We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great View, History and Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Grand Luang Prabang Hotel & Resort
Ranked #26 of 68 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 16, 2012

This is not only a 4 star hotel, but also a world heritage palace with great view and service.

Check out the details and history here

http://www.mygroupon.co.th/deals/bangkok_en/The-Grand-Hotel-Luang-Prabang/716130230

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phanthira S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (333)
There are newer reviews for The Grand Luang Prabang Hotel & Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 333 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2012

We chose this hotel for its location about 5km out of the centre of town. The hotel is surrounded by stunning gardens with a breakfast view over the Mekong River that you will not forget soon. Rooms were large and clean with a big balcony. We ate lunch and dinner in town each day so I cant comment on the hotel's restaurant. The staff are extremely obliging and helpful joining in on a game of table tennis or advising the best and worst areas of the city. There is a free shuttle service into town at various times during the morning, evening and night which drops you right at the beginning of the Night Market. Tuk tuk home will cost between $3-5AUD. The hotel breakfast was good and there is internet (get ready for slow speeds) on two computers in the lobby. There are no room safes here but instead free dual-key safety deposit boxes you can arrange with reception. We were fortunate that there were not too many other guests during our week-long stay so we were spoilt with the large and clean hotel pool, walks around the compound and meeting the hotel's pet water buffalo. Hotel offered an airport shuttle (15 minute drive) for $5AUD at the end of our stay. Highly recommend this hotel compared to the very busy and more 'touristy' hotels we saw in the main area of Luang Prabang.

Room Tip: An upstairs room overlooking the gardens and river inside the courtyard.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pedrovski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

Lovely hotel, was once the Princes Palace. Widely spread out, so a long walk to our room which had a spectacular view over the Mekong River. A long walk to the breakfast room, but again a spectacular view over the river. Nice room, well appointed and well maintained. I didn't see any better in the township, so would stay again.

Room Tip: Insist upon a view of the Mekong River, it may cost more, but essential for the ambience of this cha...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John-in-Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2012

This hotel is remote from the town and it is set in nice grounds. The breakfast seating does overlook the Mekong. We found the food to be good. The rooms are nice and clean, the a/c does work and the staff are nice and helpful. This is a peaceful location and anyone wanting a bit more action should be in town, the hotel run a shuttle to town and if the hotel reveiws this it should run a bit more when the guests want it rather than on a fixed time.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adoDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2012

It's amazing how there are different views on this hotel. We stayed there a couple of nights, the rooms are very tired and need refurbishing and the towels are very old.
The location is fantastic very close to the Mekong with wonderful views over the river however although there are plenty of staff around they don't seem to have been properly trained.
The breakfast is OK however the staff loose interest and seem to disappear. Come down at 9am and you have to sort yourself out if there is anything left of the breakfast.
So, great location if a bit far out of town but need some money spent on it and a decent manager that gets his staff properly trained.

All in all there are better hotels to stay at so why stay here?

Room Tip: Try somewhere else
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dee_Bee45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2012

We were booked in here by a travel company, and initially we were a little dismayed at just how far out of town the hotel is (Be prepared for this - its not walkable although there is a regular shuttle bus laid on by the hotel).

The hotel has gorgeous well laid out grounds on the banks of the Mekong River. This is one of the big selling points, the views are magnificent. Eating breakfast on a terrace watching the Mekong flow bye was certainly one of the highlights of our holiday. The buildings, in Colonial style are spread out among the small estate. The general quiet almost regal ambiance of the hotel is a treat. The staff are very friendly and attentive - very good service overall. The rooms are possibly a little sparse for the price, but comfortable. Air Conditioning and the free wifi work really well.

We thought there was a good range of food for breakfast, all very tasty and plentifull.

There is a pool, must admit we never actually got in it, but it looked very inviting.

Bad points ? Valuables have to be deposited in safety deposit boxes at reception - and its a hefty $100 bill if you lose the key (we didnt by the way) and thats about it really.

Finally mistakenly we left our new £200 ipod in a drawer in our room when we left. Great credit to housekeeping for handing it in and to the Hotel for forwarding it on to us - very impressed with this !

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Me_n_my_rucksack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2012

great location,the staff were brilliant they will do anything to help you and do it with a smile a special mention to mr dosanthis the pool boy top lad,breakfast over looking the mekong river every morning was a great start to the day.The free shuttle service they operate is well worth using especially to and from airport.The rooms could do with an update people dragging furniture about on the wooden floors does echo a lot at night which was mainly down to japanese tourists checking in late with no consideration for other guests,rooms were cleaned spotlessly every day,we would definately stay there again.footnote! take English pounds to LAOS you get a much better exchange rate locally for kips,better than using $us.Do go and walk to little village behind the hotel the people there have nothing but they are so friendly and polite as were all the locals we came across lovelly country

Room Tip: get a first floor room
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meandmags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
1.6 mi away
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Luang Prabang View Hotel
#19 of 68 in Luang Prabang
297 reviews
2.0 mi away
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
#6 of 68 in Luang Prabang
797 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Palais Juliana Luang Prabang
Le Palais Juliana Luang Prabang
#30 of 68 in Luang Prabang
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Kiridara
Kiridara
#13 of 68 in Luang Prabang
653 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
Sofitel Luang Prabang Hotel
#4 of 68 in Luang Prabang
615 reviews
1.9 mi away
Satri House
Satri House
#9 of 68 in Luang Prabang
568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Luang Prabang Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Luang Prabang Hotel & Resort

Address: Ban Xiengkeo, Khet Sangkalok P.O. Box 1191, Luang Prabang, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Luang Prabang
#13 Luxury Hotel in Luang Prabang
#23 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range: $79 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Grand Luang Prabang Hotel & Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Miracle of Luangprabang city, the Grand luangprabang hotel is where the music offered by the river. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your The Grand Luang Prabang Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Grand Luang Prabang Hotel Luang Prabang
The Grand Luang Prabang Hotel And Resort
Grand Hotel Luang Prabang
Grand Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing