We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Save
Book In Advance
In high demand - travelers recommend booking ahead!
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
translated by Google
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Luang Prabang
from $68.00
More Info
Reviews (696)
Filter reviews
587 results
Traveler rating
539
42
4
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
539
42
4
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rice farming water buffalo sugar cane juice laut lee sticky rice organic farm paddy fields growing process eating rice english classes all ages enjoyable morning traditional methods learn how learning experience morning tour great morning
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 587 reviews
Reviewed today via mobile

They took us through 13 stages of rice production - hands on and as muddy as the kids wanted - finishing with a nice snack of all the delicious rice we worked so hard to (germinate/plough/sow/harvest/dry/thresh/winnow/bran remove/winnow again/mill/cook.) I might be missing one. Great day out in the countryside but not only about 20 mins from town.

Thank hedgie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago

Marc and his Team do contribute to the local farming community while opening the doors to a stunning rice and food experience in Laos. Not only that you support this community with your visit, you will get to know how tough it is to grow rice in 13 steps. Those 13 steps are compressed to you in a 2 hours wonderful physical experience together with local farmers. On top you relax while having a great view on mountains and rice fields. No mass tourism at all. Very family friendly experience.

Thank Homborg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had a fantastic morning learning and doing the different stages of rice farming. Such a simple interactive day

Thank Worldwidediner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My 11 yr old daughter and I thoroughly enjoyed our visit and we learnt lots about rice! Our hotel booked the visit and we were picked up and delivered back.

Thank Penny K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Very informative half day trip. Kids loved trying out all the steps of rice harvesting.
A good set up and lunch was lovely too. Would recommend this.

Thank tahrinarussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had a fun morning at Livingland Lao Farm! We booked directly with them through emailing the email on the website. Ms Loth came back to me within a few hours (might take longer during peak season so book early).

We were picked up by tuk tuk and driven a short 20mins or so to the farm.

From the moment we arrived we were welcomed by our friendly guide who spoke excellent English. We had one guide to about 8 people. He took us through every step of the rice cultivation journey, from ploughing the field (which we all got stuck in the mud literally to have a go) all the way through to eating the sticky rice at the end. (We didn’t pay for the lunch option but you still got some yummy rice snacks at the end of the experience). The guide was very informative and fun throughout. He took his time, making sure everyone who wanted a go at something got the chance, planting, threshing etc. We also got a short demonstration in bamboo weaving.

I was kindly invited back to farm that evening to teach 2 of the free English classes the guides at farm runs for local children. It was a wonderful experience and great way of giving back to the community.

Thank you for a lovely time!!

Thank Shirley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2018

Very good experience on how rice grain is cultivated, especially for young children, will be something interesting for them.

Thank MIKEWONG1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2018 via mobile

The Living Land Company rice tour was fascinating and very hands on. I was unsure whether my children aged 6 & 9 would like it, but they absolutely loved it! It’s very interactive and the guide allows participants to get involved as much as they want to. Plus, the lunch is excellent and scenery stunning.

Thank Bristravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2018 via mobile

What a fab day learning about rice farming and actually doing it. From ploughing in the muddy field to planting, harvesting and preparing for cooking.

I'm terrified of snakes and wasn't keen to go bare foot around the paddy fields or in the mud etc but I can honestly say I didn't see anything scary at all and was so glad I interacted. We then had lunch which was a banquet and very tasty. The farm is in beautiful surroundings and has lovely gardens.
It also has lockers to store valuables when you are out in the paddy fields. The guide was so nice and took lots of pictures on everyone's phones / cameras so everything was captured.

Definately recommend this. We only did a half day which was enough.

1  Thank lakes tarns n f... m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2018 via mobile

We stayed overnight with the Living Land Company.

We were made to feel incredibly welcome, and the first night taking a cooking class and teaching English was both fun and rewarding. The accommodation was humble but comfortable with an incredible view

The second day we joined with the day tour. It's a really hands on experience, with great insight on how such a staple food is made. Big shout out to Den - he was amazing!

1  Thank DanF2701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews