We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$96
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
$82
View deal
Vio.com
$71
View deal
Agoda.com$75
Priceline$107
Hotels.com$82
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (464)
Filter reviews
464 results
Traveler rating
195
187
50
20
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
195
187
50
20
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mekong river colonial style town tranquil lpb
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
229 - 234 of 464 reviews
Reviewed August 9, 2012

First the good:
1. This hotel is beautifully laid out with rooms over looking the Mekong or set around ponds and parkland
2. This is the first hotel I have ever stayed in where they keep Water Buffalo as pets!
3. The staff are fabulously friendly and willing to help (although they do need some further training to bring them up to international standard)
4. We stayed before and after a trip up-country - when we arrived back, the manager gave us a free upgrade
5. The pool is lovely
6. Guests can use computers in the lobby with free (and surprisingly good) internet connection.
7. The Grand is about 5km out of town but the shuttle bus runs regularly and was also available to take us to the airport.
Now for the bad:
1. The breakfast choices are not great. On one of the mornings, it almost appeared that they are had run out of food - with nothing much on offer except eggs and coffee. I am told that there are supply issues in Luang Prabang but coffee shops in town were offering granola, honey and homemade yogurt as well as all sorts of yummy baked goods.
3. The standard of the food that we were served for lunch was the poorest we ate during our whole stay in Laos. There are clearly some failings in the kitchen department that need to be addressed.
2. When we got back from our hiking trip, we decided to use the hotel laundry. Yes, I know you should never use the hotel laundry but our clothes were sodden and muddy after three days of non-stop rain. The hotel charged us $120 for laundry. This was obscene. Our room only cost $72/night. We complained and were granted a 30% discount but it left a truly bad impression.
3. The cleaning staff begin work at 6am and the phones in the hallways ran loudly and constantly every morning as the staff communicated with each other.

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bangkokmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
TheGrandluangprabang, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Luang Prabang Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2012

Thank you for the comment,
Your reviews is very valuable and useful , We will improve our standard and service for our customer

any suggestion will direct to management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

I booked an Executive Mekong Suite through a travel website and got a great deal on it.

My suite was spacious and spotlessly clean with a large balcony looking right down to the Mekong River. It had a full kitchen, a dining room table and two televisions; one in the living room and one in the bedroom. My dry-cleaning was done the same day and was very reasonably priced.

The hotel is a little bit away from the center of town / night market, however, the hotel has a complimentary shuttle that takes and retrieves guests from the area. The hotel property is beautiful, and I really enjoyed the swimming pool!

The breakfast buffet was excellent and the coffee was delicious. Breakfast is served outside and every table overlooks the Mekong River.; really a gorgeous breakfast view each morning!

The hotel has a nice French Restaurant on the property, though I didn't eat there so I cannot comment on the food / prices.

The staff were all proficient in English and very friendly and helpful. This was my second time as a guest in this hotel and I will definitely return to this hotel whenever I am in Luang Prabang.

Room tip: Bring US $1.00 bills when traveling in Laos. I paid for nearly everything with single dollar bills. Changing $200.00 US in to Laos Kip gives you over a million and a half Kip. Simplify the math by bringing singles. $1 = 8,000 Kip
Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DoctorRoccoB
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
TheGrandluangprabang, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Luang Prabang Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2012

Big Thank for enjoy staying with us

Hope we can see you in Luang Prabang again

any suggestion will direct to management team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

I' ve just spent 5 days at The Grand Hotel and loved it. All the staff were friendly and helpful, the air con and fan in the room worked well and was quiet and the balcony doors had fly wire screens which made the room airy and pleasant. l live in a noisy Asian city so the quiet took a little getting used to but then I didn't want to leave the serenity. I liked the old world ambience, the walks through the gardens and the views of the mighty Mekong River. If you're looking for a place to relax with great Lao hospitality at a very reasonable price whilst exploring the sights of Luang Prabang then this place is a gem.

Room tip: Top floor rooms give you great views of the river.
Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VAS620
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
TheGrandluangprabang, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand Luang Prabang Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2012

Thank you for the review The Grand Luang Prabang hotel

We grad to see you enjoy with us, we will keep good identity and improve for our value customer

any suggestion will direct to our management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012

This is not only a 4 star hotel, but also a world heritage palace with great view and service.

Check out the details and history here

http://www.mygroupon.co.th/deals/bangkok_en/The-Grand-Hotel-Luang-Prabang/716130230

Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adventure37
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

We chose this hotel for its location about 5km out of the centre of town. The hotel is surrounded by stunning gardens with a breakfast view over the Mekong River that you will not forget soon. Rooms were large and clean with a big balcony. We ate lunch and dinner in town each day so I cant comment on the hotel's restaurant. The staff are extremely obliging and helpful joining in on a game of table tennis or advising the best and worst areas of the city. There is a free shuttle service into town at various times during the morning, evening and night which drops you right at the beginning of the Night Market. Tuk tuk home will cost between $3-5AUD. The hotel breakfast was good and there is internet (get ready for slow speeds) on two computers in the lobby. There are no room safes here but instead free dual-key safety deposit boxes you can arrange with reception. We were fortunate that there were not too many other guests during our week-long stay so we were spoilt with the large and clean hotel pool, walks around the compound and meeting the hotel's pet water buffalo. Hotel offered an airport shuttle (15 minute drive) for $5AUD at the end of our stay. Highly recommend this hotel compared to the very busy and more 'touristy' hotels we saw in the main area of Luang Prabang.

Room tip: An upstairs room overlooking the gardens and river inside the courtyard.
Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews