We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely semi-rural retreat”
Review of Santi Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Santi Resort & Spa
Ranked #22 of 71 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 25, 2014

The hotel is located in a semi-rural location on the edge of town - it takes about 10 minutes to get into town by tuktuk. The hotel rooms are in 5 or 6 buildings set in an arc around the property -there are also some stand alone bungalows available. The rooms are clean and functional rather than luxurious. There are mosquito nets above the beds and you will need to use them - mosquitoes can be an issue in Laos - make sure you take some DEET spray or roll on with you.

The breakfast buffet has an ok range of offerings - try the Laotian noodles.

Room Tip: The buildings have two floors - choose an upper floor room for a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skylark24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (315)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

131 - 137 of 316 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2014

The location and ambience of the Santi Resort is wonderful; a series of two storey buildings set in beautifully landscaped grounds with hills as a backdrop. The rooms are comfortable, although the furnishings are a little tired looking. The mosquito net is a welcome addition to the beds. The towels provided in our bathroom had seen better days; they looked rather grubby which is not what you expect in a hotel that aspires to being the best in the district. Hot water could be a bit of an issue too, inasmuch as at some times of the day the hot tap wouldn’t provide even a sink full of warm water. The management appeared to know about the problem but clearly were unable or unwilling to fix it. We were patient; you turn the tap on and leave it. Eventually, if you are lucky, hot water arrives. However, it can only be a matter of time before they get a flooded room, caused by a guest turning on the tap for a bath and going out because the water didn’t arrive in time.

The restaurant was fine; certainly not haute cuisine, but decent buffet style Lao food which we enjoyed. (I think they have an a la carte menu too, but we were with a tour group and only got offered the buffet.) I think the Lao food that we had was better than the one evening when they served European style cuisine. The fish dishes were always good and one evening a dessert of sweet banana in coconut milk with sticky rice was produced. Most of our fellow travellers wouldn’t even try it, but it really was delicious. Definitely a go back for seconds job! Breakfasts offered a decent choice and there was a chef ready to cook eggs any way you wanted. However, one morning we were witnesses to a rather unpleasant incident between one of the English tourists and a guy who claimed to be the Restaurant Manager. (He didn’t look or behave much like a restaurant manager, but we were obliged to take his word for it.) It was early morning, and therefore quite chilly outside. The Brit had closed an outer door on several occasions, to prevent the cold draught and cigarette smoke coming in. For reasons not entirely obvious to me, the self styled restaurant manager was bawling at the Brit in a manner that you wouldn’t expect in a restaurant that was making claims about being a bit special. Had it happened in a backstreet bar in one of the less salubrious parts of town, I would have been getting up to leave before the fight broke out. This guy clearly needs some training in how to speak to his customers in a civilised manner, whatever he alleges that they have done. (The Brit took all of this in silence; he clearly was not expecting the response he got.) The alternative to extra training would be simply to fire him and find a new manager

Overall, we enjoyed our 4 nights at the Santi Resort and would certainly return. Without too much effort (nice clean looking towels in the bathroom would be a good start), I feel that with good management this hotel could be turned into a top of the range 5 star establishment.

Room Tip: Downstairs rooms probably get a more reliable hot water supply!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrMichaelJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

The room was comfortable with a balcony and a good view over the gardens.We struggled with the safe in the room which appeared to have a mind of its own but eventually opened and closed.
The food was good quality with a wide choice but the service erratic:-starters arriving after the main course.It should also be noted that this resort is a bit"out of town"which makes for some inconvenience although there is a shuttle bus.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David190920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Why do we stay at the Villa Santi Resort and Spa every December, for a whole month, in the coolest part of the year?

Our first visit was during a tour in 2006 when we spent two nights in the Villa Santi Resort after a busy sight-seeing schedule. We loved the tranquility, the gardens and the countryside so much we decided that we must return.

The Villa Santi Resort is not ostentatious. It is an elegant haven with spacious rooms, comfortable beds and a restaurant surrounded by foliage and running water. It is an ideal centre for walking through the local villages in the cool of the morning, for exploring the lovely town of Luang Prabang and for spending idyllic afternoons reading in the sun....choosing different parts of the spacious grounds or relaxing on the balconies. Everywhere has perfect views, particularly in the late afternoon when the long shadows over the rice fields lead to glorious sunsets over the mountains. The Spa, Pool and Gym enjoy similarly delightful surroundings.

The staff at the Villa Santi Resort, like the people of Laos, must be the best in the world: gentle, kind and full of humour.

From what we can see, as visitors in Luang Prabang, Lao PDR succeeds in keeping the country unspoilt.....(free of the more unpleasant aspects of tourism such as hassle, prostitution, drugs and mugging) and remaining a most peaceful, family orientated community. We hope that visitors will love and respect this unique country.

Spending longer at the Villa Santi Resort is an ideal way of enjoying this gentle way of life with its indigenous craft tradition, in glorious surroundings.
Bob and Jenny Davis

Room Tip: When walking along country roads with no pavements, it is the usual custom to keep to the right hand...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bobandjenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Although a little 'out of the town' this accommodation is well worth the extra distance and cost. Each room has a private balcony, excellent facilities and a great menu both for breakfast [a buffet style] and other meals. The foyer is spacious and views from the foyer and the rooms can be breathtaking. This Resort/Spa is set in very spacious, well kept grounds with flowing water, pools, and a variety of trees. The swimming pool is centrally located in the midst of the huge expanse of gardens and lawns. A local bus passes the front gate regularly. Staff through out the Resort and Spa are polite and helpful. I certainly enjoyed my short stay here.

Room Tip: A mosquito net over the beds may be off putting for some, but I found no trouble sleeping here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stretch7250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

We had to kill a half day before flying from Laos to Vietnam and decided that since we were staying at the sister hotel in town we would take advantage of the spa here. While we did not stay at the hotel, we think that this resort would be a great place to stay. The spa was clean, the staff was friendly and the massages we ordered were done well. We had lunch at the restaurant and the food was good and the service as well.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mikesflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

When I first walked in to the lobby, it was almost sunset and the view was breathtaking. The room was spacious and clean with private balcony and comfy beds. Then when we walked down to the garden to watched the sunset, it scenery just blown us away. The garden was well kept and it was huge with ponds and trees, overlooking mountains and paddy fills. The staffs smiles at us every time we walked past. And even though it is slightly away from the town, they have free schedule shuttles that we can used and it stops nearby to the night market.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BelBel1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
3.1 mi away
Villa Santi Hotel
Villa Santi Hotel
#30 of 71 in Luang Prabang
448 reviews
1.6 mi away
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Luang Prabang View Hotel
#20 of 71 in Luang Prabang
323 reviews
2.2 mi away
Lakhangthong Boutique Hotel
Lakhangthong Boutique Hotel
#24 of 71 in Luang Prabang
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Sada Hotel
Sada Hotel
#38 of 71 in Luang Prabang
107 reviews
7.6 mi away
Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort
Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort
#1 of 1 in Ban Xieng Lom
253 reviews
1.9 mi away
Parasol Blanc
Parasol Blanc
#11 of 71 in Luang Prabang
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santi Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santi Resort & Spa

Address: Santi Resort Road | Ban Nadeuay, Luang Prabang 40000, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Luang Prabang
#13 Luxury Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range: $88 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Santi Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mountain in the horizon, Never ending rice field at you door step, Canals with lotus flower , Creek and waterfall stretch through the sprawling serene landscape at Santi Resort &SpaTha Santi Resort &Spa is Located a short 10 minutes drive from down town, Luang Prabang and boast 67 elegantly designed room, Deluxe room, Bungalow and Suites all with terrace or Balcony and fitted with hot & cold shower , Bathtub, individually remote controlled air-conditioning, Cabal VT 24 Hours movie Chanel, In room electronic safe, In room WIFI and Refreshments Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Santi Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santi Hotel Luang Prabang
Santi Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing