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#1 of 69 in Luang Prabang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
#14 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 858 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#15 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Lakhangthong Boutique Hotel
Lakhangthong Boutique Hotel
#22 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Apsara
The Apsara
#25 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 69 in Luang Prabang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Indigo House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indigo House

Property: Indigo House
Address: Sisavangvong Road, Ban Pakham | Close to Night Markets, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos (Formerly Ancient Luang Prabang Hotel )
Phone Number:
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Indigo House 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort and style, combined with location, give the Indigo House Hotel a unique, boutique feeling. Plan your stay with us, and you will find yourself at the center of cultural activities of the city, surrounded by breath-taking sites and with easy access to some of the most amazing Buddhist temples, monasteries and markets. Let us pamper you in one of our 12 rooms, exclusively designed for your comfort and relaxation. We stand apart from other hotels because we don't just promise exceptional service, we deliver it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Indigo House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ancient Hotel Luang Prabang
Ancient Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing