We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel 3 Nagas Luang Prabang MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #10 of 71 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 20, 2010

We booked our trip to Thailand and Laos last year and it has been with anticipation that we have been following the reviews on Tripadvisor. To be honest, we arrived expecting a bit of chaos, no management and more.......... what a pleasant surprise was waiting for us.

We were met by the new South African manager and over our 4 day stay watched her interact with staff and guests alike - so much energy and care we have not often seen in a manager - just hope she can keep it up as she obviously works long hours. The welcome drink was an interesting mixture made from fresh local flowers and the cold towel with lemongrass was cool and refreshing.

Our room was beautiful, overlooking the outdoor restaurant and the street. Plush linens on the most comfortable bed you can imagine and we found the room spotlessly clean and well maintained.

The front office staff put effort in to make sure all our needs were taken care of. They called our guide to change appointment times on several occasions, served afternoon tea and coffee on our verandah and offered to make restaurant reservations for us. We dined at both the famous 3 Nagas restaurant with it's interesting and tasty Lao menu and the outdoor restaurant when we just felt like good old fasioned pizzas. Service was a little slow, but we realise it takes time to prepare good food.

We will recommend this hotel to anyone who can appreciate the architecture of buildings that are over 100 years old and was then lovingly restored to UNESCO standards, people who enjoy good food and want to be close to town.

We will be back................

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank divingduo111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerHotel1, Manager at Hotel 3 Nagas Luang Prabang MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2015

Dear divingduo111,

Thank you very much for your review.

We are happy to know that you have a good experience in our hotel.

We hope to see you again soon in Luang Prabang

Best regards,
Pablo Barruti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (635)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

431 - 437 of 635 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2010

3 Nagas is an Oasis in the main street of Luang Prabang. Not in the middle of town but on the main street and on the edge of the daily hussle and bustle. I did the walking route from the hotel and it is an easy stroll. The rivers are just a minute walk on both sides.
Luang Prabang is steeped in culture and there is not many locations where you can experience it this close. The morning alms to the monks, weddings, funerals, it is all happening and is colourful and everyone is welcome to check out the music and drums and people.
The rooms are well appointed with very comfortable beds and the service matches the relaxed ambiance of 3 Nagas.The attention from the staff was always there and I found management available whenever needed. The Loa people are very gentle and kind and eager to please.
If you are looking for something better than most in town, from accommodation to food, I would recommend this place.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mataka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerHotel1, Manager at Hotel 3 Nagas Luang Prabang MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2015

Dear Mataka,

Thank you very much for this comment.

We are happy to see that you appreciated the location of the hotel.

We are, as you said, in the main street of Luang Prabang at a small distance of tourist attractions like the Night Market, the 30 temples, the Mekong River and on the road for the Morning Alms Giving.

We hope to see you soon again

Pablo Barruti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2010

Loved my travels thoughout Asia, but this was the best hotel I stayed in. The room was spacious and comfy with gorgeous white linens on the bed, staff friendly and helpful and the best breafast I had during my 2 week travels.

Situated on the quite end of the main street, the hotel is in a great location to watch the monks go past every morning, a 2 minute walk from the Mekong River end even closer to the Nam Khan River and just 5 minutes from the hustle and bustel of town and the night market.

Only thing I would have liked to be different: I would have loved to have my husband with me on this trip!!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank lovelylouise09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerHotel1, Manager at Hotel 3 Nagas Luang Prabang MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2015

Dear lovelylouise09,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us.

We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon

Best regards,
Pablo Barruti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2010

upon arrival we were given a complimentary drink and lovely lemon grass towels. The hotel had a charming colonial atmosphere. The room was comfortable and spacious but the bathroom was dingy. Breakfast was served beautifully outside with delicious juices and fresh fruit. There were many excellent restaurants nearby offering good value food. Overall the hotel was nice but grossly overpriced.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maryBiscarrosse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerHotel1, Manager at Hotel 3 Nagas Luang Prabang MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2015

Dear maryBiscarrosse,

Thank you for your review.

We are happy to see that you appreciated the service at our hotel.

We will make some renovation this year and focus on providing high quality equipment and a typical Lao spirit.

We hope to see you again soon so you can give us your opinion on changes done.

Best regards,

Pablo Barruti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2010

Our luxurious stay was for 5 nights - we had a room in the building over the road from the reception area - and our room was great and the balcony, overlooking the garden, was simply lovely and a real treat in Luang Prabang.
The bed, the linen, the toiletries, the fact that fresh coffee & tea will be delivered to your room free of charge when requested, the location, the breakfasts - all this meant the room & the Laos staff were superb and for this alone I would gine 10/10. However, the mgt seem to have a real issue in treating all guests alike - for a small hotel of this size, staying 5 nights(unusual in LP) I would have expected some sort of recognition from the 'face of the hotel' but no sorry, maybe my expectations are too high;-))

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maccy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerHotel1, Manager at Hotel 3 Nagas Luang Prabang MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2015

Dear maccy01,

Thank you for your review.

We are glad to see that you spent good time with us.

As you mentioned, we have a nice garden with a view on the Nam Khan River. It is quite rare in the center of town as almost every plots are built.

We hope to see you soon again in Laos

Pablo Barruti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2010

We stayed at 3 Nagas for 3 days in Jan 2010. This hotel is very centrally located within easy walking distance of temples, the museum, and the night market. It is under new management -- an Australian woman who started in Dec 2009. She was warm & engaging on our arrival, but then we never saw her again.

The hotel has a lovely "feel" upon arrival -- with large rooms and nice quality bed linens and beds. Our room also had a large balcony. The hotel has rooms on both sides of the street, with one of the buildings backing onto some very nice gardens. The staff tries very hard to please but is hampered by their limited knowledge of English, French. The restaurant serves good meals in an outdoor setting from both a Lao & a Western menu, and the breakfasts are very good.

Unfortunately, the "executive suite" that we had was in the main building of the hotel and was extremely noisy. It's only a block or so from the temple which frequently has morning musical processions at 5:00 AM. It's also next to an open-air disco which plays loud music until about midnight. Between these 2 events, the noise level is really unacceptable. We wanted to share this information with the manager, but weren't able to since she wasn't visible during our stay. We hope there can be some new arrangement between the hotel and the disco as we're sure this will impact visitors' stay in this otherwise nice guest house.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank kathyp-dc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerHotel1, Manager at Hotel 3 Nagas Luang Prabang MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2015

Dear kathyp-dc,

Thank you for sharing your impressions with us.

We are sorry to know that the noise around town was unacceptable for you.

The hotel is in the two sides of the road so for this type of issue, we always try to move guests on the other side. We also plan some renovations this year and we will take a special care of isolation.

Last but not least, there is no more open air disco next to the hotel.

We hope to see you again to show you the changes.

Best regards,

Pablo Barruti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2010

lovely room, a mix of traditional Lao and modern amenities with a private terrace, but at the front of the hotel it's pretty noisy -- the bar/restaurant area is directly below,with the Main Street just beyond, so earplugs were necessary.
Service in the bar and restaurant was chaotic, if well-meaning, and the prices were far too high. The food was, well, "interesting" -- an attempt at French/Lao fusion which didn't quite come off despite grand pretensions. We had a much better meal at a quarter of the cost in a local restaurant across the road.
Location is excellent, but the place certainly thinks a lot of itself. I'd recommend it as a place to stay if you don't mind the level of activity)(, but not as a place to eat and drink.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimmyShelter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerHotel1, Manager at Hotel 3 Nagas Luang Prabang MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2015

Dear JimmyShelter,

Thank you for sharing your experience in our hotel.

Concerning the restaurant, we are sorry to know that you didn't enjoy the service.
Since your stay we did some changes in the management and our staff is trained on a regular basis so be sure this will not happen again.

We hope to see you again in Luang Prabang

Pablo Barruti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.3 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#3 of 71 in Luang Prabang
876 reviews
1 mi away
Satri House
Satri House
#6 of 71 in Luang Prabang
618 reviews
1 mi away
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
#4 of 71 in Luang Prabang
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#2 of 71 in Luang Prabang
845 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Luang Say Residence
The Luang Say Residence
#1 of 71 in Luang Prabang
630 reviews
0.8 mi away
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
#8 of 71 in Luang Prabang
853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 3 Nagas Luang Prabang MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 3 Nagas Luang Prabang MGallery by Sofitel

Address: Sakkaline Road | Vatnong Village, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Luang Prabang
#9 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range: $128 - $426 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel 3 Nagas Luang Prabang MGallery by Sofitel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3 Nagas Luang Prabang MGallery by Sofitel is a small charming boutique hotel comprising three restored historic UNESCO World Heritage buildings more than a century old. The hotel is ideally located in the towns Old Quarter, just a short walking distance from the major tourist attractions, on the path of the morning alms-giving procession. High ceilings, exotic dark wooden floors, four-poster beds, silk fabrics and traditional weavings ooze elegance, style and character. A beautiful courtyard garden beside the Nam Khan River plus an acclaimed fine dining restaurant, serving exquisite Laotion food, make this hotel the perfect place to relax and enjoy the serene Lao lifestyle. The hotel's intimate collection of 15 rooms and suites each blend space, luxury and exquisite charm, exuding a warm and inviting ambiance amid the tranquil surroundings. Eight rooms are located in The Khamboua House, a jewel of traditional Lao architecture. Built in 1903, it opens onto a beautiful garden edging the Nam Khan River, from where you can glimpse the serene Lao lifestyle. The other seven rooms are located in The Lamache House, built originally in 1898 to host the Royal Court. The house was restored using traditional techniques and materials, indulging guests in a truly authentic stay in this charming historical town. The hotel guests are invited to use these facilities at our 5-star sister resort, Sofitel Luang Prabang, located nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Accorhotels.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel 3 Nagas Luang Prabang MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
3 Nagas Hotel Luang Prabang
Les 3 Nagas Luang Prabang
Les 3 Nagas Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing