We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel 3 Nagas Luang Prabang MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #9 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
106 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A gem”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Nestled in the heart of laid-back Luang Prabang, the 3 Nagas is an absolute gem. We stayed in the delightful rooms in the beautiful early twentieth colonial-style building on the other side of the road from the main block. The rooms are large, comfortable and scrupulously clean, looking out onto an immaculate garden, and well positioned for the famous morning alms ceremony, night market, temples, and restaurants overlooking the Mekong.

As others have noted, the amount of road noise throughout the night is quite surprising for such a quiet place. While it’s not helped by the visible gaps in the doors and windows, the soporific drone of the air conditioning overcomes much of it. It’s also possible to hear your neighbours in the bathroom. If you stay here you should be aware it’s not going to be like a big name chain hotel but the positives of such a local boutique hotel far outweigh the odd quirk.

Breakfast every morning was varied and excellent, and lunch was equally satisfying. Evening cocktails were pretty good if you like them sweet / fruity and all the food and drink was reasonably priced.

3 Nagas is very pricey, even compared with the US, and as mentioned both our rooms were noisy, but all things considered the hotel and the extremely friendly service in aggregate create a genuinely relaxing and memorable experience.

Room Tip: All the rooms seem a bit noisy; in the annex the room on the left had a better layout for socialisin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeepNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerHotel1, Hotel Manager at Hotel 3 Nagas Luang Prabang MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear JeepNYC

Thank you for the feedback and excellent recommendation here on Tripadvisor!

I am very happy to learn that your recent stay with us was execptional, especially with our spacious and luxurious bedroom, our friendly and helpful team and the local sights and culture in Luang Prabang.

Regarding the noise factor, we are located in a unique location in the heart of charming quaint Luang Prabang, which is a UNESCO protected Heritage site, therefore we are very limited in terms of what can be implemented.
Currently we are undergoing processes to insulate some of the noise form outside and we expect very soon this will not be an issue.

We hope to welcome you back very soon so you can experience a magnifique time in Luang Prabang.

Best Regards

Pablo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    165
    44
    15
    11
See reviews for
89
269
67
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2014

The hotel is very nice and the staff are also amicable. We stayed there for one night on our honey moon and they had the room set up with rose petals in the bed and bathtub which was a nice surprise. Breakfast was good and they give plenty of options.

The hotel is near the night market and right in the path where the monks walk every morning. If you wake up early (at about 6;00 am) to watch the possession you can either watch it from your balcony or go to the street; just keep in mind it is not a tourist attraction so you should be respectful.

Room Tip: The room on the building where the reception is and on the second floor might be a good option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fco_MV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerHotel1, Hotel Manager at Hotel 3 Nagas Luang Prabang MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Fco_MV


It was such an honor for us that you had chosen to spend your honeymoon here.
We are very delighted that even though it was a brief stay, you had a fantastic experience.
Thank you for takig the time to share with us the feedback and excellent recommendation.

We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back and serve you with manifigue experience ever again!

Best Regards

Pablo
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We stayed in a large room on the other side of the road from the hotel shown on their website. Roomy, quiet and on the same side of the road as the Monks do their daily, silent trek. No noise here. Staff were excellent with our 7yr old. Manager, endleslly helpful and never pushy. Generous breakfasts and generally good food. Vintage1950's Citroen and Mercedes parked outside.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BauhiniaByronBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty D, General Manager at Hotel 3 Nagas Luang Prabang MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear BauhiniaByronBay,

Sabaidee from Luang Prabang and 3 Nagas.

Our hotel sits on both side of the High street with 3 buildings in total, hence 3 Nagas.

I will be sure to pass your lovely comments to the team and the house manager at the hotel. They definitely enjoy their jobs and we are privileged to have some really wonderful people stay at our hotels, make it a pleasure to go to work each day.

Do let us know if you come back our way, it would be a pleasure to have you stay once again.

Very best regards - Kirsty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khon Kaen, Thailand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2014

I stayed at 3 Nagas for only 1 nights during my trip in Luang Prabang.
The hotel is very beautiful. Situated on the heart of LPB.
There are 2 vintage cars parked at the hotel.
The room is very beautiful and spacious.
My room have no TV but it's good to disconnect to the outside world during stay in LPB.
All staffs are kind and restaurant is good atmosphere but quite few menus.
In the morning, you can join alms giving ceremony right at the hotel.
(Please tell hotel staff to prepare sticky rice for you)
You also can go to Hotel de la Paix to use the facilities.
The room rate is quite high. It would be more perfect if the hotel have a bit lower room rate.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tatar_sauce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty D, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel 3 Nagas Luang Prabang MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear tatar_sauce,

What a great TA name you have! I made me smile for sure. Sorry you were only able to spend one night with us but thank you nonetheless for taking the time to write a review on our little gem.

Our cars are very cool and really have become quite iconic on their own. We provide airport transfers in the vintage cars and it is always a pretty special experience to be welcome to Luang Prabang or depart your stay, in either of them. A great way to start and finish your vacation.

We purposefully have no TV’s in the rooms but as you said great to disconnect and there is no better place to do so than Luang Prabang.

Hopefully you will return at some point in the future and we will have a chance to keep you with us just a little longer.

Until then, very best regards - Kirsty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2014

I stayed 2 nights at Les 3 Nagas Hotel and loved it. My room was on the ground floor with its own private little patio. The room is spacious with a canopied bed, sitting area and large ensuite bathroom. Beautiful decor and I felt so comfortable here as I chilled out in the patio after showering. The hotel staff are awesome, friendly and helpful. The restaurant was outside and equipped with pedestal fans to keep the customers cool in the warm evenings. The food offered was very good and I very much enjoyed. The hotel is conveniently located 2 min walk to the night market and 5 min walk to the area where the monks parade out every morning for the "alms givings". Night market is worth the visit, although every vendor pretty much is selling the same thing. A bit overwhleming but if you enjoy bartering, this is the place for you. The "Alms Giving" ritual is quite the site and it's worth getting up early to attend. You will not regret it. The parade of saffron robes at dawn is quite the sight.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Storm_Zen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty D, General Manager at Hotel 3 Nagas Luang Prabang MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear Storm_Zen,

Thank you for your kind words about our little gem and for such lovely comments about the team. I think they are awesome too.

Great to hear to you enjoy our restaurant. Our food is authentic Lao and our brigade has been with us pretty much since the hotel opened. There are a couple of other good Lao restaurants in town but ours is definitely up in the top two.

Alms Giving is pretty special and yes definitely worth getting up for in the early morning. Just think if we get up that early to view, the Monks got up even earlier and the wonderful men and women of Laos actually get up even earlier, every single day – rain, hail or shine – to cook fresh rice over coal stoves in bamboo baskets. The mere act of the giving is very special and an amazingly warm and gentle start to any day.

Hope to see you again but until then, safe travels where ever you may go - Kirsty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada, Spain
Level Contributor
309 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

We just stopped by for a drink on 2 consecutive evenings on the leafy terrace. It is excellently located on the main street. The signature happy hour cocktail was delicious and the young staff were smart, good-looking (always a bonus) and attentive. That's why we went twice. We didn't stay there, but might very well, were we to return to LP in the future.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IntrepidHector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty D, General Manager at Hotel 3 Nagas Luang Prabang MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Dear IntrepidHector,

Next time you will simply have to stay with us as well as join us for evening cocktails. I have to admit we had loads of fun inventing all our Lao cocktails the team can be very creative when it comes to the daily happy hour cocktail.

At this point in the year we are fast approaching summer and honestly there is no better place to be of an afternoon after tours and sightseeing, than under our mango trees sipping an ice-cold cocktail.

Hope to see you again - Kirsty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

The 3 Nagas is a beautiful hotel. Nice old rooms. The food was excellent...make sure to get Lao food for breakfast...just forget bacon & eggs in Laos. We had a Lao crepe w/chicken almost every day. Dinner was excellent too. The area around hotel is great for walking and in girlfriends case....shopping. We did a cooking school...well done and some boat rides to see more Wats etc. But, I've never, in my long travelling life, slept in a bed like the one in 3 Nagas....Wifi excellent....They let us use their swimming pool at sister hotel, an old prison....Pretty cool place. Stay here.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johnnyb510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty D, General Manager at Hotel 3 Nagas Luang Prabang MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear Johnnyb510,

Sabaidee from 3 Nagas and thank you for your kind review.

I agree entirely, when in Lao eat our food, it is simple, delicious and healthy.

You seem to have done loads whilst you were in town, well done, there really is so much to see and do that it makes our sleepy little village a must visit destination for an entire range of travelers, we have something for every age and interest.

Our beds at 3 Nagas and at our sister property Hotel de la Paix are extraordinary, it is pretty much worth coming just to sleep.

Great to hear you got the time to take advantage of Hotel de la Paix’s pool. We offer to house guest’s of 3 Nagas during the hotter summer months. Due to the nature of 3 Nagas and location - inner town properties are prohibited to have a pool - there isn’t one.

Wishing you safe travels always - Kirsty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.3 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#2 of 69 in Luang Prabang
804 reviews
0.1 mi away
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
#8 of 69 in Luang Prabang
686 reviews
0.8 mi away
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
#6 of 69 in Luang Prabang
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
#4 of 69 in Luang Prabang
569 reviews
1.1 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 69 in Luang Prabang
744 reviews
0.1 mi away
Burasari Heritage
Burasari Heritage
#7 of 69 in Luang Prabang
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 3 Nagas Luang Prabang MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 3 Nagas Luang Prabang MGallery by Sofitel

Property: Hotel 3 Nagas Luang Prabang MGallery by Sofitel
Address: Sakkaline Road | Vatnong Village, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Luang Prabang
#9 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
#16 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel 3 Nagas Luang Prabang MGallery by Sofitel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3 Nagas Luang Prabang MGallery by Sofitel is a small charming boutique hotel comprising three restored historic UNESCO World Heritage buildings more than a century old. The hotel is ideally located in the towns Old Quarter, just a short walking distance from the major tourist attractions, on the path of the morning alms-giving procession. High ceilings, exotic dark wooden floors, four-poster beds, silk fabrics and traditional weavings ooze elegance, style and character. A beautiful courtyard garden beside the Nam Khan River plus an acclaimed fine dining restaurant, serving exquisite Laotion food, make this hotel the perfect place to relax and enjoy the serene Lao lifestyle. The hotel's intimate collection of 15 rooms and suites each blend space, luxury and exquisite charm, exuding a warm and inviting ambiance amid the tranquil surroundings. Eight rooms are located in The Khamboua House, a jewel of traditional Lao architecture. Built in 1903, it opens onto a beautiful garden edging the Nam Khan River, from where you can glimpse the serene Lao lifestyle. The other seven rooms are located in The Lamache House, built originally in 1898 to host the Royal Court. The house was restored using traditional techniques and materials, indulging guests in a truly authentic stay in this charming historical town. The hotel guests are invited to use these facilities at our 5-star sister resort, Sofitel Luang Prabang, located nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel 3 Nagas Luang Prabang MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
3 Nagas Hotel Luang Prabang
Les 3 Nagas Luang Prabang
Les 3 Nagas Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing