We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome chance to meet and help some locals trying to learn english.”
Review of Big Brother Mouse

Big Brother Mouse
Ranked #4 of 23 Shopping in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Awesome chance to meet and help some locals trying to learn english.”
Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I went here during our time in luang prabang. We read about it in lonely planet, and being teachers thought it seemed like a great way to help out.

There are 2 times in the day that they run English sessions, 9-11am and 5-7pm. We turned up at 9am but no one was around wanting to learn, unfortunately, so left. We then came back at 5pm. For a while there was more english speakers than Laotians, but after 530 more started to turn up - students in high school, some in college, some learning English outside of school and a few novice monks. The levels of spoken and understood English vary wildly, but most are very keen to learn, to share with you and to learn about you and your life. They appreciate your efforts. It made me realize how crazy the English language is - some words and pronunciations are very hard to explain, especially to one girl who was working her way through a giant Lao-English dictionary!

They also sell books (starting at $1.25) written in Lao or Lao and English. You can donate these for them to give to village children, or you can take them to give as presents on your travels. Many people in Lao have never owned a book so they really appreciate it!

You can also sponsor a book party, where you go with them to deliver books to a whole village. Looks amazing! This charity does great work. Check them out online.

Helpful?
1 Thank Halz84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    15
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

I went there with my seventeen year old daughter - there are not many things teenagers can do with their parents they can get enthusiastic about, but this was one of them. We both really enjoyed talking to a seventeen year old Hmong who was studying to become a policeman. The conversation was interesting, he telling us all about his village and family. He was so grateful being given the opportunity to practice his English language skills.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank travelfox123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Highly Recommend!!”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

I searched out Big Brother Mouse based on other reviews here on TA and was not disappointed!!! The tuk tuk driver did have a hard time finding it but we got there in the end. This is just a local community centre where travelers and locals come together to practice English. I spend 2 sessions here (one morning and one evening of the 2 days I was in LP) chatting with 2 different sets of teenage boys and practicing English with them. Such a great way to connect with local people and contribute and give back in a positive way. This costs nothing to do!!! Go.....do!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank lalford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Language classes”
Reviewed December 22, 2012

We spent about 3 hours one morning at Big brother mouse. We had a fabulous time just talking to the monks and finding out more about their lives. Their english ability was really variable - some were incredibly eloquent and others very basic but all were there as they were so keen. We spent the morning helping with hard words in books, grammar and just general chit chat! A wonderful experience that I couldn't recommend more!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rachel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea County, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Amazing experience! A must-do!!”
Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

What a brilliant charity! Me and my boyfriend bought books to take to Vang Vieng with us to try and distribute to some locals. We also went to the English sessions they hold every day, they run every day at 9-11am and 5-7pm and we had really interesting conversations with various locals.
It is such a fantastic idea- you have an interesting conversation, find out about life in Laos all while helping someone practise their English.
I would recommend everyone who visits Luang Prabang to visit Big Brother Mouse!

Helpful?
Thank Laura E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Brother Mouse also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to Big Brother Mouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing