We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stop Thinking About It And Sign Up Right Now”

Ock Pop Tok Living Crafts Centre
Book In Advance
More Info
$95.00*
and up
Luang Prabang Local Life Full-Day Small Group Tour
Ranked #1 of 9 Museums in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Ock Pop Tok Living Crafts Centre is where the fascinating world of Lao textiles comes alive! Set in the grounds of a stunning tropical garden on the Mekong, it's the perfect place to learn more about this unique Lao art. We offer free guided tours where you can meet our weavers, artisans and even the silkworms. We also offer a range of classes in weaving and dyeing, which as our reviews show, are an unforgettable experience. Our Silk Road Cafe by the river is the perfect place to relax and enjoy our "east meets west" inspired menu, or simply enjoy the stellar sunsets with a refreshing drink.
Reviewed January 12, 2018

I read about Ock Pop Tok for days trying to decide if I wanted to sign up for a class. I just couldn't decide if it'd be worth the money or if I would even be any good at weaving. I finally signed up and I can't say enough times how incredible it was. I would give this place 100 stars if I could! If you're on the fence and reading reviews, I highly recommend you just sign up for a class right now!

I signed up for the full day weaving class. I honestly couldn't even fathom who I could possibly make a silk scarf, on my own, in a day. They do an amazing job of teaching you exactly what to do and help you to learn and complete all the steps on your own. I was the slowest one in my class, but still managed to finished my full scarf in time.

At the end the day, I came home with an incredibly beautiful silk scarf, which is the most incredible souvenir I could have dreamed of, and a skill that I'm looking forward to using in the future.

Thank you so much to Ock Pop Tok for making all my craft dreams come true!!

PS the lunch is AMAZING and vegetarian friendly!

1  Thank Emily C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OckPopTok_Manager, Manager at Ock Pop Tok Living Crafts Centre, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2018

Hi Emily,

thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review, especially such a long and detailed one! It's truly appreciated by all of us here, especially our activities staff, who work hard at making our classes enjoyable and educational.

We are glad to hear you had a great time with us, we have passed your review over to our teachers as well. Maybe next time you will try our natural dyeing class, or simply come back for another lunch along the Mekong... ;)

Again, thank you so much for leaving a review and we hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in Luang Prabang. We hope to see you soon, Emily!

Warmly,
Hilary & the Ock Pop Tok team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (424)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"weaving class"
in 43 reviews
"free tour"
in 32 reviews
"natural dyes"
in 30 reviews
"silk worms"
in 23 reviews
"craft centre"
in 19 reviews
"free tuk tuk"
in 14 reviews
"mekong river"
in 55 reviews
"weaving process"
in 13 reviews
"silk production"
in 9 reviews
"silk road cafe"
in 8 reviews
"master weaver"
in 7 reviews
"shop on site"
in 6 reviews
"east meets west"
in 9 reviews
"tie dye"
in 5 reviews
"silk making"
in 4 reviews
"cafe overlooking"
in 4 reviews
"beautiful silk"
in 5 reviews
Filter

82 - 86 of 424 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2018

My husband and I and another couple spent a whole day the Ock Pop Tok Living Crafts Centre. We started with a dyeing class where we learnt about silkworms and how dyes are made. Then we each dyed a cotton scarf with one colour and a pattern of our choice. It was like being in a hybrid chemistry/Harry Potter potion class. Fantastic fun. Then we had lunch served on a terrace overlooking the river and beautiful garden. In the afternoon we tried our hands at weaving a placemat using silk threads (2 different colours) and a choice of 2 patterns. My husband and I chose the more complicated pattern and we had a bit of a race to see who could weave the fastest - and he won!! I had no idea about this hidden talent of his! Initially he was a bit skeptical about this activity, but he really enjoyed it. Highly recommended!! The master weavers speak no English but there is an interpreter who manages the class and we easily understood what we were supposed to do. We were able to weave the pattern by ourselves, adjusting the loom threads and selecting the correct colour based on an already-woven piece that we used as a template. Very proud of ourselves. Not only have we had fun while producing a useful silk item, we are also supporting a local industry and providing income for Lao artisans.

1  Thank 737Maxine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OckPopTok_Manager, Manager at Ock Pop Tok Living Crafts Centre, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2018

Hi Maxine,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a kind and lengthy post! We truly appreciate it.

We value every review that we get, especially when guests had such a positive experience. We place high priority on our courses and the overall experience here and carefully construct our classes and workshops to be both educational and enjoyable for all - especially when our guests feel like they are playing with potions in Harry Potter... ;) Even better!

We will definitely let our Activities Team and teachers know about your review and hope to welcome you here soon again!

All the best and enjoy your remaining time in Luang Prabang,
Hilary & the Ock Pop Tok team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2018

Very interesting explanation of the processes from silk worm, spinning, natural dyes and weaving. I want to buy many. If you have enough time I would recommend a weaving course as this looks like fun and the staff help a lot.

1  Thank Skyward37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OckPopTok_Manager, Manager at Ock Pop Tok Living Crafts Centre, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2018

Hi Skyward,

thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review, it's truly appreciated by all of us here! We are happy to hear you also enjoyed the selection of scarves we had, next time we hope to welcome you back for one of our courses ;)

We hope you enjoyed your stay in Luang Prabang.

Warmly,
Hilary & the Ock Pop Tok team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2018

This place is where women are encouraged to learn a craft and weave material and make clothing. They are all paid a fair wage and items they have made have their names on the labels. The cheapest item was a $5 key ring.

Thank easylacer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OckPopTok_Manager, Manager at Ock Pop Tok Living Crafts Centre, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, it's truly appreciated by all of us here, especially our weavers, who work hard to make the experience both educational and enjoyable for all our visitors!

We hope to welcome you again soon!

Warmly,
Hilary & the Ock Pop Tok team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed January 11, 2018 via mobile

I loved this place. The free tour was super informative and I learned so much about how weaving is done. I also got to see silkworms! Everyone was so nice no welcoming. Their store is beautiful and has amazing goods. Their prices reflect the hours of labor that go into each product, but are worthwhile investments. Free shuttle between the living center and shop downtown!

1  Thank wandergenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OckPopTok_Manager, Manager at Ock Pop Tok Living Crafts Centre, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2018

Dear Wander Genie,

Thank you so much for your review of our Living Crafts Centre. All of us here at Ock Pop Tok are glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit.

We are happy that you got to discover more about Laos through its textiles.

We look forward to welcoming you again the next time that you are in Luang Prabang.

Warmly,

Hilary and the Ock Pop Tok team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ock Pop Tok Living Crafts Centre also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to Ock Pop Tok Living Crafts Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing