We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, good service, shame about the rooms”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Phousi Hotel

Phousi Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Phousi Hotel
Ranked #54 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good location, good service, shame about the rooms”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2007

We stayed at the Phousi hotel with my husband for two nights in December 2006 and it was a very convenient location, right next to the entrance of the city's flea market. The staff were helpful and polite, and their communication skills were good enough. We had breakfast once and regreted it, as it was just plain boring - not bad, as Lao coffee is quite a brew. But we weren't staying at a fancy property so we cannot complain for our choice. We would not have dinner there even if it was for free! However, we had a very nice breakfast the next day at a cafe across the street that caters almost exclusively to Westeners - the JoMa cafe. However, the room quality was very poor and we would not stay at the Phousi again because of this. Especially the hot water situation was intolerable, with barely a drip of lukewarm water at any time of day. If they fixed this problem then I would say that their prices somewhat reflect their value, but as it is I cannot give them any better grade than a 2/5.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank meandrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    4
    25
    8
    6
See reviews for
2
16
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2007

I wish I'd had the chance to read the two most recent reviews of this place before we left on our travels. Our experience was similar . The hotel is State owned and managed and they obviously have no idea how to run a hotel, nor do they care.

We had reserved Superior rooms for six nights, were initially given unsatisfactory rooms and when we questioned this they just kept giving us different room keys and indicating that we should look for ourselves. There were no tea/coffee facilities, nor any hot water available, and the coffee shop was only open 7 - 9am each day.

The rooms were of reasonable size but shabby and grubby, and the hot water was erratic, mainly absent.

Even worse, after we had checked in for our six nights our driver told us that the hotel was booked for a convention on the fourth night and we would have to move out and stay somewhere else for that night. He was obviously embarrassed but had no choice. We ended up (after some wrangling) at Sala Prabang, which is really lovely.

We asked if we could stay our remaining three nights at Sala Prabang but that was out of the question so we had to move again back to Phousi and go through the same rigmarole of
finding acceptable rooms. We gave up in the end and took one which stank of sewage and had a blocked toilet.

The whole performance of having to move out and back meant that we lost most of two days in that we had to check out and in and fit in with the times that suited the Phousi .

From talking with our driver we got the impression that the travel companies are forced to offer this hotel because it is in State ownership. It should be closed down, or priced at no more than US$20. We paid about US$50.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Dirt and smells
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Alvaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Luang Prabang hotels

Thai -Usa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2007

The location - great. The staff is friendly and the grounds are nice. But, the property is run down and certainly NOT worth the price. Having hot water in the morning was a miracle, the towles were so old and stained they felt like sand paper. A $40 room at best if your desperate - but, our travelagent charged us $125usd. You guessed it - we have stopped payment on our credit card and now we get to deal with that too.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Shabby room
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DoiSaketThailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2007

Let's get one thing clear, the location of the hotel is excellent, centrally in the city. And the staff is friendly, definately.

But the hotel is not worth the money. We booked the hotel directly and they charged us $60,-. For that kind of money you can expect in LP a lot, with so many very, very beautiful restored boutique type of hotels and guest houses. The large and unpersonal Phousi unfortunately gives the impression that maintenance does not exsist, all paintwork must be done, we had to change rooms 3 times before we had one with a hot shower. State of the bathrooms is so old that everything gives the feeling of not being clean, miniature shampoo bottles are refilled just too many times, showercurtain is stained. This is a pity, because the rooms have beatiful wooden floors and it has all the potential to become a great hotel if they would invest money in stead of just using the tourism boom and make a fortune. Breakfast is included in the rate (as they are a typical hotel for tour groups large and small), and here they also lived up to expectations: bad quality of food and old coffee and tea.

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank Wiltdorfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2006

Location of the hotel is excellent. Very close to night market. Lots of restaurants and food stalls nearby. River is two minutes walk from the hotel. Our room was nice, a corner room with nice big windows and good view of garden. Sheets and towels are kind of old. Service is average. Knowledge of English is limited. Hotel seems catering tour groups most of the time so it is difficult to get a double room, most rooms are twin rooms. Breakfast service is quite disappointing. They don't take note of what is ordered and bring whatever to your table until they hit the jackpot and bring the right item.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank elinasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2004

The food service was excellent, and prices were good. European cuisine available for the homesick tourist. Staff eager to please. Facilities had excellent security. Great central location. One block from internet access. Deluxe room means bathtub, instead of just shower. Not the cheapest, but half the US rate for comparable service. I was very pleased with the entire stay.

Helpful?
14 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.0 mi away
Sanakeo Boutique & Spa LuangPrabang
Sanakeo Boutique & Spa LuangPrab...
#41 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.0 mi away
Manoluck Hotel
Manoluck Hotel
#58 of 69 in Luang Prabang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
0.0 mi away
Xishuangbanna Hotel
Xishuangbanna Hotel
#63 of 69 in Luang Prabang
3.0 of 5 bubbles 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Vang Thong Hotel
Vang Thong Hotel
#62 of 69 in Luang Prabang
3.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chitchareune Mouang Luang Hotel
Chitchareune Mouang Luang Hotel
#50 of 69 in Luang Prabang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.0 mi away
Luang Prabang Legend Hotel
Luang Prabang Legend Hotel
#45 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phousi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phousi Hotel

Property: Phousi Hotel
Address: Setthathirath Road, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Phousi Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Phousi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phousi Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing