We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fun!”

The Living Land Company
Book In Advance
More Info
$118.00*
and up
Full-Day Luang Prabang Rural Farm Experience
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Spend a morning on ourLIVING RICE FARM,Come and let us show you how rice is grown on our farm, experience the life of a farmer and try your hand at some of the activities. Or just view it all from the comfort of our traditional Lao rice house balcony, which is surrounded by rice terraces and our organic vegetable farm. All the family can join in and there are great photo opportunities. Our converted rice barn offers simple but comfortable accommodation for two, overlooking rice fields and mountains. Relax on the terrace and sample some of our home-brewed rice wine, walk to the ruined temple through our rice farm, be pampered with a massage then have afternoon tea, visit the local weavers who make our farm outfits before joining our farm family for a game of petanque or rattan ball! Watch or join in the preparation of the Lao dinner then dine with our farm family before you retire for the night (maybe after a Beer Lao or two?). Wake up to a brand new day and a typical Lao breakfast before joining the Rice Experience for the morning
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great fun!”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Recommended to us by our tour guide, we booked a half day tour here. It was great fun! From being met with a hat to going knee-deep in mud, to pressing and tasting cane sugar, we all got a chance to try every activity. Our tour guide was great fun and explained everything very well. Although we felt it was a little pricey, compared to other activities in the area, it was definitely worth it.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Naomi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    518
    39
    7
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bend, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“GENUINE AND UNFORGETTABLE”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

In the past year we have had the opportunity to travel around Asia and participate in a number of memorable experiences and tours. The morning we spent at the Living Land Farm tops the list without question. No other experience we have had has allowed us the access, hands-on opportunity and genuine authenticity to spend a few hours connecting with a way of life so different from our own.

The Living Land Company is about as far from a tourist trap as you can get. Mr. Lee and Phongsaven are passionate about their farm, their people and sharing their knowledge and love of rice and organic farming with others. The educational experience they lead you through step by step is informative, non-intimidating and entertaining.

At one point during our morning we had the opportunity to sit and watch local people create beautiful bamboo baskets. We thought that at the end of our session we would be paraded through a gift shop with some pressure to buy, as with the majority of tours we have been on in our travels. This was not the case at Living Land. Instead they gave us a few small weavings and expected absolutely nothing in return. With the warmth, authenticity and personal connection we felt during our entire experience, this was actually one time when we would have clamored at the opportunity to support them by purchasing some of their beautiful products.

The Living Land Farm has a website where they offer the opportunity to support the farm and their mission through donations. We will definitely do this as a thank you for a truly unforgettable adventure for our family.

If you want to enjoy your time at the Living Land Farm to the fullest be sure to wear clothes you can get dirty. You will spend an hour or so in and out of water and deep mud. Do not worry about what shoes to wear. You will remove them at the beginning of the morning and leave them off until your departure. Because you are in and out of water and mud, you may want to include a waterproofing option for your camera. The scenery is outstanding and photo opportunities are abundant.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank BENDABROAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't hesitate, do it!”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

It is an alternative excursion where you get to know the daily life of a Laotian in an original, muddy way. Be prepared to get dirty and have fun. Laut, the tour farmer, is an excellent communicator and entertainer, you could say he is the Jack Sparrow of Laos. This half-day excursion is definitely worth every minute!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LennertAppeltant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Inspiring Passion”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

I was taken for a visit here by Amantaka who can run cooking schools in this sublime rural setting looking out over organic vegetables and rice fields with a necklace of mountains all around. I have visited quite a number of these sorts of projects in SE Asia, but have rarely been so touched as I was by the enthusiasm of Sialee and his brother Lautlee who run the project. 2 of nine children born to an illiterate Hmong mother who does not speak Laotian and a father who cannot write, these beautiful guys have both gained post secondary qualifications, in IT and in teaching.
Yet they choose to live this project with such passionate enthusiasm. Running just 7 years, the project supports 7 families and provides sticky rice to many more. You can engage with them in all aspects of growing rice, and they have much to teach and do it so generously: this is a wonderful insight into Laotian life and the challenges they still face.
One of the issues they are still overcoming is the ability to save their own seed. At the outset most of what was available to them was hybridised vegetable seeds from China that cannot be saved as they will not grow true to type. They would value tremendous support from people who can send them non hybridised or heritage seeds from reliable seed banks. What they do grow is purchased by some of the more enlightened and committed chefs and restaurants in Luang Prabang who wish to use as much organic produce as is possible.
This is a must do!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MariekesAoL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A must-do!”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

If you only have time to do one activity in LP, it must be this one!!! This experience is hilarious, fun, informative, interesting, and one of the best tourist activities I have done. Families and children will love it, and Lee is a fabulous guide! His English is great and he can answer every question you have about rice and farming in Laos. What a great activity and I cannot recommend this enough. Not many places offer an experience where you can wade through mud behind a buffalo, so much fun!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire5578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Living Land Company also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to The Living Land Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing