We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tha Heua Me Guest House
Ranked #84 of 264 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Oslo, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Stay away.”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Booked by phone on basis of good TA reviews. Arrived but noone was there in reception. Waited and waited. There were some ladies talking in Lao over a calculator on the front balcony, but they took no notice of me standing there with bags so i assume they were not affeliated to GH. After 15 minutes one guy arrives and start talking to the arrogant old ladies at the front, then sees me and coming to check me in. I am a humble traveller, never have problems with people, but i politely point out that it is not very good service to keep me waiting there. And I question why the ladies couldnt help me? That is when it happens. The "lovely host" as someone described him below totally get some mental flip and start SCREAMING and pointing with his finger to his head. I obviously wasnt there to make a fuss, and just try to calm down, not shout back, and ask if he is not overreacting a bit? It was just a comment, and I still were going to stay there. But it doesnt help and i imagined if he was a dog, he would have rabies. I decide to leave as I am a man of priciple, and I think if I am nice to people, they should be nice back. Also, tourist industry is about reputation and I cannot think of a reason why this man deserves one single customer. I dont want to contribute to such a idiot, and merely turn around, and leave without saying a word.

After this encounter I am happy that I left, because later I found another guesthouse, a lovely Gem (B B Guesthouse for just 100k kip that had rooms twice as nice). I had agreed on 20 dollar per night in Heua Me. It is low season, and I think its actually a bit overpricing but I guess you pay for the good location. BB is a few minutes away by walking. If that price is still valid in high season i guess its manageble, but I wouldnt pay 25 or 30 dollars for that. After all, it was quite simple.

But the moral of the story is to support all the good places and not the crazy ones. At least until he learns how to behave and that travellers value good manners. Thats why I am suggesting travellers to continue looking. You will have a great time in Luang Prabang though, the place is awesome.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mattias S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    16
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
1
14
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights at the same guest house and found it to be a lovely place located strategically close to all the attractions in Luang Prabang i.e. the night market, the alley where they have the 10,000 kip per person buffet, the Mekong river and the route taken by monks during the morning alms procession. Our hosts were nice, did not speak English but did their best to make us feel comfortable. Breakfast is not included but they provide sachets of coffee and hot water as well as bananas. Free wifi (pretty stable) and quietness that makes USD25 for a double room quite affordable. My suggestion though is for you to walk around the same area and only decide on your guest house after checking and comparing them. There are so many options though this one could just be one of the best ones out there.

Ps: We stayed in room 555.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeautifulFreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2012

We ended up staying here on the recommendation of Peter from Guesthouse Manichan who handles the bookings for the Lao owners.

We stayed in the king room overlooking the Mekong. Bright and spacious with gorgeous wooden floors. I spent an afternoon reading on the balcony with a Beer Lao and watching the sunset. The bed was comfortable and we slept soundly, only on the second night we did hear the temple drums at 4.30am (we stayed for 3 nights).

As mentioned in other reviews, the owners are quite shy and have limited English but are friendly and helpful. We had to ask for an extra blanket as it was unusually cold for Laos and the room had air-con, but no heater and the owners were happy to oblige.

Location is fantastic, everywhere in LP is walkable and there are many restaurants along the Mekong with outdoor seating. The Royal Palace and a number of wats are also close by. The route for the monks' morning alms-giving goes right past the guesthouse.

Breakfast is not included, they do provide coffee and tea, so we had the famous breakfast around the corner at Manichan (USD$5pp). We were intending to eat there just on the first day, but it was so delicious we went back everyday! Peter was good at providing us with maps and information and it was nice to sit and talk with other travellers. If you don't want to eat here, there are plenty of other options close by.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bossythecow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anywhere
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2012

We very much enjoyed our stay here, and we stayed a week changing rooms to the front room mid way.

It is an expensive place to say though and there are cheaper in town, but it had a nice feel and we could not be bothered to move lol.

Only 4* as, for the price, to get 5* "excellent" we think it needed to be better. The loo roll and water was not replaced - we had to help ourselves (assume we were allowed!) - and some maintenance needed doing - light bulb gone in one room; plumbing in the other didn't drain the shower - so seriously 1"+ of water all over the bathroom which didn't drain.

Rooms big, bed huge, and furniture nice. THough we both did get bruises from the bed corners. Doh. Furniture and quality and decor was very good.

None of the complaints were big - just means it didn't deserve 5/5. We would probably go back but would consider some cheaper options as well.

Room Tip: Room 999 bigger and noisier, and no better than the cheaper back rooms as the balcony can be used by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RyanAndMel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2012

This small was recommended to us when our first choice was not available. We were not disappointed. It is situated on the Mekong river front, not far from the ferry landing. It is also within five minutes walk from the morning market.
Our room was very clean, nice wooden floors and ceilings: simply but tastefully decorated. The en-suite bathroom was spacious, modern and clean.
The staff spoke limited English, but they were very attentive and this was not a problem.
Most importantly, it represents extremely good value for money.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Photo131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2012

An experience in a guesthouse of Luang Prabang is a must. The hospitality and the dynamic compared to a hotel are totally different.

First, the city of Luang Prabang is magical. The serenity of the temples, the charm of the narrow walking streets and the simplicity of the habitants create a unique peaceful atmosphere. Just strolling slowly around the peninsula is a pleasure.

Second, the guesthouse where we stayed is located in the city center. We could come back to our room several times during the day since it was close to everything. Furthermore, it is located directly in front of the Mekong River with a superb view on the mountains and the small pirogues crossing the river. On top of that, every morning the monks walk right in front of the balcony for the alm procession. Needless to say, it is an ideal location.

The guesthouse is brand new and we were probably one of the first customers. It is mainly made and decorated with dark wood. It is equipped with air con, hot shower, cable TV, free Wi-Fi, a desk-top computer at your disposal, free coffee and water. Everything was very clean : the room, the bed, the private bathroom and the communal areas.

Our room was on the small side : there is enough space to walk comfortably, but it is a little bit narrow once our personal effects were laid on the floor. The bathroom was big enough.

The contact with the owners is what makes this guesthouse special. The guesthouse is run by a small family of locals. They know everything about Luang Prabang and gave us numbers of recommendations. Their English is limited, but once we got beyond the initial shyness, we had memorable discussions on the balcony. The owner told us that many visitors came to Luang Prabang once, and decided to come back permanently. He wanted to make sure that we enjoy Luang Prabang. We could really feel his genuine sincerity and honesty. His wife even took the time to show us the neighborhood by walking.

We will be back to Luang Prabang and to Tha Heua Me !

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.0 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#2 of 69 in Luang Prabang
760 reviews
0.0 mi away
Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort
Zen Namkhan Boutique Resort
#1 of 1 in Ban Xieng Lom
238 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#3 of 69 in Luang Prabang
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#17 of 69 in Luang Prabang
265 reviews
0.0 mi away
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
#6 of 69 in Luang Prabang
790 reviews
0.0 mi away
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Luang Prabang View Hotel
#19 of 69 in Luang Prabang
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tha Heua Me Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tha Heua Me Guest House

Property: Tha Heua Me Guest House
Address: Suvannabanlang Road, Luang Prabang, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 264 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tha Heua Me Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family guesthouse in the wonderful city of Luang Prabang, Laos. Conveniently located in the city center near all the major attractions like the night market, the morning market, the Royal Palace and Phousi hill. Directly in front of the Mekong river, you can watch the alm ceremony directly from the patio every morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Tha Heua Me Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing