We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place for lunch”
Review of Silk Road Cafe

Silk Road Cafe
Ranked #32 of 208 Restaurants in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $8
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Enjoy delicious 'East meets West' cuisine at the Silk Road Cafe. A beautiful and relaxing location in the grounds of a stunning tropical garden with sweeping views of the Mekong, just a short distance from the centre of town - 5 mn ride with our free tuk tuk available all day on demand. Watch our traditional weavers at work at the Living Crafts Centre next door. Serving breakfast and lunch as well as brunch or afternoon tea, it's the perfect place to escape and gaze across the river.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Beautiful setting for a light lunch. We shared a chicken noodle soup and a Luang Prabang salad. Both were very tasty. Pineapple mint shakes were a perfect accompaniment. Too bad the place is a little out of the way. If you're touring around on a bike, be sure to drop by this oasis. While you're there take a tour of the weaving center.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Roger F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OPT_Admin, Manager at Silk Road Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Thanks for the recommendation!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (169)
There are newer reviews for Silk Road Cafe
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

131 - 135 of 169 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2013

We were so impressed with the lovely setting and delicious food we had when we cycled up to the Ock Pop Tok weaving centre and restaurant from the centre of town. We got chatting with the staff and when we had finished our long, lazy lunch, we asked to see a room in the adjacent villas and immediately booked ourselves in! We were then able to enjoy breakfast and lunch on several other occassions and didn't tire of the food or the fantastic view from the open air restaurant for as long as we stayed.

Food is freshly prepared and recipes carefully thought out, with a good selection of vegetarian options, intersting salads and juices. The setting is beautiful, with an uniterrupted view of the river and a lush garden to lounge in and soak the tranquil beauty. The weaving centre and shop is the reason most people come out here, but the restaurant should be a destination for breakfast and lunch in its own right.

It's not open in the evenings, except for private functions, but they light up the trees in the garden at dusk and there are beautiful woven hagings and paper lanterns, so if you get the chance to stay late, the atmosphere is equally magical. They do yoga classes a couple of evenings a week too, so if you over do the food you can always stay and work it off!
.
Staff are friendly and happy to chat or leave you alone if that's what you want. Best not to be in a rush as you will want to soak in the view and service is relaxed.

It's a 10 minute cycle ride from town and they also lay on a free tuk tuk transfer from the Ock Pop Tok shops in town. It's a bit of a dusty trek to walk from town, but if you do, the entrance is down a lane opposite Phousi market and well signed.

Highly recommended and very reasonably priced for equivalent fare in town.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank paperduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OPT_Admin, Manager at Silk Road Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Thanks for such a great review, it makes us really happy to read about guests having experiences like this. We hope more people will come to appreciate our restaurant on its own terms as you say. Thanks for such a nice review and hope you can visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

I had a couple of meals here, and found the food so light, delicious, fresh, satisfying.... It was hard to think of enough superlatives to describe this wonderful place.
The restaurant was also very relaxing, and looking out over the Mekong very well situated.
There was no hurry to leave, and lots of things to look at, since it forms part of a living arts centre.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 408meredithm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OPT_Admin, Manager at Silk Road Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Wow, what a nice review! Thanks so much for writing. We've been busy updating our menu so it's great to hear positive feedback. Hopefully see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We came here to shop and ended up having lunch, the service was outstanding, the food delicious and the grounds on the edge of the Mekong, just lovely. It's only about a 10 min bike ride from town, or they have a free shuttle, not too sure how that works though.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jillsydneyaustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OPT_Admin, Manager at Silk Road Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Thanks for stopping by and writing such a nice review! Our tuk tuk runs from our 2 shops in town. You just need to tell the staff and they will get the tuk tuk to pick you up (and drop you back in town when you're done). We also offer tour of our weaving centre to all visitors that stop by.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

I had one of the best and most memorable experiences at the Silk Road Cafe.

I found this hidden gem while doing the free tour at Ock Pop Tok's Living Craft Centre with my friends. The tour was also done well - informative and interesting. It is a bit further out of the city but there is a free tuk tuk from the city to the centre and proved convenient.

I really liked it also because it was away from the city and served as a little oasis that not many know of. Good to gather your thoughts here, enjoy great service, good company and fantastic food.

We started off with fried rice cakes with eggplant dip and tomato dip. I'm a big fan of eggplant and they did it so well. I could taste the light smokey flavours from the eggplants that was complemented with the soft airy crunch from the rice cake. The tomato dip was also flavorful and not too salty.

We also had the papaya salad that was a bit spicy, sour and sweet. There was a great balance between the nuttiness, fresh crunch and salty fried things (Not sure what the fried things were, fried fish skin? Fried pork? Whatever it is, it was good.)

Then we shared stuffed chicken in lemon grass. Simple dish that goes so well with the perfectly cooked sticky rice. We also dipped the sticky rice in the remaining leftover eggplant and tomato dips! Nothing went to waste.

The chicken was soft, tender and crispy on the outside. The insides was also filled with fresh herbs and earthy flavours.

We ended off with a nice hot cup of lao coffee and enjoyed the stunning view of the river.

The second time I came round, I had the noodle soup that was light and savoury. It was filling and hearty!

I would highly recommend this place.They change their menu almost every other day, so you never know what specials they have which you can indulge in!

The service staff was proactive and gave us water once we sat down. They also immediately put one of those things that would produce smoke to chase away the mosquitoes at our feet. Very friendly and hospitable. We had a good chat with the manager and the staff.

It's a great way to end your free tour or classes at Ock Pop Tok's Living Craft centre.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Vicky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OPT_Admin, Manager at Silk Road Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

What a great review of our cafe, thanks so much and thanks for coming back! fyi they were fried pork skins with the papaya salad, a very moreish snack on their own.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Silk Road Cafe also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to Silk Road Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing