We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place!”

Ock Pop Tok Living Crafts Centre
Book In Advance
More Info
$94.00*
and up
Explore Luang Prabang Backroads Biking Tour
More Info
$88.00*
and up
Luang Prabang Local Life Full-Day Small Group Tour
Ranked #2 of 24 Shopping in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Ock Pop Tok Living Crafts Centre is where the fascinating world of Lao textiles comes alive! Set in the grounds of a stunning tropical garden on the Mekong, it's the perfect place to learn more about this unique Lao art. We offer free guided tours where you can meet our weavers, artisans and even the silkworms. We also offer a range of classes in weaving and dyeing, which as our reviews show, are an unforgettable experience. Our Silk Road Cafe by the river is the perfect place to relax and enjoy our "east meets west" inspired menu, or simply enjoy the stellar sunsets with a refreshing drink.
Cairo, Egypt
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great place!”
Reviewed December 25, 2012

for some reason my friend and i never noticed their shop on the main street but accidentally found the crafts centre a little outside the center while on a trip with our bikes. we were very impressed by the place. i wish we had more time to do any of the weaving, dying, bamboo weaving, or paper-making classes. the place is very chill with a lot of greenery. they also had a restaurant that looked quite nice but we didn't try it. their shop had a lot of very high quality products which you wouldn't find on any of the local markets.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank nadaatalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OPT_Admin, Manager at Ock Pop Tok Living Crafts Centre, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thanks for the great review. It's a shame you couldn't spend longer here (and our food is great!). Enjoy the rest of your travels and Hhopefully next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    54
    8
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Amazing - highlight of our trip”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

My partner and I did a full day dying and weaving course, and absolutely loved it! Free transfer to the weaving centre from Ock Pop Tok's shopfront on the main street; great guide; amazingly patient and generous teachers. We weaved a placemat each using a traditional loom in beautiful natural silks, and also dyed some raw silks from scratch by grinding herbs, tree bark etc. The lunch we shared with the few other people in our group was also spectacular, as were the views of the Mekong from the workshop. Such a great organisation doing amazing things for Lao women - get behind them and have a day to remember in the process!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Emily L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OPT_Admin, Manager at Ock Pop Tok Living Crafts Centre, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
That's awesome Emily! So glad you had a good time and thank you so much for the kind review. We hope you can come visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Outstanding, enjoyable, eyeopening fun”
Reviewed December 6, 2012

We did the one day natural dye and weaving course - and I wish we'd had time to do more! I have a new appreciation for the incredible skill and time that goes into the handicrafts we bargained so hard for at the markets! The staff were exceptional - helpful, good communicators despite sometimes limited english, and very friendly. Lunch was gorgeous and fresh, the class size just enough to enjoy and the ethos behind the organisation clear throughout the day. What a wonderful way to preserve and promote local women artisans in an impoverished part of the world. We'll be heading back there next year hoping to do the 3 day course and stay in what looked like a beautiful villa.
Can't fault this organisation or experience.
x Rebecca, Heath & Wes

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank whereisbeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OPT_Admin, Manager at Ock Pop Tok Living Crafts Centre, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Thanks for such a nice review. We look forward to your return visit and Im sure your family will be very happy in our villa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best place in a month long trip; fantastic”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

An amazing place that was the perfect end to our trip. The accommodation was fantastic with great attention to detail and we loved that each of the 4 rooms (of which we stayed in two) were themed around a specific tribe, and decorated with their textiles/culture in mind. The comfy beds were also a pleasant surprise, especially after a month travelling around South East Asia.

The staff were very welcoming, and the grounds are really well maintained, but it was the views over the Mekong and being able to meet with and watch the weavers at work on site that make this place really stand out. A lovely start the day was eating breakfast overlooking the river and then being able to end the day watching the sunset on the balcony, whilst sipping a Beer Lao. Taking a class at the centre was another highlight and although my husband was initially reluctant to do so we both really enjoyed ourselves. The scarfs included in the price of the class we did also made great presents for people when we got back home.

Some people may be put off because the villa is a bit out of the town, but there are bikes available (about a 10min ride) and the fact that Ock Pop Tok is a little hidden away actually only adds to its charm.Tuk Tuks are easy and cheap and Ock pop Tok provides a shuttle to their shops in the centre.

This was an absolute gem and well worth a visit, either to stay, eat or to spend some time immersing yourself in some of the Laos culture. Highly recommended.


Visited in August 2012.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OPT_Admin, Manager at Ock Pop Tok Living Crafts Centre, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Wow, thanks Mike. Really appreciate you taking the time to write a review and very happy that we could provide you with an excellent stay. We hope to see you again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A "must" visit...”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

The guide book made it sound like you should only go to take a class, but it actually offers a "guided tour" of the story of weaving from silk worms and natural dies to watching young women weaving and there's gorgeous (expensive) things in the shop! Bring money... but if you love textiles, do not miss this place!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank MAChanoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ock Pop Tok Living Crafts Centre also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to Ock Pop Tok Living Crafts Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing