We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for kids, gorgeous setting, worth your time!”

Ock Pop Tok Living Crafts Centre
Book In Advance
More Info
$95.00*
and up
Luang Prabang Local Life Full-Day Small Group Tour
Ranked #1 of 11 Museums in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Ock Pop Tok Living Crafts Centre is where the fascinating world of Lao textiles comes alive! Set in the grounds of a stunning tropical garden on the Mekong, it's the perfect place to learn more about this unique Lao art. We offer free guided tours where you can meet our weavers, artisans and even the silkworms. We also offer a range of classes in weaving and dyeing, which as our reviews show, are an unforgettable experience. Our Silk Road Cafe by the river is the perfect place to relax and enjoy our "east meets west" inspired menu, or simply enjoy the stellar sunsets with a refreshing drink.
Reviewed January 10, 2018

We loved the experience with our two kids ages 7 and 10 doing the natural dyes afternoon workshop. We learned a lot about silkworms, natural dyes and weaving. The workshop is very hands-on and our kids got to do everything on their own which they loved. The setting, cafe and shop are all beautiful and made for a peaceful and enjoyable afternoon on the Mekong. Great experience!

Date of experience: January 2018
1  Thank Cerise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OckPopTok_Manager, Manager at Ock Pop Tok Living Crafts Centre, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2018

Dear Cerise,

Thank you so much for your review of our Living Crafts Centre. All of us here at Ock Pop Tok are glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit.

I am glad to hear that your children enjoyed the hands on experience of the workshop and that you got to make souvenirs and memories together as a family.

We look forward to welcoming you again the next time that you are in Luang Prabang.

Warmly,

Hilary and the Ock Pop Tok team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (439)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"weaving class"
in 43 reviews
"free tour"
in 34 reviews
"natural dyes"
in 30 reviews
"silk worms"
in 23 reviews
"craft centre"
in 20 reviews
"free tuk tuk"
in 15 reviews
"weaving process"
in 14 reviews
"mekong river"
in 58 reviews
"silk production"
in 9 reviews
"silk road cafe"
in 8 reviews
"master weaver"
in 7 reviews
"shop on site"
in 6 reviews
"east meets west"
in 9 reviews
"tie dye"
in 5 reviews
"silk making"
in 4 reviews
"wall hangings"
in 10 reviews
"cafe overlooking"
in 4 reviews
Filter

102 - 106 of 439 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2018 via mobile

We arrived and were greeted by a very friendly young man who spoke very good English and who then took us on a free tour of the place. He was funny, friendly and knowledgeable and explained the whole process of weaving from silk worn to scarf.
Very interesting to know about the dyes. There were not many women weaving when we visited and I felt we missed out on that as I have visited weaving centers before in Turkey and Egypt and enjoyed looking at and interacting with the weavers.
They have lovely grounds and a nice restaurant.
They also have several workshops, unfortunately I did not know about this in advance.
They also have a gift shop. I bought a scarf from there. It was pricy but I felt it is a good way to insure quality if I bought from tho center.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank WRashed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OckPopTok_Manager, Manager at Ock Pop Tok Living Crafts Centre, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2018

Hi Rashed,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review - and such a lengthy one, at that! It's truly appreciated by all of us here, especially our tour guides and entire Living Craft Centre staff whose priority is the guest experience. We will definitely let our guides know ;)

We hope to welcome you soon again, perhaps for a meal or drink at our Silk Road Cafe, or even for one of our workshops, where you work 1-on-1 with a weaver! Have a look online if you're interested.

Warmly,
Hilary & the Ock Pop Tok team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2018

They offer a great free tour. They support local people who make the crafts. The grounds are amazing. If we had known about this place before we booked our trip, we would have spent a night there (they have rooms and a nice restaurant). We would have also taken a weaving course. Next time!

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank 309gloriap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OckPopTok_Manager, Manager at Ock Pop Tok Living Crafts Centre, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2018

Hi Gloria,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! It's truly appreciated by all of us here, especially the Living Craft Centre staff who spend a lot of time curating the content of the tours to make them both educational & enjoyable.

We hope you had a great time in Luang Prabang and that we see you soon again. (Either at our Mekong Villa Boutique Hotel or just a coffee at our Cafe!)
Have a look at website for class / workshop options if you're interested... ;)

Warmly,
Hilary & The Ock Pop Tok team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2018

There's a store (with many rooms) right on the main street downtown that displays a large selection of the products woven at the centre. There's also a free shuttle that takes you a short way out of town to/from the centre itself where you're given a free tour of the weaving process: the life cycle of silk worms, how the plant dyes are made and used, and the weaving itself where several women worked at large hand looms. There's also a gift shop where more items are displayed. Really interesting and beautiful work.

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank Chelsea42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OckPopTok_Manager, Manager at Ock Pop Tok Living Crafts Centre, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2018

Hi Chelsea,

thank you for taking the time to write a review, it's truly appreciated by all of us here, especially our tour guides and Living Craft Centre Staff, who work hard to make the experience both educational and enjoyable for all our visitors!

We hope to welcome you soon again, maybe next time for a drink at our Silk Road Cafe on the Mekong or one of our hands-on courses... ;)

Warmly,
Hilary & the Ock Pop Tok team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed January 7, 2018

This place has a lot of amazing pieces of arts/crafts. The staff is helpful in showing visitors where the pieces are made throughout the country, and how the villages differ from one another. Everything is really well made.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank JBoise67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OckPopTok_Manager, Manager at Ock Pop Tok Living Crafts Centre, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2018

Hi JBoise,

thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! It's really appreciated by all of us here and we aim to make the experience educational and enjoyable for all of our visitors. Especially to showcase the work from our Luang Prabang Master Weavers but also the numerous villages and ethnic groups we work and collaborate with across Laos.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Warmly,
Hilary & the Ock Pop Tok team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ock Pop Tok Living Crafts Centre also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to Ock Pop Tok Living Crafts Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing