We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Hotel”
Review of Le Calao Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Calao Inn
Ranked #169 of 259 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Frankfurt
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel”
Reviewed March 24, 2009

The location and rooms are really great. Very nice view from the balconies. The breakfast is nothing special, but you dont expect a big buffet at a small Hotel. With 80 $ a little overpriced, but for a memorable experience in Luang its worth the money. Staff is nice and very friendly.
The only inconvenience: The door is closed at 11.00 pm and no doorbell ! The guy who sleeps behind the reception desk (!) is certaily harder to wake up than the neighbours. Then again, Luang Prabang is not the place for excessive nightlife.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cicero_33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    8
    4
    2
    4
See reviews for
2
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2009

I stayed at the Calao hotel for two nights and was very impressed with the quality of service. The room was beautiful and the star feature was definitely the balcony overlooking the mekong. The bathroom could have been slightly better but I can't complain.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonN5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
42 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2009

We stayed here our last night in Luang Prabang because the hotel we had been staying at was not able to extend our stay. I think an $80 room in Luang Prabang should be a little more refined than the Le Calao Inn, but overall it was fine. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable, the two most important things in my opinion. The room was a little rough around the edges (hole in the bathroom screen, etc.) but it was well located and the balcony was quite nice. The highlight of the hotel is the staff - the friendliest we came upon in all of Laos.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kittypatrol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2008

Le Calao Inn is housed in a beautifully restaured colonial building right at the Mekong River. The staff is very helpfull, including a deathdefying motorride to the bank when the creditcard connection failed.
The 5 rooms are large, well equipped and very clean.
The restaurant serves French and Lao food on the riverside terrace (prices 7-15 US dollar). The towns most important sights are at walking distance.

  • Liked — superb location
  • Disliked — overpriced laundry service
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Glibber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2008

We stayed in one of the balcony rooms at this hotel and quite liked it. Yes, it's an old hotel, but that's part of its charm. The balconies, with tree-shrouded views of the Mekong, are charming and right out of the past. The rooms are old fashioned though perfectly pleasant. Everything was very clean. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. Our only complaint--and it's a slight one--was being given twin beds when only one bed had been requested. Our dinner outside on the stepped-down patio in the French restaurant (under separate management from the hotel) was excellent. Those who usually stay in conventional four- or five-star hotels will probably not enjoy Le Calao, but we did.

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
Thank Judyno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2007

The Le Calao has a great location, two blocks from the major restaurants, right along the Mekong (convenient for river cruises), near some major wats.

The downstairs room was HUGE (double bed + 2 twins) with a small balcony. The upstairs room was smaller, but nicer (2 beds - it may convert to a king, but I'm not sure). The bathroom in the downstairs room had a screened window which let in tons of noise from outside (we kept the bathroom door closed). There was a LOT of staff noise outside and roosters starting early.

The air conditioner was great (but it leaked...it sounds like it is not the only hotel in LP with this problem). Only soap & toilet paper were provided for toiletries. After several nights, the "charm" of the old house wore off and it started to feel a little more "old" than "charming," especially considering it is very pricey for the city.

The staff was very friendly and there was always someone there, but English was an occasional challenge.

Do not be seduced by the "balcony overlooking the Mekong". I would prefer to stay elsewhere. Honestly, the hotel is overpriced by about $20, but it's not a bad place to be.

  • Liked — Great location
  • Disliked — Overpriced
  • Stayed June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trav0042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
94 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2007

We stayed here for two nights in January after a lovely cruise down the Mekong from China. The location is great - walking distance to everything, but in a quiet area overlooking the Mekong. The room was large with a balcony over the Mekong. The staff was friendly, spoke English well enough, and were quite helpful. Breakfast was in an outdoor front porch - very pleasant. There are Wats nearby, and a short walk to where the two rivers meet. The room was a little "tired," but comfortable with a good bathroom and shower.

  • Liked — Location, Charm
  • Disliked — A little "old"
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank erklein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.3 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#16 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
0.0 mi away
Namkhan Riverside Hotel
Namkhan Riverside Hotel
#40 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.5 mi away
Indigo House
Indigo House
#18 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel 3 Nagas Luang Prabang MGallery by Sofitel
0.4 mi away
Villa Chitdara 2 Guesthouse
Villa Chitdara 2 Guesthouse
#28 of 259 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa Somphong
Villa Somphong
#19 of 259 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Calao Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Calao Inn

Property: Le Calao Inn
Address: Mekong Reverside Rd., Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #169 of 259 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Le Calao Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon so you can book your Le Calao Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Calao Hotel Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing