We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant stay with a friendly staff”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Luang Prabang
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Khammany Inn II Hotel
Ranked #89 of 269 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 30, 2013

I stayed 5 nights in this hotel and was very well treated by a friendly staff, one of them is a musician like me and he was learning to play the ukelele, the rooms are very big and clean, the hotel lies just a bit outside the busy towncenter, so not to noisy, but by bike it take you 2 minutes to get to the pretty towncenter covered with temples and old french houses, I can advise everyone who wants to go to Luang Prabang to stay here, they also have a dormatory for the young

Room Tip: if you want a quiet rom, ask for the ones in the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EefKBreda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (76)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 76 reviews

Reviewed November 7, 2013

So I arrived at the hostel via tuk tuk from the slow boat and said that I had a reservation. This part was ok. Eventually got taken to a room but the guy forgot the key. 5 minutes later he came back with a big bundle. The key never worked. Someone else came, it never worked. Another person came and of course it never worked. They didn't understand that no matter who tried the key, it wasn't going to work. This took about 20 minutes and my girlfriend and I were both pretty tired from the 2 day boat trip. I said we wanted another room and after some shouting and screaming between the staff we were led to another room. This was dirty and clearly had not been cleaned since the people left that day. Very frustrated by this point, we went downstairs with our bags, told them to cancel the booking and walked out. 5 minutes down the road we found a very nice guesthouse, half the price and twice as good. I'm giving it 2 stars as they were charging $92 for 4 nights in a double with air con. You expect a little better really.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mattpreece87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

very basic, good for group travelers, sociable but very loud at night and in the morning. Although the city shuts down at 11.30pm it is very loud at night got woken up 2/3 nights by strange noises and monks playing the drums.

overall, nothing to write home about does what it says on the tin.

stayed with GF wasn't ideal but good for meeting people and friendly staff. breakfast wasnt too bad either.

be sure to be woken up at 6am by a very loud cockerel.

Room Tip: shop around plenty more value for money hotels in luang prabang
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lewisarcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed my stay here, was close to the night market/public swimming pool. The staff were great and very helpful although I had a slight problem ordering my breakfast with NO mayonnaise! Had 4 breakfasts, each time I asked for no mayo but it came back with mayo ha, not a massive problem but if you don't like mayo then you might have to use Google translate or hide it whilst they are cooking. Apart from that great stay and I would recommend to anyone travelling to Luang Prabang.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryanyoung89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

Pros:
-Friendly and helpful staff.
-Free tea, coffee, water and wifi.
-Good breakfast (drink, egg, bread and bananas).

Cons:
-Cleaning staff don't speak any English and want to clean your room even when you're in the shower.
-Laundry was a little expensive (12,000 KIP).

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RiyadhSimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Large clean dorms with air con and breakfast included. The night we stayed Phil the manager got us all around a table drinking shots of (horrific but hilarious) Laos vodka before getting us a tuk-tuk into town. If that's not your thing though then the rooms are clean and the communal area is nice, the showers are hot and the wifi is good. We felt very at home here!

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
Thank IPreferTopBunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Nice enough, clean with good amenities, free toast and a banana for breakfast too! It just felt like quite an unfriendly atmosphere, people didn't seem to talk to one another which obviously isn't a reflection of the hostel itself. We moved the next day as felt it was too expensive for its location and found a cheaper alternative closer to the centre.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leonie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0 mi away
Villa Meuang Lao
Villa Meuang Lao
#34 of 71 in Luang Prabang
219 reviews
0 mi away
Khammany Inn
Khammany Inn
#36 of 160 in Luang Prabang
246 reviews
0 mi away
Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort
Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort
#1 of 1 in Ban Xieng Lom
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Luang Prabang View Hotel
#18 of 71 in Luang Prabang
314 reviews
0 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#3 of 71 in Luang Prabang
844 reviews
0 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#20 of 71 in Luang Prabang
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Khammany Inn II Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khammany Inn II Hotel

Address: Chao Fa Ngum Road | Ban Thad Luang, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 269 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range: $35 - $55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing