We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent”

Souksavath Guesthouse
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Luang Prabang
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Souksavath Guesthouse
Ranked #173 of 259 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Decent”
Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

Reasonably priced. Good location, very close to the night market and the Mekong river. Internet connection works ok. There's an employee who sleeps in the lobby starting fairly early at night (around 10 or 11), and locks the front door at that point, so it's a little weird to have to wake him up every time (coming and going from the bowling alley - which is the only thing open in LP after 11pm). Overall my friends and I enjoyed our stay here - but if you're picky, then you can probably do better.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacob123321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    5
    1
    2
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
5
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

Try and nab room five, you'll have a balcony looking over street...however other people can also use, make sure you have blinds pulled if youre in your room for privacy! Thought tdhis was good value,on a really nice street just behind joma. Enterprising owner, he had the solutions to all trips we wanted to organize, like renting scooters, booking buses etc. I'm sure you can do more research and book yourself, but I imagine margin is quite small, and for less hassle, we were happy to give our business to the guesthouse. Bathroom fairly standard. By Laos standards,maybe standard a bit higher than other average priced guesthouses. Small, clean bedroom.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank finwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013

We moved here after three nights in LP because our first guesthouse did not have availability when we decided to extend our stay.

The place is located on a cool little street with a bunch of other guesthouse which leads down to the river near the southern end of the night market - a great location.

We looked in pretty much all the guesthouses on the street and chose this one based on value for money - one of the cheapest we saw but with a nice room.

Room was big, with a double and a single bed, bathroom was fine wit hot water and staff were helpful.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JooolsCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
204 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

We read about it in lonely planet and for 150,000 (15€) it was well within budget.
It was easy to find and in a good location as it was in the hub of Luang Prabang.
The room wasn't much but was relatively clean though the bathroom was disgusting as it was grotty and just generally dirty. Another annoyance was the only socket in the room was occupied by the tv.
The bed was ok though seemed a little damp and behind it was filthy (obviously wasn't cleaned in months). They don't service the room daily so don't expect fresh towels. TV had a few English channels (1 movie channel, Australian network, BBC news and 50 Foreign channels!) so we survived! Also the lady of the house had no English but this is not uncommon!
My biggest issue is that we choose this guesthouse because of the free wifi as wifi gives us the freedom to explore the surrounding area while we are staying and when we checked in she gave us the code but unfortunately the wifi didn't work. We were going to stay for 4 nights but checked out after 2! For a clean bed there seems to be better options!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Luang Prabang hotels

Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2012

150.000 dbl room queensized bed, free Wifi, bananas and instant coffee all day. Situated a 100 m outside the night market on a charming little street behind the Jama cafe with many other little guesthouses.
Clean but rather small rooms with good beds. Clean bathroom with open shower, room cleaning when you ask for it does a good job. We didn't try the laundry service but saw it advertised and a washing machine so I guess they don't wash in the river. The best thing about the guesthouse is the very nice and cheerful hotelmanager who speaks English fluently and takes care of any problem immediately. Highly recommended as a really good bargain for budget travellers.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lawsteen1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.0 mi away
Lakhangthong Boutique Hotel
Lakhangthong Boutique Hotel
#22 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sackarinh Guest Room
Sackarinh Guest Room
#155 of 259 in Luang Prabang
3.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#2 of 69 in Luang Prabang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort
Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort
#1 of 1 in Ban Xieng Lom
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 69 in Luang Prabang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#16 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Souksavath Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Souksavath Guesthouse

Property: Souksavath Guesthouse
Address: Houaxieng Village N; 16/01, Luang Prabang, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #173 of 259 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing