We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money and friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Phone Praseuth Guesthouse
Ranked #3 of 266 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 13, 2013

As it is just 15 mins from Luang Prabang airport, the owner of this guesthouse will provide free pickup to and fro transfer. They provide decent breakfast. A few bicycles are available for free for guests to cycle around town. The owner and his staff are friendly and ever willing to assist in case you need advise on places to dine or to visit. Laundry service available at reasonable charge. Every morning at around 6am, the unique rituals of giving alms to the monks is right in front of this guesthouse.
The guesthouse is situated across the river from the town center, which takes about a 15 mins walk and across a bamboo bridge ( which is quite an experience itself ). No swimming pool and no gym.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tigerchia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (647)
There are newer reviews for Phone Praseuth Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

390 - 396 of 647 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2013

We spend 5 nights in this hotel and enjoyed our time very much. The rooms are very nice with a good big bed. Very clean. Nice bathroom with hot shower. The staff is really friendly and helpful.
The hotel is located on the opposite side of the Nam Kee River to the city center (Nearby the Dyen Sabai Restaurant). If you cross the bamboo bridge you reach the city center in 5 Min by foot. This side is very quiet without many tourists. If you get up very early, you can see the monks walking by directly in front of this hotel without the usual tourist flashing their cameras in the monks faces. Really nice and spiritual to see!
Bicycles are available for free for the hotel guests.
Only the breakfast is a bit disapointing. It´s good food, but you don´t have much choice and after a few days you can´t see eggs no more.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lilahk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

If this property was on the opposite side of the bamboo bridge it would probably cost ten dollars more.

Yes, the room at 20m2 with large furniture within it is 'cosy' but there is everything in the room that you need and you can place your rucksacks on top of the wardrobe to save space.

Yes, the shower is above the toilet, but this has been done to keep all the plumbing in one place and we didn't find it a negative just a bit of an oddity.

Yes, wifi is a little slow and we couldn't get Facebook / Skype etc, but we managed to get these in town (try the Scandinavian Bakery) so, again, no problem for us.

The breakfast options were good - they offered the usual choice of eggs, toast and noodle or rice soup (you had to pre-order the noodle soup the day before which wasn't a problem for us).

There were plenty of places within the building to relax, read, etc.

There are free bicycles for guests to use and the owner will organise motorbike hire, bus tickets etc at a very good price.

Our only negative comment was that on one occasion our laundry came back marked - it looked like my wife's shorts and my t-shirt were accidentally bleached with the hotel towels. The owner was extremely apologetic and even offered to pay for replacements which, I thought, was very honest of him. We didn't take him up on his kind offer but we didn't pay for the laundry.

We would return to the hotel and are happy to recommend it to others.

And, a good restaurant tip, try the Pizza at the English School, just round the corner from the guesthouse. The pizzas are fantastic and it saves a walk into town.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Woodbutcha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

If you want to escape crowds and have a good rest in the evening and look for really quiet place in Luang Prabang and, at the same time, in just 10min walk from town center; if you look for not so expensive but very clean and good place, you can choose this Guesthouse without any hesitations. Crossing Namkhan river by Bamboo bridge was our everyday's fun, but you need to check Bridge situation with Guesthouse for it exists only in dry season. Guesthouse owner Mr. Kamphone is an easygoing, pleasant man with a very interesting background. Place is very relaxing.

Room Tip: Rooms facing backyard are quieter and have better view.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luchkin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We stayed here over Christmas. The room was nothing special but fine. There was a bit of wear and tear in the bathroom which seemed to have gone unnoticed by the cleaning staff but fine other than that. It was clean. The breakfast was good and it was great having free bike hire - the bikes were brand new and in excellent condition. When we arrived, we were told that there had been a mix up and the travel agency we had booked through had double booked. The owner was very apologetic about this (it was not his fault) and had arranged, at his own expense, alternative accommodation for our last night. While we were not happy about having to move, this was not his fault (we took it up with the travel agency) and the owner made it as easy as possible. We would recommend this place. It's in a great location, just across the bamboo bridge. It took us less than 10 minutes to walk from the guesthouse to the main street.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonGirl27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Overall this guesthouse is a good option in Luang Prabang.
Pro's: Comfortable beds, decent breakfast, excellent free bikes (really comfy saddles and much better than the rusty ones that can be rented in the main town)
Con's: The giant king-size bed is great but it's far too big for the room, leaving little space for our rucksacks. The shower head is positioned above the toilet seat when there is plenty of room to position it on the opposite side of the bathroom. It is a little outside of town - it was fine for us as a couple but I don't think I'd have liked the walk home in the dark if I was a single female. It is also more expensive to get a tuk-tuk here from the bus station than to the main town. Wifi only worked in reception areas and not in our room.
We stayed in a different guesthouse on our return visit to Luang Prabang.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoisinH_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed here several nights on both ends of a trip north to trek near Muang Ngoi.

Like many reviewers, I feel there are many positives: comfortable beds, filling breakfast, friendly host, free bikes, and great rates compared to what we found in the main city.

We also experienced several negatives: our rooms weren't cleaned regularly/daily and for no logical reason (bathroom, t.p. and soap - making the bed and changing towels aren't really issues for us), the friendly host wanted to charge us MORE than we booked for through a booking website, t.v. reception is bad, rooms are on the small side and dark, shower head is literally mounted above the toilet.

A few other things worth mentioning: the bamboo bridge isn't as scary as the stairs leading to it; the walk into town isn't that long at all; their laundry service is slightly more expensive than we found in town, but our clothes smell great now.

Overall, the positives outweighed the negatives, but anyone booking here should know it isn't perfect.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brand763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.1 mi away
Villa Ban Lakkham
Villa Ban Lakkham
#18 of 68 in Luang Prabang
271 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#2 of 68 in Luang Prabang
816 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
Lotus Villa Boutique Hotel
#14 of 68 in Luang Prabang
883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 68 in Luang Prabang
771 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa Meuang Lao
Villa Meuang Lao
#34 of 68 in Luang Prabang
215 reviews
0.6 mi away
Thongbay Guesthouse
Thongbay Guesthouse
#1 of 266 in Luang Prabang
976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phone Praseuth Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phone Praseuth Guesthouse

Address: Unit 7 346, Old Bridge | Ban Phanluang, Luang Prabang, Laos
Phone Number:
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 266 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range: $30 - $40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Phone Praseuth Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Phone Praseuth Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing