We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tranquility in a Laos silk cocoon” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Silk Road Cafe

Silk Road Cafe
Ranked #30 of 198 Restaurants in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $8
Cuisines: Cafe, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Enjoy delicious 'East meets West' cuisine at the Silk Road Cafe. A beautiful and relaxing location in the grounds of a stunning tropical garden with sweeping views of the Mekong, just a short distance from the centre of town - 5 mn ride with our free tuk tuk available all day on demand. Watch our traditional weavers at work at the Living Crafts Centre next door. Serving breakfast and lunch as well as brunch or afternoon tea, it's the perfect place to escape and gaze across the river.
Kampong Chhnang, Cambodia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Tranquility in a Laos silk cocoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014

On my last trip to Luang Prabang I spent several days weaving at Ok Pop Tok. Every day I was treated to the most delicious meal and the friendliest service I have ever experienced. Of course I had to bring my husband along so he could see what a delightful place Silk Road Cafe is. We were both so impressed with the tasty Laos food and the calm and soothing atmosphere of the Restaurant. The Laos food is truly delicious, fresh and tasty and the atmosphere with the Mekong (Nam Kong) so close was magic.
I really can't wait for my next visit. The staff are so helpful and friendly. They really made every effort for us to enjoy our meal without being intrusive. This is an experience which no-one should miss.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Paristan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OPT_Admin, Manager at Silk Road Cafe, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review and we look forward to welcoming you back here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    46
    11
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best day in SE Asia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014

Great break from sightseeing - spent the day dyeing silk and weaving. Fabulous lunch. This is a place I want to go back to. Very friendly staff. The weavers are so skilled. Thank you for an awesome time!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OPT_Admin, Manager at Silk Road Cafe, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
and thank you for such a nice review. Please do come back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wenhaston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best weaving experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

I spent a day dyeing silk and weaving. Great teachers and very friendly interpreters. Overlooking the Mekong river, it is a very special place. Lovely restaurant and good food. Wish I could have stayed longer!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Annypurple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OPT_Admin, Manager at Silk Road Cafe, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Thanks for the nice review and we hope you can stay longer next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaziantep
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

View of Mekong table, good service and freshly prepared food. Fun weaving operation where you can learn. Beautiful fabrics

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank AntepJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OPT_Admin, Manager at Silk Road Cafe, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Thanks for the review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
288 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Fabulous place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

great food and tranquil setting. Come to check out the traditional weaving techniques and stay for the incredible fish salads and fruit smoothees.

All around, a great place that we would gladly return to without hesitation

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Confused_ExpatHanoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OPT_Admin, Manager at Silk Road Cafe, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Great review! Thanks for the recommendation and glad you enjoyed your visit here
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Silk Road Cafe also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to Silk Road Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing