We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little find by the river!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tha Heua Me Guest House
Ranked #84 of 264 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great little find by the river!”
Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

We literally stumbled across this place after arriving from the airport and taking a short tuk tuk ride into town. We looked at several guesthouses along the river and this was the place we decided to stay - it was so nice we stayed 5 nights instead if 3!

As it was low season in July we got an amazing room rate of 130,000 dong a night for one of the standard sized double rooms. The owner showed me the huge double room facing the river but wanted 200,000 dong for that one. Fantastic value as no one else was staying there - online it was $30 (peak season price) per room so we got a great 'walk in' rate.

The rooms are tastefully decorated, aircon works well there's a fan as well and a TV. Shower in the wet room worked well and had lots of hot water. Room was cleaned everyday and towels and bedding changed every other day. There was free tea/coffee and water available. The owner was friendly (family run joint) and pointed us to where the laundry service was round the corner (only 8,000 per kg) and where to rent bikes (opposite there is a bunch of mountain bikes which I strongly suggest you get if you plan to explore further than just the tourist street as the roads turn into dirt tracks and are very rocky). The agent round the corner also books tours e.g. Kuangsi waterfalls they were very good also were the cheapest for the VIP bus to Vang Vieng & Vientiane. Recommend them!

There's a fantastic restaurant opposite the guesthouse called Lampache. We ate at a lot of places but Lampache was by far the best, good value not expensive but good portions of excellent Lao/Thai and western cuisine. The staff are also really lovely.

Really enjoyed our stay at this guesthouse, easily walkable to all points of interest in town.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TripTommie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    16
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
1
14
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 24, 2013

My brother and I stayed here for five days in July and were extraordinarily happy with our choice. The rooms with air conditioning were a bargain comparatively to other guesthouses in the area, and the wonderful family who owns Tha Heua Me was constantly ensuring that everything was clean and comfortable. It's just a short walk from the bustle of the night market and as well as great restaurants/temples/services, but it's located on a quiet, peaceful road that overlooks the Mekong. We couldn't have asked for much more!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alicial23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

This family run guesthouse is very well located next to the Mekong a close to the main road and royal palace.
Room is very well decorated, bed is big and comfy. Air con is very silent.
A very good option in Luang Prabang!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexia_alessia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

I got room 999, good view facing the river, though i barely got out and viewed the place due to a stomach bug I caught. This is a clean and simple place. No fuss, excellent location, 3 mins walk to the day market and 5mins walk to the night market. Even though the place is central to the happenings, it was not noisy at all. I slept well.

Everything is pretty convenient, restaurants, markets, coffee shops, money changer, temples, everything!

It's probably lacking some warm but since I'm out and about, it's not a big deal.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mic C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

This is a newly refurbished guesthouse directly facing the Mekong river close to the morning and night markets. Alas most of the buildings in the historic area of Luang Prabang have been converted for the tourist trade: Hotels, guest houses, restaurants, coffee shops, travel agencies etc. There is a surplus of accommodation even at peak season. If you pre-book it’s best to get a location map printed before you go as most of the locals did not know where it was, not even the hotel people next door.

The rooms are clean and comfortable with a wall mounted TV and AC, large bathroom with a shower but no bath. There was good wi-fi and free coffee making facilities in the public area.
It’s a small building with only 3 rooms upstairs and 3 downstairs one of which was used by the owner. The upstairs rooms are certainly better with more daylight and privacy. The downstairs rooms are shaded by an overhanging canopy and are next to the computer desk and toilet. The staff are non-professional which is neither good nor bad. It was endearing to see the teenager girl sleeping on a camp bed by the entrance early in the evening whilst doing receptionist/guard duties in pink flannel pyjamas. There are no facilities for a late check-out nor a secure room to lock your travel pack if you wait for a late night departure. They did give me an extra hour’s overstay, but afterwards my bag was kept by the entrance in full view and open to the street.

Opposite the guesthouse are a number of riverside restaurants. The best and most popular by far was a BBQ/ hot pot restaurant with no name. There were about 60 tables each with a central clay stove into which burning coals were placed. The restaurant was always packed and the price decent at 70,000kip for a full buffet of meats, seafood and vegetables plus desserts.

Room Tip: Get a room upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank walkmun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Just left this guesthouse yesterday after 4 nights here. We originally stayed at the Manichan guesthouse which was lovely but a little pricey for us so we moved here. I we had the large double at the front (room 999) which looked over the balcony onto the Mekong. I rooms are stunning. Amazing wooden floors and very new, but so it feels more like a hotel! I great location as only 5 mins walk from the slow boat dock and 5 mins from the night market. We paid 200,000 kip per night. The staff are fine, but they have basic English but we found them friendly. Showers are powerful too which is a nice change! Rooms have free wifi, and new tvs, and air con and fans but the rooms are pretty cool so these are really an added bonus. Beds are huge and soooo comfy! This place felt so chic for the price and we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The balcony looks over the road which the monks go down at 6am which is great. I all the rooms can u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beaversalad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dien Bien Phu, Vietnam
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Stayed her in July ... recently renovated..... we had the room upstairs facing the river.. it was very comfortable.... good wifi TV bed...bathroom and quiet at night. The host people don't speak much English but they try their best to please and it was very affordable.

Room Tip: as I said we had the room facing the river which has a communal balcony ....... there are other smal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NEV T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.0 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#2 of 69 in Luang Prabang
760 reviews
0.0 mi away
Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort
Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort
#1 of 1 in Ban Xieng Lom
238 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#3 of 69 in Luang Prabang
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#17 of 69 in Luang Prabang
265 reviews
0.0 mi away
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
#6 of 69 in Luang Prabang
790 reviews
0.0 mi away
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Luang Prabang View Hotel
#19 of 69 in Luang Prabang
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tha Heua Me Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tha Heua Me Guest House

Property: Tha Heua Me Guest House
Address: Suvannabanlang Road, Luang Prabang, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 264 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tha Heua Me Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family guesthouse in the wonderful city of Luang Prabang, Laos. Conveniently located in the city center near all the major attractions like the night market, the morning market, the Royal Palace and Phousi hill. Directly in front of the Mekong river, you can watch the alm ceremony directly from the patio every morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Tha Heua Me Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing