We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect and warm service in a brand new structure”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Phone Praseuth Guesthouse
Ranked #3 of 267 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 20, 2013

I was twice in this guest house on January-February 2013. The second time I returned here thanks to the positve experience of the first time. The building is brand new but at the same time has a strong character with all the wooden floors, stairs and porch. Rooms are spacious and clean. But the best thing is the fantastic attitude of the owner who is really interested to help visitors and to talk to them, giving a special flavour to your stay. He helped me a lot in many occasions beyond his standard duty.
Not to forget the efficient and nice boy at the reception.Good brakfast as well. A place I strongly recommend.
The way to the city center via the bamboo bridge (just a few minutes walk) adds a bit of exotic taste to the location.
However consider that is not suitable to elder people due to high steps up and down.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eightwinds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (647)
There are newer reviews for Phone Praseuth Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

376 - 382 of 647 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2013

The guesthouse is absolutely stunning and the rooms are kept clean and immaculate. The furniture is a beautiful stained wood and the room has clean towels, hot shower, great a/c and very comfortable beds. The host Mr. Kamphong was very lovely and helpful whenever we had questions. Location was great for us as it was a bit away from all the tourists, and we made great use of the free bicycles to get around (they were by far the best maintained bikes we'd used in all our travels in Asia). Only thing that could have helped was a bit more of an introduction to Luang Prabang when we arrived (e.g. map, recommendations on what to do/eat). This place is very peaceful and quiet and would have no qualms recommending. Excellent value for what you pay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Our stay at this guesthouse was so relaxing. Mr Kham and his staff were truly amazing. We originally planned to stay 3 nights ended up staying 6 and would have loved to have stayed longer. Our walk across the bamboo bridge each day was enjoyable (I had read it was probably not for anyone old - we are not young and it was no problem, yes a few stairs but not hard work). The rooms are all exceptionally clean and serviced daily. Breakfast is great, more than we could eat most days. If you want a guesthouse close to everything but away from the hustle, bustle and noise then this is the guesthouse for you.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank RossJudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We stayed at the Phone Praseuth for five nights and very much enjoyed our stay. It's a lovely guesthouse, very clean, nice quite big rooms and the owner and his team are incredibly helpful and just so nice. The guesthouse is located across the river from Luang Prabang but in the dry season it's just a few minutes walk into town crossing by the bamboo bridge (5000 Kip / person / day). We enjoyed staying in a quieter part of town, therefore the location was perfect for us.
Breakfast is great and plenty, baguette, eggs, fresh fruit, juice, tea and coffee (only instant unfortunately). Wifi worked very well. The free pick-up from the bus station on our arrival was greatly appreciated!! The owner also organized a good motobike for us (130000 Kip for 24 hours) as well as transport to Vang Vieng. There are two really good restaurants just a few steps from the guesthouse: Dyen Sabai and Phan Luang. The only thing which we would have appreciated on top are mosquito nets or screens in our room. And take some earplugs as there are rooster (very morning active) everywhere around Luang Prabang ;).
We had a fantastic stay and hope to return. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: We enjoyed having a room on the second floor.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flauschipoohbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

This was the obvious place to stay on returning to Luang Prabang after an equally commendable Nagi of the Mekong 2 day river trip from Huay Xai on the Thai/Laos border. The guesthouse warrants all the excellent reviews it receives. It is relatively new and immaculately maintained. Rooms are simple with fans and AC and solid teak floors and ceilings. It is very close to the historic centre of town via a very scenic bamboo bridge and steep climb on either side that is lit at night. The excellent Dyen Sabai restaurant is steps away enroute to the bamboo bridge and there is also very good pizza close by.

Take one of the guesthouse bikes for an wider exploration of the town or to the large swimming pool, bar and deck La Pistoche (get a map from the affiliated Dyen Sabai restaurant).

Everything else has already been said. Good filling breakfast cooked to order, lovely welcoming staff, comfy rooms and bed, very good wifi and a host who goes out of his way to be helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Phone Praseuth Guesthouse is located across the bamboo bridge from the heart of Luang Prabang...an unknown gift we came to cherish as we walked the bamboo bridge each morning and evening, with quiet time to get ready for, and reflect, on the day. The staff is so helpful. The room was beautifully teaked and comfortable. Breakfast was delicious and a nice start to the day in the quiet, small courtyard. When it came time to leave, the owner even drove us to the airport, free of charge, a nice treat and good sendoff :)

Be sure to participate in the LOCAL alms. Ask the Guesthouse to open the gate early for you (or scale the fence, as we did ;) ), take a blanket and some packaged foods, cross the street and sit with the village women, and enjoy the quiet procession of monks...be sure to listen as they chant after their procession...it will warm your heart forever! DO NOT TAKE ANY PHOTOS OF THIS EXPERIENCE.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy K M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Just crossed the bamboo bridge , five minuts walk to the main road, in quiet area, You feel at home in this hotel. Very nice and CLEAN rooms and bathrooms, with a pleasant common area where you can relax. We stayed three times in three different rooms and all were the same standard. Close to the hotel you can find the best pizza in town and another very good restaurant. The Owner and all the staff are very friendly and is very nice to spend time chatting with the owner. Enjoy your stay !

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Raffaella V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.1 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#18 of 68 in Luang Prabang
269 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#3 of 68 in Luang Prabang
814 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
#14 of 68 in Luang Prabang
883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Villa Meuang Lao
Villa Meuang Lao
#34 of 68 in Luang Prabang
215 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel
#8 of 68 in Luang Prabang
706 reviews
0.6 mi away
Thongbay Guesthouse
Thongbay Guesthouse
#1 of 267 in Luang Prabang
976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phone Praseuth Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phone Praseuth Guesthouse

Address: Unit 7 346, Old Bridge | Ban Phanluang, Luang Prabang, Laos
Phone Number:
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 267 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range: $29 - $40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Phone Praseuth Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Phone Praseuth Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing