We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An eye popping array of produce” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Morning Market

Morning Market
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Linton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
265 reviews
106 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“An eye popping array of produce”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

Some wonderful colours and smells and sights including live frogs and fish - and wierd foods and fruits I'd never tried before. Well worth a look

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank felineluckypunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    80
    18
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
64 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Real market, real sights and smells”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

An authentic produce/food market (more so than Talat Sao in Vientiane) easily accessible with local color. Fresh fish, vege, raw noodles, flowers, cooked breakfasts, the odd snack, craft, old coin, sparrows for release, erm, rodents etc. A plug for the Ramayana Hotel: at breakfast you can take this all in if you sit outside. A cheerful place paced just right: hectic like all Asian markets, yet surprisingly calm. Now more tourists and groups, so it gets crowded a little later.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank LimCCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremerton, Washington
Level Contributor
261 reviews
134 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Exciting Morning Market”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

We gave alms to the monks and immediately walked right over to the surprising Morning Market. I've been to other markets, but this one has a very special "authentic" feel to it, perhaps because we seemed to be the only tourists. I took plenty of pictures, but can remember it clearly without looking at them. Honestly I wish I weren't so fearful of eating something I shouldn't when traveling because this would have been the place for breakfast. Instead we walked back to our hotel for "safe" food. It's best to be careful I suppose.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Mona2446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Real Living Local Market!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

The market is hidden in the alleys on the west of Sisavangvong Rd. in the south of the Royal Palace. All the exotic fresh and cooked food are place along the street; tropical vegetable, local herbs, spices, condiments, asian delicacies, freshwater fish, wide range of domestic meat and games (prepare your mind to see dead/living wildlife be sold as food, it's their lifestyle), strange insects, etc. Also, ready-to-eat breakfast are sold here cheaply with real local taste.

It's so wonderfull to have a walk through the open air market in the morning to observe the way of real local living with a chance to try some real local food rather than sitting in tourist cafe see other tourists pass by.

It's will make your jourmal worth!!!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank SYDBKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
147 reviews
97 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Fascinating! A locals market”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2012

I loved visiting the L.P. Morning Market - it's a very 'local's only' market; I saw hardly any tourists here the two times I visited, it was always bustling with locals buying their fresh foods. What I love about this market is the absolutely amazing array of fresh produce on sale; the interesting animals and strange looking Mekong fish. There is some very interesting street food to be found, and because it's a locals market, they charge local prices. I bought some sticky rice for breakfast one morning for 1,000 kip (usually around 5,000kip at tourist food vendors) and some fruit which was quite cheap too. Its a small alleyway of market vendors, which then turns into a T intersection type market at the end, and there is a lot to see if you give yourself a bit of time to soak it all in.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ForeverTravelingGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Morning Market also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to Morning Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing