We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fair but not overwhelming”
Review of Ang Thong Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ang Thong Hotel
Ranked #51 of 264 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Fair but not overwhelming”
Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

Quite surprised this hotel is ranked so high and favorable on TripAdvisor. The overall facilities are clean and accommodating but nothing exceptional that would warrant staying a bit removed from the main part of town and relying on Tuk Tuk for return transportation daily/nightly. The staff comes across is friendly and accommodating however their knowledge of basic spoken English is extremely limited which is surprising for a hotel that relies solely on foreign/international travelers. The limited knowledge placed us in a bind a couple of times. If the price is right you might want to consider staying there but for a few more dollars you might be able to find equal to or slightly better places in main part of town.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank FreqTrvl75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    16
    13
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
13
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We just stayed 3 nights at the Ang Thong. First, it is about a 8min tuk-tuk ride from the main tourist area so if you want to walk out your door and be in the middle of things this is not the place for you. However, many things were really great about the hotel. We paid $80 a night in high season

Positives:
- big rooms
- nice big shower with rainshower head
- small but nice balcony in all rooms
- nice small pool
- very nice breakfast buffet included
- clean and well kept hotel and beds very comfortable.
- quiet area

Negatives:
- not right in old quaint area
- front desk staff does not speak very much English and they messed up on bike rentals and our shuttle to airport. They try hard and are very friendly, but they need to have people there with better English skills at the desk. The manager was great but when he wasn't around it was tough.
- No heat in the rooms and it was cold, but they did give us extra blankets
-

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sdwarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

The hotel is located in the rubbled outskirts of the town, but provides a complimentary tuk-tuk, and certainly the ten-minute journey is refreshing and interesting. The rooms in the hotel are fine, except in the bathroom where a motel type shower (a cheap plastic shower curtain on an expandable rod) with dodgy plumbing is disappointing: one second the water is hot, the next minute freezing. You can eat at the hotel, but it is a slightly bizarre process: you have to order the food at least an hour before you want it and if you suddenly decide on the spur of the moment to eat at the hotel and ask for a dinner at, say, 8:00 pm you will be advised that the chef has gone home. There is also no bar, although drinks are available if you request them. The breakfast buffet is awful and limited: congealed fried eggs floating in oil, inedible waffles and other obscure food items. If you come down in the morning a little bit later than other guests there's not much food left.

The building itself is ok, but the room balconies are badly configured, pointing across to other balconies rather than to the mountains ringing the town.

The staff are charming, but cannot really resurrect the slightly eccentric aspects of the hotel.

I suspect that the oddities of the Ang Thong reflect the Laotian tourist industry- still not as sophisticated as that of Thailand, but trying to improve. I would though preferred to have been more in the centre of Luang - which is an interesting, charming town, particularly if you take the opportunity of booking tours to the caves and waterfall.

Room Tip: Try for a room at the far end of the hotel - you will have a view over the encompassing mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Barry Lynch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

This hotel is located away from the main bustle of the town in a very peaceful location overlooking the hills. We found it very clean everywhere. The roms were spacious with a very comfy bed, spacious bathroom and a balcony overlooking the pool and garden. There were plenty of places to sit in the gardens but a lack of loungers by the pool. When we used the pool staff brought towels out for us to use. The restaurant staff could do with some training as breakfasts, although a good selection, would be nicer if cooked when requested and not just left in warming pans. We found the reception staff very friendly and helpful. Free tuc tuc into town and return about 4usd. We stayed 5 nights and would certainly recommend styng here if you want some peace away from the noise of the town.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lesley50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bodrum Turkey
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

The hotel itself is well set out and the pool is lovely. I would love to be given the job of staying for a month and training the staff. The rooms are nice but the bathrooms are smelly and it isn't a big job to alter that and it would get rid of so many complaints.
They do have pool towels in reception, but there are only 6 sun beds. I am afraid we all ignored attempts to reserve whilst out.
There was a coffee machine but they had no idea how to use it and kept switching it off and would then add more coffee and water as you approached the machine and switch it on again. It ended up like mud. The eggs were all fried before 07.00 and not really kept hot. Everything is there but the understanding of what to do with it.
The sunsets from our balcony were lovely and our room was comfortable but with just a little training it could be a very good hotel.
We were leaving very early in the morning after a five day stay and asked if there could be some fruit or something. We were told we would get a packed breakfast with sandwiches and fruit. We reminded the receptionist as we left to go into town the night before. We reminded him again when we returned from dinner. We reminded him after waking him up to make sure he had ordered our transport to the airport. Then we asked for it . "Sorry I forgot! "The airport had nothing open and as we sat there watching all the other guests from the other hotels open their packed breakfasts we thought this is not how you get repeat bookings.
My husband fixed the hotel computer for the receptionist and whilst I was waiting I showed him the free English language sites where you can teach yourself. He didn't really grasp why I was telling him and I explained as best I could that most people visiting a country can't learn the language for a one week visit. If more of the staff spoke more English there would be less problems, more happy guests which means bigger tips.
We ordered lunch type snacks, they did come half an hour later but without plates ,cutlery, napkins, salt etc etc. All of these things did eventually come one by one, by which time the food was stone cold.
Had this been a cheaper hotel we would not mention any of this stuff as we do believe you get what you pay for but this was the second most expensive hotel we stayed at and we thought the service was poor because the staff have not been trained. There is no point in having a coffee machine if you don't know how to operate it, here is no point in having a menu if you don't know how to serve the food.
I would return to train the staff but otherwise I'd go elsewhere next time.
From the web site and the brochures it looked like a large storage unit in the middle of the room and with that and what looked like a wardrope we thought we'd have room to unpack as we were there for five days. The thing in the middle of the room is a piller surrounded by wood and houses the flat screen TV. The wardrope has a fridge in the bottom part and a safe in the top. This was going to be our comfortable five days to wind down and relax and have an attractive room after five weeks of travelling. We lived out of the suitcase and had no more comfort than the hotels we paid 1/4 price for.

Room Tip: The hotel was so noisy there are no tips. We moved from the side next to the all night disco and tie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EJCBodrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay here on the whole.

Good Points:

Beautiful hotel
Very comfortable big beds
Lovely scenery
Quiet
Free tukTuk to town at 5 mins notice
Free bikes to hire
Welcome drink on arrival
Nice small hotel

Cons:-

Wifi VERY patchy, especially in rooms.
Staff did not speak very good English (but then my Laos isn't great either!)
Breakfast very basic for this star rating and breakfast room not have a view and was all inside.
Only 6 sunbeds and some guests 'claim' these for the whole day even when they go out they reserve them all day for later!
Pool towels were not provided on the sunbeds or outside so I found it a bit awkward having to walk into reception and try and explain that I wanted a towel for myself and my friend whilst in a bikini. It should be zero hassle when staying in a hotel like this with a pool, to get a towel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendini82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noordwijk, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

This hotel only delivers partly what it promises.
Pros
- room and bed fine and clean
Free transport to luang praban
Cons
- bathroom not good
rain shower too low for a westerner
Takes ages before hot water arrives
Turns very hot and than cold again.
- smelly bathroom: burned insects when you switch light on
- Internet does NOT work in the rooms
- away from centre. Not far but staying in the centre is nicer if you can do without pool

Breakfast is ok.
Staff is friendly but some don't speak enough English.

The price is too high for the product delivered. Three star quality.

Room Tip: Insist on a room with balcony and swimming pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michael2691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.3 mi away
Vansana Luang Prabang Hotel
Vansana Luang Prabang Hotel
#55 of 69 in Luang Prabang
44 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sanakeo Boutique & Spa LuangPrabang
Sanakeo Boutique & Spa LuangPrab...
#39 of 69 in Luang Prabang
58 reviews
1.2 mi away
Manoluck Hotel
Manoluck Hotel
#57 of 69 in Luang Prabang
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Vangsavath Hotel
Vangsavath Hotel
#16 of 264 in Luang Prabang
419 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mekong Moon Inn
Mekong Moon Inn
#27 of 264 in Luang Prabang
160 reviews
1.6 mi away
Apple Guesthouse
Apple Guesthouse
#14 of 264 in Luang Prabang
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ang Thong Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ang Thong Hotel

Property: Ang Thong Hotel
Address: Lao-Thai Friendship Road, Ban Naxarng, Luang Prabang, Laos
Phone Number:
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 264 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ang Thong Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ang Thong Boutique Hotel is an oasis with views of the rice paddy fields, its lush tropical greenery and is as one of the most enchanting boutique hotels in Luang Prabang. Designed and built especially for romance and relaxation seekers, this hotel was made to ensure its guests comfort and hospitality with a touch of magic. Hotel guests enjoy an intimate setting, the ideal vacation, honeymoon, any celebration or simply have a getaway. Just 2 Kilometers to the city center, while conveniently close to offer quick and easy trips to enjoy the brief benefits of a more urban setting. The Ang Thong boutique Hotel proudly offers 20 rooms with an individual chic-barefoot design including first class amenities created to amaze. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ang Thong Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing