We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ock Pop Tok Living Crafts Centre

Ock Pop Tok Living Crafts Centre
Book In Advance
More Info
$94.00*
and up
Explore Luang Prabang Backroads Biking Tour
Ranked #2 of 23 Shopping in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Ock Pop Tok Living Crafts Centre is where the fascinating world of Lao textiles comes alive! Set in the grounds of a stunning tropical garden on the Mekong, it's the perfect place to learn more about this unique Lao art. We offer free guided tours where you can meet our weavers, artisans and even the silkworms. We also offer a range of classes in weaving and dyeing, which as our reviews show, are an unforgettable experience. Our Silk Road Cafe by the river is the perfect place to relax and enjoy our "east meets west" inspired menu, or simply enjoy the stellar sunsets with a refreshing drink.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014

Did the full day dying and weaving. Loved it. Never knew how complicated yet simple it all is. The master weavers help you along the way - still amazed at the placemat I wove!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hloveshen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OPT_Admin, Manager at Ock Pop Tok Living Crafts Centre, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Simple yet complicated sums it up well! Thanks for the review and glad you enjoyed the end result
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    47
    7
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
60 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“I'd love to spend several days there learning to weave!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

Very nice and well-kept establishment. It runs free tours, has it's own accomodation and transport, resataurant and bar.
It's quite far from the city centre, but we managed to walk to it in about 40 minutes.

The tour is very inspiring after it you strive to try to weave or dye, pity I didn't have time for it!
The shop is also great.
They are doing a very good thing, supporting women from remote villages.

And silk worm poo tea! :) Tastes like green tea, nothing scary about it :)

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank 0lven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OPT_Admin, Manager at Ock Pop Tok Living Crafts Centre, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Sorry you missed our tuk tuk. Thanks for the review and hopefully we can welcome you back to take one of our longer courses, guarantee you will love it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“This was a highlight of our trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

Who would have thought we would find a dying and weaving course so fascinating? My husband and I and our 10 year old spent a fabulous day at Ock Pop Tok learning how to dye and weave using traditional materials and methods. First up, we chose the dyes we would use for our silk, found most of the ingredients in the garden, then chopped, pounded and boiled until we had fabulous vibrant silk drying in the sun. After a lovely meal, we sat down to weave a silk mat with a traditional pattern on a hand loom. Thankfully there were professionals looking on to make sure it all worked, but we were astonished with what we managed to achieve and very impressed with the technology and the skills of the professionals.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank heafah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OPT_Admin, Manager at Ock Pop Tok Living Crafts Centre, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
We love reading reviews like that, it really does make our day. Very nice to hear.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hue
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

I completed the 1/2 day weaving course on a whim and thoroughly enjoyed it. My guide and master weaver were lovely and patient as I got into the swing of it. It was a fun way to learn about one of the main crafts/products of the area. Very proud of my place mat and have an even higher regard for the artisans that made some of lovely pieces I am taking home.

Helpful?
1 Thank Elfkin100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OPT_Admin, Manager at Ock Pop Tok Living Crafts Centre, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Thanks for the review. The best souvenirs are the ones you make yourself! It really does take doing one of the classes to truly understand the skill and complexity that go into creating Lao textiles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
1,156 reviews
763 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 516 helpful votes
“Lovely to see the local craftspersons at work”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

You are taken on a short tour of the centre and can see various items being made. It was also very intersting to see how they make and dye the silk threads.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Adventurers049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OPT_Admin, Manager at Ock Pop Tok Living Crafts Centre, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ock Pop Tok Living Crafts Centre also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to Ock Pop Tok Living Crafts Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing