We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great finding!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pangkham Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pangkham Lodge
Ranked #75 of 257 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Lima
Level Contributor
265 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Great finding!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

I stayed in two different places in Luan Prabang, this was the second one and it was much cheaper than my first hotel and comparing the facilities and services this was excellent!big rooms, attentive staff (really nice family), good breakfast selection, clean and new, value for your money definitely. The only downside is that is some block away from the downtown area, which is not a biggie since the lodge is on a main avenue. The only thing that I really didn't like was the coffee... skip it!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoxLima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    21
    11
    1
    1
See reviews for
1
21
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belo Horizonte, MG
Level Contributor
80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

Small room, basic facilities but yet confortable. I could't expect much more in Luang Pranang. The young staff was very friendly.

I found a cockroach on my toothbrush at night. It was disgusting but it's not the hotel's fault. It is very clean and this can happen.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tiago D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shah Alam, Malaysia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

We cut short our 3-night stay there in early February. After one night we went to a nearby lodge which was half the price per night and is situated in a much quieter area. I think the staff was friendly though and tried to make us feel welcome, but there was too much noise in the lobby during the day. Amenities are very simple and as basic as one can imagine. We paid 65 US per night per room, which is really overpriced.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Minami646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

We spent 1 week at the Pangkham Hotel in early December. The Jinny and the rest of the young staff at the Lodge made us feel at home and treated us with the utmost kindness during our stay. The rooms are tastefully decorated with wooden furnishing and white linens. The newish bathrooms were well maintained and had the full assortment of western amenities, except for a shower curtain or seperate shower area (typical of every place we stayed in Laos). The location is a 7 minute walk to the center of town and we typically found ourselves walking 15-20 minutes every night to eat dinner in a more exciting part of town. After a very rainy couple of days we woke up to a major leak that sprang above our heads. This was a pretty heavy stream so we pulled the bed away and ran down to the front desk. Jinny and 2 other staffers ran upstairs and immediately moved us across the hall into a new room with a balcony (yeah!). They helped us move all of our belongings and the whole thing took maybe 10 minutes. The staff seemed genuinely shocked by the leak, so I think this was a rare occurrence but they handled it like pros. They serve a lovely, generous breakfast every morning (hot selection to choose from + fruits and yogurt) which was served whenever we woke up. I would definitely stay there again if we are in Prabang!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Evie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

We are a mature couple happy to rough it a bit and we stayed here with our adult son so booked two rooms.
Our room was reasonably spacious, the pillows were hard, the shower was very good ... Powerful and plenty of hot water.
We appreciated the fresh bottles of water each day after the room was cleaned and the plug-in heater as it got chilly at night.
Our room was quiet, it was upstairs but our son asked to be changed as he found his downstairs room too noisy.
The young woman at the desk was very pleasant and helpful at all times but there is no proper reception area and there was no presence of an owner/manager.
The breakfast is presented at one communal table just inside the entrance and beside the reception... No lounge to relax in, just your bedroom.
The breakfast is continental and although we requested black tea each night before (when you place your order) it never seemed to materialise...!
It's a five minute walk to the market and from that point of view, good to be away from the hustle and bustle, though it is facing a busy road.
I would certainly return here but only if I was paying a lot less... It cost us 65 euro per night for each room with breakfast which I booked on booking.com in advance, supposedly for a good price.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Magenmic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay here as the woman working on reception was very friendly and welcoming and spoke excellent English. The room was clean, nicely decorated and had a nice balcony. It was a little noisy at night as it is located next to a road which can be quite busy. It wasn't in a central location but the walk to town wasn't far. The price was reasonable compared to some of the other options we looked at. There was also a good choice for breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenjenatkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

Pros:
- great staff, thoughtful and sweet with christmas presents and complementary banana cakes (which were delicious), helpful tips
- breakfast was up to standard, good
- rooms and bed had enough space, clean and proper, cute balcony, good facilities (WiFi, minibar, shower and toilet)

Cons:
- a bit of a walk from the centre, not that far though
- beds are pretty hard
- noisy road next to the window in our room on the street side, not that much isolation so you'll hear it
- we felt that compared to the others in town, the room was too expensive, a bit overpriced

Room Tip: Ask a room on non-street side in relation with the noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarcoVanBallegooy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.0 mi away
Villa Champa
Villa Champa
#60 of 257 in Luang Prabang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vanvisa Guesthouse
Vanvisa Guesthouse
#59 of 257 in Luang Prabang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.0 mi away
Singharat Guest House
Singharat Guest House
#12 of 257 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Manichan Guesthouse
Manichan Guesthouse
#7 of 257 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aham Corner Guesthouse (Aussie Sports Bar & Guesthouse)
Aham Corner Guesthouse (Aussie S...
#68 of 257 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mekong Moon Inn
Mekong Moon Inn
#26 of 257 in Luang Prabang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pangkham Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pangkham Lodge

Property: Pangkham Lodge
Address: 06/01 Ban Thatluang, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 257 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Pangkham Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pangkham Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing