We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic location and site but ............................................”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Grand Luang Prabang Hotel & Resort
Ranked #33 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Great Missenden, Bucks, UK
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fantastic location and site but ............................................”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

The Grand Luang Prabang Hotel is beautifully situated high above the Mekong River with a backdrop of mysterious, misty mountains. It is spaciously laid-out in grand colonial style with attractive lawns, ponds and walkways. It promises so much.
Sadly, this reviewer and his wife encountered some significant faults and failings which detracted significantly from that promise. Some of these relate to the structure and fabric of the buildings and some to management.Taking the former first:-
The bedroom (416):-
- the hardwood flooring is creaky and squeaky
- there is no two-way light switching
- dividing rules are paper-thin and provide very poor sound insulation.
- the air-conditioning / heater unit is hopelessly ineffective.
- the instant water heaters for basin and shower are not capable of providing and adequate flow of hot water.
- flow through the shower-head is weak.
And so to the latter:-
- On arrival, the bedside light didn't work: (fixed promptly after a call to Reception).
- There is a double-bed but only one bed-side light (the one that didn't work!).
- The bed is creaky.
- There is insufficient storage for clothes.
- There were insufficient clothes hangers.
- A kettle and cups were provided but neither tea nor coffee (these were supplied on request from Day Two).
- Staff in their drab, almost militaristic, uniforms tended to ignore guests: unprecedented in S/E Asia.
- Dinner on Saturday 18th January was only available in the outside area of the restaurant, the interior having been given over to a private function. It was so cold that the few staff on duty were wearing hats, scarves and gloves: lucky them! The cold must have chilled the brains of the waiting staff: we finished our pork dish before any rice was produced. In fact, no rice was produced.
- Breakfast service was a shambles and content was the least extensive of the five hotels visited on our January travels through VietNam, Cambodia and Laos.
This beautiful, gloriously situated hotel has certain structural deficiencies that would take considerable investment to rectify. However, the guest experience could be vastly improved with sharp, hands-on, visible management.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luangprabangsmile, Public Relations Manager at The Grand Luang Prabang Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear Sir,
I personally apologize for any inconvince between you has stayed at the Grand Hotel, we accepted as in your comment and suggestion, at the Grand Hotel we provide an oppotunity for the people who prefer to work in the hotel, expecially with the poor people who come from very far village, there are so many our staff has to work in the morning and go to school in the afternoon. we will improved as your comments.
best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    155
    41
    16
    8
See reviews for
46
114
24
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

Stunning location on Mekong River with gorgeous gardens but too far out of town for those who like to be in the centre of things rather than in a resort hotel. There are free shuttles but if you like to wander nearby for bars, shops, restaurants etc you wouldn't like it. If you like being away from it all you probably would. Good spacious rooms - mine had a fabulous view of river and mountains.
Restaurant facilities poor. Either open air which is currently too cold to use or morgue like function rooms which were empty when I was there.
Staff amiable but poorly directed with no discernable management.
Shame. Could be lovely. Curate's egg - good in parts. I didn't choose to stay there and I personally wouldn't choose to but it would be liked by many if professionally managed.

Room Tip: Face riverside
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1ec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

Overall I quite enjoyed my 4 nights at this hotel. It is located on the Mekong River with beautifully maintained gardens and lovely lily ponds. The view over the gardens and the Mekong from the second floor rooms is delightful. I spent a lot of time on my balcony just taking in the view and watching the ducks and geese paddle around. The rooms are large, clean, quiet and comfortable. Coffee making facilities in room but no coffee/tea provided in my room although others asked for it and got it. Fruit basket also provided. No in room safe but there is safe deposit at reception. The rooms were a little tired but still pleasant. Breakfast was good on the terrace overlooking the river. There is a nice looking swimming pool. Staff were polite and those in the restaurant were friendly, less so at reception. As happens in Laos, communication was sometimes difficult due to lack of English skills but some staff are studying as well as working and this will improve. Travel to town is cheap either by hotel shuttle (free) at set times or by tuk tuk (25-30,000 Kip or around $3US - a bit more at night) and take about 10 minutes. I enjoyed my meals at the restaurant - mostly Lao/Thai. I found my stay here very relaxing.

Room Tip: Choose second floor room for views over the Mekong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bindip61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milan
Level Contributor
212 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

the hotel has a wonderful position, beautiful sight on the mekong river. Rooms are big enough, you can go to the centre with hotel transportation or bycicles. We stayed here two nights, both dinners were good, nice food choices, mostly local. Beautiful garden, very well kept.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pettaspagna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

Your room and the breakfast terrace may look out on the mountains,the Mekong river, a water lily pond, gorgeous lawns with flowering trees.A former palace,the huge grounds,big pool, water buffalo pad,separate East-West breakfast areas outweigh not being in town center. Free shuttle(fixed schedule) and low cost open air tuk-tuk transport work fine,altho latter chilly at night.l

Room Tip: Ground floor may be better than 2d level. Building 2 is closer to pool and Mekong and breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank henrylew9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, Dorset
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

As others have commented on, this hotel is about 3 miles out of the main town in large & sprawling grounds overlooking the Mekong river. Its a serene setting and the staff seemed friendly & helpful. The rooms were a little tired but no worse than a lot of hotels in richer countries. We were with a group at the hotel & found the breakfast to be good, but the evening meal rather poor, and they ran out of beer when more than 10 bottles were ordered. I would have happily stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bricarPoole_Dorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cres, Croatia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

It was our fourth stay at the Grand Hotel and we always love to come back.
The breathtaking views over the Mekong from our room, beautiful gardens and friendly staff are the reasons to recommend this hotel to everyone.
The hotel is slightly out of town but the stunning location of the property on the Mekong compensate for it .

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JJK0409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luangprabangsmile, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Luang Prabang Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear JJK0409,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of our hotel.
We are pleased to know that you found the team members of the hotel friendly.

It is very important for us to keep working to provide an excellent service to our guest and your feedback is highly appreciate because it give us the opportunity to review and to improve our processes.

Look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Best Regards,

The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
1.6 mi away
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Luang Prabang View Hotel
#21 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
1.8 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 69 in Luang Prabang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
1.9 mi away
Satri House
Satri House
#12 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
#7 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
3.0 mi away
Burasari Heritage
Burasari Heritage
#8 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
2.0 mi away
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
#6 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Luang Prabang Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Luang Prabang Hotel & Resort

Property: The Grand Luang Prabang Hotel & Resort
Address: Ban Xiengkeo, Khet Sangkalok P.O. Box 1191, Luang Prabang, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Luang Prabang
#15 Luxury Hotel in Luang Prabang
#23 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Luang Prabang Hotel & Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Miracle of Luangprabang city, the Grand luangprabang hotel is where the music offered by the river. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grand Luang Prabang Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Luang Prabang Hotel And Resort
The Grand Luang Prabang Hotel Luang Prabang
Grand Hotel Luang Prabang
Grand Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing