We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Satisfying”
Review of Silk Road Cafe

Silk Road Cafe
Ranked #36 of 220 Restaurants in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $8
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Enjoy delicious 'East meets West' cuisine at the Silk Road Cafe. A beautiful and relaxing location in the grounds of a stunning tropical garden with sweeping views of the Mekong, just a short distance from the centre of town - 5 mn ride with our free tuk tuk available all day on demand. Watch our traditional weavers at work at the Living Crafts Centre next door. Serving breakfast and lunch as well as brunch or afternoon tea, it's the perfect place to escape and gaze across the river.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

The place is well-run and visitor-friendly. The guided tour was fun and informative.It was obvious that the skilled weavers are happy working there. We had a friendly Malaysian guide who spoke very clearly and is also a gallant gentleman. Highly-recommended stop on the trip back to Luang Prabang from Kuang Si Falls.

Thank Aiminami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OckPopTok_Manager, Manager at Silk Road Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Thank you for stopping by on your way back from Kuang Si! Glad that Brandan (your gallant Malaysian tour guide) provided an enriching experience. Supporting our weavers and providing a safe and happy environment for them to weave their beautiful textiles is critical to our success. Khop jai!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (174)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

112 - 116 of 175 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2014

Interesting free tour, expensive shop but no pressure to buy. Lunch is excellent and I would definitely go back just for that. Cycled from town - less than 15 minutes and easily found.

Thank Ashley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OckPopTok_Manager, Manager at Silk Road Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Thanks for stopping by and visiting! Glad you enjoyed the lunch as we do put lots of effort into our menu. Hope to see you back soon, khop jai!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2014

Such a wonderful place, not only are the grounds magical but the whole day from start till finish was one that we will never forget. The staff are very helpful and informative talking us through the concept of their business. Fair trade is there philosphy and the staff are really looked after by the management which is lovely to see, and gives good relationships within the ock pok family. After our walk around learning so many interesting things we sat down and ate some lovely dishes with Laos influence and the coffee is wonderful too. Well done everyone at ock pok tok and thankyou xx

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank emmaellis007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OckPopTok_Manager, Manager at Silk Road Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Thank you for sharing this review as it very accurately describes many of our core values - such as ensuring we have a happy, well compensated 'family'. I am glad this shone through and even happier you were left with a rewarding experience. Hope to see you back along the banks of the Mekong soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014

The restaurant is outside of town overlooking the river and is well worth a free taxi from outside their textile shops in town.The food is excellent as is the ambience with the added bonus of weavers working on the textile looms.Best to look around yourself otherwis
e there is the obligation to purchase Textiles made by the local cooperatives which is top quality, at a price.If you purchase textiles and eat at the restaurant do check your payment and change ! They will even taxi you back to town.It is well worth the experience.

Thank Shane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OckPopTok_Manager, Manager at Silk Road Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2014

Thank you for leaving a review, we are glad you enjoyed your meal. We certainly hope you didn't feel obliged to purchase anything as that is certainly not the case! Regardless, I will communicate your feedback to the staff as this is not the experience we ultimately strive to deliver. We hope to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

Based in terrific reviews, decided to go there for diner on wednesday evening. We were told it was not open for diner! So better check! Atmosphere looked indeed pretty nice by the river...

Thank Geo009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OckPopTok_Manager, Manager at Silk Road Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

We apologize for the inconvenience - how frustrating when expecting to eat dinner! We will certainly work to improve this communication to avoid any hungry travellers being disappointed. We hope you are able to come back and enjoy one of our delicious lunch menu items.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Silk Road Cafe also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to Silk Road Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing