We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Place to Stay in Luang Prabang”
Review of Bualuang Hotel

Bualuang Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bualuang Hotel
Ranked #179 of 267 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 16, 2013

I really enjoyed this hotel/guest house. My room was huge, very nicely appointed and had a nice semi private garden patio. Internet service in the room was quite fast by Lao standards. The price (I paid $35) is excellent considering Luang Prabang has the highest hotel prices in Laos.

I was traveling by myself, but the hotel is very romantic. My room had a huge double tub, which could have been a great place to unwind after a long dusty day on the streets of Luang Prabang.

The owner is a very cheerful fellow who will try to help you out.

The only downside is that the hotel is on the opposite end of town from the morning Tak Bat. Luang Prabang is small and it's an easy 20 minute walk down to the north end of the town, but the Tak Bat starts at about 6AM, so you should plan to leave the hotel no later than 5.30, which is kind of early. Or make arrangements for a tuk-tuk to pick you up in the morning.

Breakfast was a nice selection of fresh cooked eggs and a baguette. It was more than I was expecting - I would have been happy with fresh fruit.

This has become my favorite hotel in Luang Prabang. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kurtzjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (13)
There are newer reviews for Bualuang Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 13 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2013

This is not a hotel for you if you are looking for luxury but is a nice hotel run by a lovely family who are helpful, the rooms are big, clean and basic. The mattresses are rock hard! Breakfast was basic but you did have choice. There did not appear to a dining room and we were served breakfast on the terrace outside the hotel - we did not mind this. The local cockerel woke us up at around 4.30am and there was building work going on next door which started around 8.00am. The hotel is located about 15 minutes walk from the markets and the main town.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Palavi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

This was part of pre-planned trip organized by Khiri Travel.

We weren't thrilled with our rooms -- had problem in one room with faucet and they immediately moved us into a better room. Had no electricity one day. It was a big walk or tuk tuk ride into the main area for shopping and restaurants.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colschneider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

It's located near the centre of Luang Prabang, the rooms are nice and clean. Breakfast is served in the morning by the owner's wife. All rooms have a name instead of a number. This hotel/guest house is a good budged choise.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RieksLok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Simple guesthouse in the centre of town. Have stayed here 2 or 3 times now for work, and everything is fine. Rooms are good, wifi works, breakfast is tasty and service levels are sufficient. A good budget choice.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017
Thank Jos P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2015
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2015
Thank 37chanchanok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.0 mi away
Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort
Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort
#1 of 1 in Ban Xieng Lom
242 reviews
0.0 mi away
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Luang Prabang View Hotel
#20 of 68 in Luang Prabang
297 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#3 of 68 in Luang Prabang
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#18 of 68 in Luang Prabang
269 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Maly
Villa Maly
#10 of 68 in Luang Prabang
779 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#2 of 68 in Luang Prabang
770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bualuang Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bualuang Hotel

Address: 78 Ban Viengsay, | Maha Prasaman, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #179 of 267 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range: $24 - $45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bualuang Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bualuang Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing