We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 7:00 AM - 6:30 PM
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Ock Pop Tok Living Crafts Centre
Reviews (424)
Filter reviews
424 results
Traveler rating
317
81
24
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
317
81
24
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews weaving class free tour natural dyes silk worms craft centre free tuk tuk mekong river weaving process silk production silk road cafe master weaver shop on site east meets west tie dye silk making cafe overlooking beautiful silk
Filter
Updating list...
109 - 114 of 424 reviews
Reviewed November 16, 2017

We used the free Tuk Tuk to get out to the crafts centre. We were provided with a tour of the weaving on arrival. Then enjoyed a great lunch on the edge of the Mekong.

Thank Tansambi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OckPopTok_Manager, Manager at Ock Pop Tok Living Crafts Centre, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2017

Dear Tansambi,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here. We are glad that you had a great time with us, and are looking forward for you to visit us again!
Best regards,
Quentin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2017 via mobile

I booked onto the 1 day dyeing and weaving class and it was excellent! You start the day with a welcome drink and a tour of the place - great to see the ladies at work on the looms and the pieces they create. The natural dyeing class was really interesting, lunch was tasty but by far my favourite was the weaving! We got our own personal teacher who was lovely and patient and our guide was amazing too making sure we were all doing okay! In the afternoon we got a refreshing lemonade aswell! Loved every moment of this day would highly recommend!! Thankyou to everyone at Ock pop tok for being so lovely and welcoming!

Thank Joanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OckPopTok_Manager, Manager at Ock Pop Tok Living Crafts Centre, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2017

Dear Joanne,

Many thanks for such a nice review! The whole team is really proud to see that they made you have such a great day with us. Thank you again for sharing your experience here with everyone, and please do not hesitate to come and visit us again!
Warm regards,
Quentin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2017

We booked the full day weaving and dyeing workshops.
Both were outstanding.
The location of the workshops is glorious, overlooking the Mekong which means there was a gentle breeze which was great. Who knew weaving could be such hard and tiring work.
The dyeing class involved learning about natural dyes which was fascinating, how to get the intensity, or not, of the colours, and how to treat the fabric or silk so the colour will fast.
The weaving class was equally as good. Excellent instruction, guidance and above all patience.
At the end of the day you left with examples of your efforts which are fantastic moments of a fabulous experience.
As we were there all day, we also had lunch. Fantastic food, exceptional service.
I would suggest a visit to Ock Pop Tok as a must Di. Yes it is expensive but it is fantastic.
The on site shop is outstanding. Just gorgeous. Would love to have just bought the lot.

Thank Wrenander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OckPopTok_Manager, Manager at Ock Pop Tok Living Crafts Centre, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2017

Dear Wrenander,

Wow! Thank you so much for such an outstanding review! Looks like you enjoyed every part of your day with us, and we could not be more happy about it! The whole team and I are really grateful that you took the time to share your experience here. We would be really pleased to welcome you here again! I'm sure there are many other things that you would like to try...
Take care,
Quentin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2017 via mobile

It was fine but if you only have a few days not worth it. It was interesting to learn how silk is made from a worm, but not really worth the trip.

Thank sj9400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OckPopTok_Manager, Manager at Ock Pop Tok Living Crafts Centre, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2017

Dear sj9400,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review here. I am sorry that you were not fully satisfied with your experience at our Living Crafts Center! However, which part of our Center did you visit? I am pretty sure that you did not take a full tour, because what you learn here is much more than just how silk is made from a worm! We give free tours explaining the whole process, from the worm, indeed, but to the finished products that you will find in our shop (did you visit our shop by the way?). It includes seeing our master weavers working on new pieces with traditional looms in front of you, meeting Mae Thao ZuZiong our Hmong batik master, a full explanation on our Village Weavers project, which leads us to work with many local communities and different ethnic groups all around Laos, and much more. And that is just for the free part! Besides it, you can learn to weave silk or bamboo, dye your textiles using traditional ingredients such as roots and leaves, etc... You can also have coffee or lunch, and enjoy the sunset at our Silk Road Cafe and its terrace overlooking the Mekong, visit our shop or stay at our Mekong Villa
If you ever come back to our place, please let us know and take some time to experience all of this, I am sure you will learn much more and will feel that your time was much well spent than with just walking around for a few minutes!
Warm regards,
Quentin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2017 via mobile

We took a tuk tuk from our hotel and just showed up at 9 in the morning unsure we will join a class on the day before our flight. İt was a great experience, weaving is very smoothing. The staff was very helpful. İ would love to go back for some more! The cafe is quite relaxing too!

Thank Sabine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OckPopTok_Manager, Manager at Ock Pop Tok Living Crafts Centre, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2017

Dear Sabine,

Thank you for your review here! Your comments about your experience are deeply appreciated, and our team will be delighted to know that you enjoyed their service.
Please don't hesitate to come back anytime for a relaxing time in our gardens!
Best regards,
Quentin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews