We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Give cooking a try”

Tamarind Cooking Courses
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tamarind Restaurant in Luang Prabang offers day and evening cooking classes in open air pavilions overlooking lily ponds just outside of town. Participants in day classes are taken there after a visit to the fascinating main market, where they are introduced to the unusual and intriguing ingredients that are the basis of Lao cuisine. From there it is off to Tamarind Gardens to cook Lao dishes in the authentic Lao style. Evening classes are shorter. Individual work stations allow you to follow the instructions of an entertaining and informative Lao teacher, whilst a bevy of staff clean up after you. The sessions end with a sumptuous meal, where you eat the fruits of your labours! Transport to and from Tamarind Restaurant and recipe book all included. Vegetarians welcome.
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Give cooking a try”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

If you feel inclined to try your hand at cooking Laos food Tamarind is the school to go to. I did a class in Thailand last year so was keen to try one in Laos and I'm glad I picked Tamarind.

We meet at the restaurant then went off in tuk tuk to the market then about 30minutes out of town to the cooking school. At the end of the day we were taken back to the restuarant.

Jai our teacher was a very funny man and not only gave us a great lesson but entertained us throughout the day. There were 11 of us in the class from all parts of the world, some not with great English but the explanations were very clear for everyone to understand.

We cooked four dishes then sat down it eat what we had prepared and share our experience of the day - everyone agreed it was a great day.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank GayleS6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    385
    65
    14
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Experience, Highly Recommended”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Expected a good experience from reviews, but it was even better than expected.
Joy conducted our class of six (there were six no shows that morning). He did an excellent job walking us through each recipe accommodating my vegetarian preference (with tofu usually) and lots of questions.

The end result was a very filling lunch and a few recipes that can easily be repeated at home. There were two recipes in particular that would be impressive to serve to friends and family when you go home (one stuffed in lemongrass, the other in a banana leaf)

Book early, they do fill up

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank GoingAwayFT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontevedra, Spain
Level Contributor
110 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Beautiful place and fun activity”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We did several cooking courses during our trip in indochina and all of them where more or less the same. This one in turn had a beautiful location, and the dinner after cooking was really nice.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Simon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great cooking experience”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Really enjoyed the cooking course starting with the visit to the local market where the instructor explained the various herbs and vegetables and we got to taste some local snacks.
Then we travelled by tuk tuk to an out of town location for the cooking class - a quite idyllic setting - only 20 minutes away but peaceful and beautiful.
There were two vegetarians in the group and they were well catered for as well as the carnivores.
We had to choose our individual ingredients from the table and work to chop and prepare them for our meals which gave a much greater sense of achievement than other cooking classes I have taken where the ingredients are presented ready chopped in little bowls.
The kitchen was clean and well organised and there were two instructors on hand to support when needed.

One word of warning - if you're paying in any currency other than Lao kip check the exchange rate. When we were there it was much less attractive than the rate you get at the exchange booths in the street.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Glenys P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting, service and food”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

This was a great day for myself and my 5 travelling companions. The day was booked by our hosts at Manichan Guesthouse and we met in the morning at the Tamarind Resturaunt and were taken out to a beautiful rural setting on the banks of a stream. Our chef for the day, Chai, had a great sense of humour and really knew is stuff. We prepared 4 courses, 3 mains and a dessert, in open-air pavillions set between 2 large ponds. The Laos people really love their herbs and spices and we had plenty to choose from on this day. There was too much food for some of us but I asked what happened to the leftover food and was told that it was fed to the chickens and pigs. I wondered what happened when a chook ate chilli and Chai laughed and said it was sometimes very funny. Some chickens like chilli but some really don't. Chai told me that the setting for the class was supposed to be an ideal Laos farm with fish in the ponds, chickens running around & neatly layed out vegetable beds.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mausy35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tamarind Cooking Courses also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to Tamarind Cooking Courses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing