We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't hesitate, do it!”

The Living Land Company
Book In Advance
More Info
$118.00*
and up
Full-Day Luang Prabang Rural Farm Experience
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Spend a morning on ourLIVING RICE FARM,Come and let us show you how rice is grown on our farm, experience the life of a farmer and try your hand at some of the activities. Or just view it all from the comfort of our traditional Lao rice house balcony, which is surrounded by rice terraces and our organic vegetable farm. All the family can join in and there are great photo opportunities. Our converted rice barn offers simple but comfortable accommodation for two, overlooking rice fields and mountains. Relax on the terrace and sample some of our home-brewed rice wine, walk to the ruined temple through our rice farm, be pampered with a massage then have afternoon tea, visit the local weavers who make our farm outfits before joining our farm family for a game of petanque or rattan ball! Watch or join in the preparation of the Lao dinner then dine with our farm family before you retire for the night (maybe after a Beer Lao or two?). Wake up to a brand new day and a typical Lao breakfast before joining the Rice Experience for the morning
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't hesitate, do it!”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

It is an alternative excursion where you get to know the daily life of a Laotian in an original, muddy way. Be prepared to get dirty and have fun. Laut, the tour farmer, is an excellent communicator and entertainer, you could say he is the Jack Sparrow of Laos. This half-day excursion is definitely worth every minute!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LennertAppeltant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    518
    39
    7
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Inspiring Passion”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

I was taken for a visit here by Amantaka who can run cooking schools in this sublime rural setting looking out over organic vegetables and rice fields with a necklace of mountains all around. I have visited quite a number of these sorts of projects in SE Asia, but have rarely been so touched as I was by the enthusiasm of Sialee and his brother Lautlee who run the project. 2 of nine children born to an illiterate Hmong mother who does not speak Laotian and a father who cannot write, these beautiful guys have both gained post secondary qualifications, in IT and in teaching.
Yet they choose to live this project with such passionate enthusiasm. Running just 7 years, the project supports 7 families and provides sticky rice to many more. You can engage with them in all aspects of growing rice, and they have much to teach and do it so generously: this is a wonderful insight into Laotian life and the challenges they still face.
One of the issues they are still overcoming is the ability to save their own seed. At the outset most of what was available to them was hybridised vegetable seeds from China that cannot be saved as they will not grow true to type. They would value tremendous support from people who can send them non hybridised or heritage seeds from reliable seed banks. What they do grow is purchased by some of the more enlightened and committed chefs and restaurants in Luang Prabang who wish to use as much organic produce as is possible.
This is a must do!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MariekesAoL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A must-do!”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

If you only have time to do one activity in LP, it must be this one!!! This experience is hilarious, fun, informative, interesting, and one of the best tourist activities I have done. Families and children will love it, and Lee is a fabulous guide! His English is great and he can answer every question you have about rice and farming in Laos. What a great activity and I cannot recommend this enough. Not many places offer an experience where you can wade through mud behind a buffalo, so much fun!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire5578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
362 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“"Must do" in Luang Prabang”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

This is an amazing experience - and unlike anything else in Laos. The farm is gorgeous with traditional houses and a lovely outlook to the mountains. We were the only 2 on the tour and Laut Lee showed us all the steps from ploughing the rice paddy and planting to cooking and eating! Getting into a rice paddy with a water buffalo, planting rice, harvesting, winnowing and husking the rice is quite an experience. There is also an organic vegetable garden that supplies a lot of hotels and restaurants in Luang Prabang. Laut Lee provided great explanations of each step and answered all our questions. He speaks great English.The feast of rice products at the end is delicious and you can try rice wine as well.. Highly recommended.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Go55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Travelled for 5 months, best day trip we've done!!!”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

I cannot speak more highly of The Living land. We decided to do it after reading reviews and speaking to our guesthouse. Our guesthouse booked it for us the day before, and we were lucky enough to be the only two people booked on the tour. They really show you how the real people live as rice farmers in Laos and the every day struggles. They take you through all the different steps of rice farming, and you can try your hand at the activities. This is perfect for ALL ages. It's the most real tour I've ever been on. They use the tourist money to support their community with things like medical costs. It's a great place to learn and to contribute! Don't change Living Land, you are perfect the way you are!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank kateshev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Living Land Company also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to The Living Land Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing