We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Maison Dalabua Hotel(Luang Prabang)
$53
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Satri House(Luang Prabang)
$132
$111
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Kiridara Luang Prabang(Luang Prabang)
$180
$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Sen Boutique Hotel(Luang Prabang)
$110
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$87
$69
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$65
$52
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel(Luang Prabang)
$86
$80
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$130
$90
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$380
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (388)
Filter reviews
388 results
Traveler rating
146
169
46
17
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
146
169
46
17
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswater buffalomekong rivertuk tukin townshuttle serviceswimming poolbreakfast terracemanicured gardensformer palaceregular shuttle busserene settingminute driverooms overlookingfrench colonialthe general managerpost officerooms are nice
Filter
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 388 reviews
Reviewed August 11, 2017 via mobile

The Hotel location is Blessed by the Mekong river !The Staff is one of a kind ! The Swimming Pool is Great ! The Restaurant is Very Very Good ! The most impressive is the staff spirituality that you never forget ! Also there is a museum in the hotel. A place to come back !

Stayed: March 2017, traveled on business
Thank Newton M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at The Grand Luang Prabang Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2017

Dear Newton;

First of all, allow me to thank you for reserving with us at The Grand Luang Prabang, and giving us the opportunity to demonstrate the authentic Lao hospitality and spirituality. As we are only 65, every associate knows each other to some extent which makes carrying out our operation harmonically.

Thank you for sharing your glowing review with the TripAdvisor community. I hope that the beautiful moments that you are taking fondly help to entice your decision to return to this, your "Dreaming Experience in Luang Prabang" in the near future, inspiring others to visit us as well.

Best regards,

Jose Luis Barrera
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2017

Saba Dee..They greet you with at the reception. A huge property located on the banks of mighty Mekong river provides a excellent experience. The property itself has a UNESCO site within its premises. Do opt for Alms giving ceremony and Bacci ceremony to experience Laos as the locals do.
Rooms are pretty spacious and spread out in the vast lawns of Heritage Palace.
Food was good but limited options for pure vegetarian person like me :)
Mr.Sebi (have attached his pic) needs a special mention here as he takes care of every thing you need for the stay at Luang Prabang.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on higher floor for river view.
  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Hitesh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at The Grand Luang Prabang Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2017

Dear Hitesh S,

Sabaidee from the stunning Grand Luang Prabang!

The team and I feel proud to have such refined guests staying with us. We believe you have found the perfect spot in Luang Prabang to experience an authentic cultural and spiritual stay, aside from the greatness of our location right in front of the Mekong River and the attentive service of each associate that contributed to the overall success of your stay.

We look forward to your wonderful visits each year. Until next time, all the very best.

Cordially,

Jose Luis Barrera
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2017 via mobile

Early check in and late check out. The hotel did everything to make our stay special. It's out the way a little but so quiet and relaxing and only a ten minute ride to the centre.
The hotel provides a free shuttle to the centre and back and to the airport. We will make a return trip here on future travels.

Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank kiley14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at The Grand Luang Prabang Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2017

Dear kiley14;

Firstly, thank you so much for spending your recent holidays with us at The Grand Luang Prabang. It was a pleasure to provide the best service we can, and we appreciate you took your valuable time to review some of the aspects of your Fantastic stay with us.

Thank you again for your valuable feedback and we hope to see you at our Hotel and its heritage surroundings again in the future.

Best regards,

Jose Luis Barrera
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2017

Stayed 2 nights in July. The hotel was charming and beautifully located on the Mekong River. The grounds were well kept with well maintained gardens. The grounds are not sprawling that you would need a electric cart to get from reception to your room. The room was spacious, clean and well equipped - it is luxurious. I had a room on the ground floor, thus, getting in and out of the room to the garden was easy. There is a patio but unfortunately one can't sit there comfortably as there are mosquitoes and other insects buzzing around. Mosquito repellent coils are provided though.

The grounds of the hotel are very pretty - I made my camera work overtime. I also dined at its restaurant - Xiengkeo Restaurant. The food was good. I strongly recommend the Khong Wang Ruam Mith Laos Style Mix Appetizer. Although this platter was for 2 persons, being a solo traveller I requested for a platter for a single person. The hotel's F&B Manager, Mr Sebastian, very kindly arranged with the kitchen to prepare a platter for one. It was a feast for the palate.

The hotel may be located a distance from the old section of Luang Prabang. Fret not as the hotel has a shuttle to the old town of Luang Prabang. Check with the reception for the shuttle hotel departure and town pick-up times.

The staff were friendly and I really appreciated the few conversations with Mr Sebastian, albeit short. The General Manager, Mr Barrera, also stopped by one morning to say hello and did not hesitate to offer assistance if I needed any.

I had a quiet, peaceful and restful stay at The Grand Luang Prabang. Being located a distance away from town has its merits. I just stayed in after a few hectic days in town a few days earlier sightseeing and day excursions. From check-in to check-out, the service was excellent. Oh, and did I mention the beautiful views of the Mekong River with mountains for a backdrop?

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Wei N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at The Grand Luang Prabang Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2017

Dear Wei N;

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our Charming Grand Luang Prabang Hotel. It was an honor to host your holiday. We are delighted that you enjoyed the natural beauty of our surroundings, facilities, dining offers and the outstanding attention and hospitality of our associates well led and inspired by Sebastin and other enthusiastic managers.

Thanks again, and we hope you'll choose The Grand Luang Prabang the next time you are visiting the heart of Laos.

Cordially,

Jose Luis Barrera
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2017

Hotel is located few km away from town and it is quiet with its own merits. You can enjoy the Mekong river and enjoy the facilities inside the hotel. Its meeting room is great for business function and private discussion. The staff are friendly and room is clean. Strongly recommended for private meeting and business discussion.

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at The Grand Luang Prabang Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2017

Dear GeorgeLoker,

It was our pleasure to host you for your meeting business. And I am thrilled that you took the time to enjoy our relaxing and ideally located facilities right in front of the Mekong River. In a short sentence, the selection of The Grand Luang Prabang was the right choice.

Thank you for your excellent comments on your stay with us, and also for your strong recommendations for future guests looking for the perfect setting and facilities for all meeting needs. It would be our honor to relive with you all memorable moments that made this visit a successful one. The Grand Luang Prabang family wish you the very best.

Sincerely,

Jose Luis Barrera
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews