We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interact with locals to help their English conversation skills” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Big Brother Mouse

Big Brother Mouse
Ranked #4 of 23 Shopping in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Interact with locals to help their English conversation skills”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

Locals come to Big Brother Mouse to practice English conversation daily from 9-11am & 5-7pm. Attending each evening after a full day of sightseeing was great fun and I had the opportunity to learn a lot about the daily lives of the kids and adults that attend. Each night saw a wide variety of travellers and locals attend - you must do this at least once while in Luang Prabang. Do it your first night as it's so much fun you'll want to keep coming back!!

You may also want to sponsor a book party or buy some of their books as wonderful souvenirs.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerry143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    14
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Well done Aussies”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

This was our second visit to Luang Prabang so we brought a bag of novels with us for the villagers and students. Just spending two hours helping someone does make a difference so please go and volunteer at lest once during your visit to the wonderful place.
Many young monks were at our table all with amazing stories of their determination to be well educated. The times we visited many Australians were assisting and the general consensus was that Aussies were amongst the most frequent visitors to help.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Hawthorne4171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Impressive achievement ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

Visited Big Brother Mouse outside of the reading hours and browsed through the books they had. It was impressive to see the work these people have put in for such an amazing cause. I was overwhelmed and so impressed to see such wonderful work to improve the literacy lives of children and adults. Absolutely worth a visit.

Helpful?
Thank Jessmatt56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best Experience of our Trip!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

We heard about Big Brother Mouse completely by coincidence when in Luang Prabang. Basically BBM provide a space for travellers and locals to meet and talk to help the locals improve their english. Drop in is between 9-11am and 5-7pm. This was really one of the coolest things we did while there. The enthusiasm and drive of a lot of the people we met was inspiring. We also had a good laugh. There tend to be a lot of monks who come round too. so, if you wanted to ask any questions about Monk lifestyles feel free. They are all into learning English.

The site is located just behind the 3 Nagas on the side street. They also organize book parties in villages outside of LP. You can help organise one if you want. Or, you can buy packs of books for their donation box that they will distribute to the locals.

I highly recommend a visit to BBM it was truly a unique experience.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MrPorterBcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful children's books for Laos kids, great way to be a little involved”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

Big Brother Mouse is an amazing and unique organization.They publish a rarety: wonderful and beautifully designed Laotian children's books (they also offer English conversation classes for locals at their bookstore, see other reviews). We stumbled across Big Brother Mouse in Luang Prabang, while getting ready for a weeklong, supported bicycle ride through Northern Laos. With the inspiring help of Sasha, one of the founders of Big Brother Mouse, we ended up purchasing a large number of books. We loaded those into our support vehicle and distributed them along the way to teachers/headmasters at remote village schools and to children that would often gather around us, just to say Hello, on our cycling stops (note: we never experienced children begging in Laos). An unforgettable experience of sharing. I imagine, there are other ways to creatively use Big Brother Mouse books on a vacation trip to Laos. These children are starving for something fun to read.....

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Vagabundierer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Brother Mouse also viewed

Vientiane, Vientiane Province
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
 
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
Vientiane, Vientiane Province
 

Been to Big Brother Mouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing