We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Grand was Grand!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Grand Luang Prabang Hotel & Resort
Ranked #26 of 71 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We stayed at the Grand for three nights while visiting Luang Prabang which is fabulous!!. Yes, the hotel is a bit outside of the city's center but it is a destination unto itself with gorgeous grounds, fish ponds, water buffalos, pool, breakfast overlooking the river each morning, and more. The staff was friendly and helpful with a wonderful sense of warmth and good humor. And town is only a short tuk-tuk ride away (and is inexpensive) so heading to town in the morning - back to the hotel for the afternoon - and then back again for the night market is not hassle. The rooms have balconies with gorgeous views of the landscape and river. Our room in Building One on the second floor was moderate sized, clean, and nicely decorated. I would recommend this for families, couples, and business travelers.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (351)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 351 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2013

I just arrived back in Bangkok last night after a trip in Laos. We were in Luang Prabang from Friday to Sunday. The hotel is very charming . The food is quite good. However the location is very far from the downtown and the staff is quite dreadful. They seem not to understand what we want and very slow with their service. The worst part is the last night before checkout ,we asked for the transportation to airport and we were told it is available free of charge. We checked out the later day and took that transportation to the airport. A guy from hotel called to the driver and we were told we had to pay for the transportation and the driver drove back to the hotel because they will not let us go to the airport without paying for transportation first.Do not care whether we would missed the flight or not. We managed in the end after that guy at the hotel hung up on my friend Not to pay for transportation and go directly to the airport but that already made us very upset . I love Luang Prabang and the hotel itself but I will definitely NOT go back to this Grand hotel ever again. It seems there are no kid of manager there and the staff runs the hotel by themselves!! Totally disappointed!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank park2405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

The Grand Luang Prabang is a beautiful sprawling resort on incredible grounds with gardens, a pool, ponds, and water buffalo grazing. It seems like a place that was absolutely stunning about 20 years ago and is now a little past its prime, needing some paint touch-ups and a little love. There were practically no other guests while we were staying there. The other reviews that mention blank, indifferent staff are true but all our requests were met. They picked us up and dropped us off at the airport, they have a free shuttle into town that runs a few times daily, breakfast was pretty good - not great. No real complaints about this hotel, although it does require a tuk-tuk or shuttle into town or it would be a looong walk.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlJess902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stayed here for three days recently. The setting is perfect but the service was dreadful. We were told dinner was from 6 to 10. We arrived at 9 but at 9 45 they turned out the lights and left us. We asked reception to get us a drink. They said they could not as the restaurant was closed. Overall the food was dreadful . Stay awat.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank niftydublin55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luangprabangsmile, Front Office Manager at The Grand Luang Prabang Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Dear niftydublin55,

Thank you for choosing The Grand Hotel and Resort for your recent stay in Luang Prabang.
Please accept our apologies for your recent experience in our restaurant.
Let me assure you it is our intention to maintain the highest levels of quality and service within our restaurant.
We shared this matter to our management team and will correct promptly to avoid this matter to happened again.

I sincerely hope you, our valued guest, will give us another opportunity to serve you. .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

What a magnificent location! What a fantastic historical building! What beautiful gardens and Mekong views! You may be wondering why we rated the Grand as "average"? Here are the reasons: Many young staff members with blank expressions and no language / communications skills. Many staff demonstrating indifference to the extent of appearing unwelcoming. This hotel is a magnificent piece of Luang Prabang's heritage that needs a genuine experienced hotel manager and well supported change agent. This is what is lacking. Without this - it will be a cheap tour group destination only.

Room Tip: Mekong View Rooms are absolutely wonderful. Getting an extra tea bag is a problem!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kath M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luangprabangsmile, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Luang Prabang Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Dear Kath M,
Thank you for taking the time to review and sharing your experience. We appreciate your comments in regards to our location. Your comments which needs improvements are extremely valuable in helping us to maintain the highest levels of service and we respect your points and have shared with our teams with the aim of improving communication skills mentioned.
Thank you once again and from today we look forward to welcoming you soon in near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

I'm writing this review from my hotel now. First they do have free WiFi. I ended up at this hotel as a result of a package tour in SE Asia. It is a nice hotel; however, there really isn't anything with a short walking distance. The town of Luang Prabang is about a 5 minute drive. The taxi fare to/from town can be negotiated for about $5. I did see a sign in the lobby where they rent bicycles. The hotel does offer a free shuttle to/from town. However it is only available at specific times in the morning (3 departures and 1 return), afternoon(3 departures and 2 returns) and evening (2 departures and 2 returns).

The rooms are nice, my air-conditioning works fine (it is very hot here), the room has a TV (several channels), refrigerator, and hair dryer, etc. There is also a nice walk in shower. I'm in building 3 and have a nice view of the Mekong River. The hotel's buffet breakfast was very good too. There are some table overlooking the river. The voltage is 220 (type F plugs); however there is one 110v (type A plug) in the bathroom. The rooms do not have a safe: however, they have safe deposit boxes at the reception desk. The staff seems very friendly. There is a sign on the desk here that says they offer an hour massage for only 85,000 kips (a little over $10). The pool looks nice (didn't use it); however there isn't much shade there and the few lounge chairs didn't look very good.

Note: The hotel provides 2 bottles of drinking water daily free of charge, their tap water is not drinkable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 2nd floor with a good view of the river; and leave your balcony light off when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travel1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

The Grand Luang Prabang Hotel you recommend is beautiful, but totally impractical as the hotel taxi service into town is very intermittent, and because it is so far out of the centre, taxi drivers in the centre don't know where the place is. It's not a good choice for people only spending a few days in Luang Prabang.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank guatemaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
1.7 mi away
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Luang Prabang View Hotel
#18 of 71 in Luang Prabang
314 reviews
3.2 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#3 of 71 in Luang Prabang
844 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Palais Juliana Luang Prabang
Le Palais Juliana Luang Prabang
#30 of 71 in Luang Prabang
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Victoria Xiengthong Palace
Victoria Xiengthong Palace
#17 of 71 in Luang Prabang
423 reviews
2 mi away
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
#5 of 71 in Luang Prabang
649 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Apsara Rive Droite
The Apsara Rive Droite
#25 of 71 in Luang Prabang
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Luang Prabang Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Luang Prabang Hotel & Resort

Address: Ban Xiengkeo, Khet Sangkalok P.O. Box 1191, Luang Prabang, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Luang Prabang
#14 Luxury Hotel in Luang Prabang
#23 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range: $127 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Luang Prabang Hotel & Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Miracle of Luangprabang city, the Grand luangprabang hotel is where the music offered by the river. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Grand Luang Prabang Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Luang Prabang Hotel Luang Prabang
The Grand Luang Prabang Hotel And Resort
Grand Hotel Luang Prabang
Grand Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing