We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Duck by the Bridge”
Review of BBQ by the Bridge

BBQ by the Bridge
Ranked #108 of 201 Restaurants in Luang Prabang
Cuisines: Barbecue, Asian
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome Duck by the Bridge”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Such a friendly place. We went to this restaurant twice in 3 days. It was so good - especially the bbq'd duck and papaya salads. They'll give you a spicy peanut sauce along with a plate of herbs to chew on with the bird. The owner is very friendly and speaks a little English. It's a cheap place to hang out and listen to Laos music while gazing out on the banks of the Nam Khan river. I had a few Beer Laos to wash it all down. It's the rainy season now so we ended up listening to the rain while listening to mind-numbing chilled out Laos tunes. I will definitely come back again!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dudeofhanoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    4
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice local BBQ”
Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

We ate here yesterday and it tasted very good. The vegetables were super fresh and tasty. The duck was well baked and marinated. Great local Lao food!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rudy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good fun while eating”
Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

Have eaten there twice,a year apart.Food fresh and inexpensive.Host was very helpful.Have not had as much fun eating a meal for ages.

Helpful?
Thank BXK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food, friendly owners!”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We originally only stopped there for a beerlao while waiting for the storm to pass, but the bbq smell soon convinced us to try the food. Let's just say that the bbq duck was one of the culinary highlights of our brief stay in Luang Prabang, and that they owners made us feel quite at home! I sincerely hope we'll eat there again sometime.

Thanks again!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WilcoBxl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bohol
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Local hang out with great food”
Reviewed March 18, 2012

This very small restaurant is set on a deck overlooking the river next to the old bridge (now a bike only bridge). No menu so just ask for what is special on the day. We had the BBQ duck and pork and vegetables as a side dish. To find it just look for the smoking BBQ and follow your nose! Left hand side of the road just before the old bridge heading towards the airport.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank OztravelsAust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BBQ by the Bridge also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to BBQ by the Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing