We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“right on the mekong river”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Victoria Xiengthong Palace
Ranked #15 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Mission Viejo, California
Level Contributor
250 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“right on the mekong river”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

nice location in this relatively small town. as with all of the nicer hotels in these parts (Thailand, Laos, Cambodia), the service is fantastic. every morning the monks (mostly novices, ie <20yrs old) pass by for alms. the tourists line the streets to give them food provided by the locals. it's very interesting. we were able to watch the proceedings from our balcony on the morning that we did not participate. the room was clean and each night they come in to turn down the bed. we happened to be in the room on one occasion and it was very cute to watch. the people are so nice. they have bicycles to rent at a whopping $3 per day! great way to meander around the town taking in all of the life.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank al g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria Xiengt... H, General Manager at Victoria Xiengthong Palace, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear al g,

Sabaidee! Greetings from Victoria Xiengthong Palace!

Thank you for having shared your comments about your recent stay at our property with our future visitors. It is a pleasure to read you enjoyed your time in Luang Prabang, and also to read your feedback regarding our team.

Indeed our bicycles are for rent at a price, being really special bicycles handmade with bamboo rather than metal. Luang Prabang, as you say, is a wonderful city to cycle - or just walk - around enjoying the local life.

I look forward to having the chance of welcoming you back soon if your future travel plans take you again to Laos.

Best regards,

Guillermo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    82
    20
    4
    1
See reviews for
64
173
38
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

This is a well looked after and carefully preserved boutique hotel. We stayed for a couple of nights, enjoying Christmas Day in this fascinating city.

The hotel is an ex palace as the name suggests and has been lovingly restored to give a wonderful glimpse of its former glory. The rooms are spacious and well planned, with amenities abound. The staff are amazing and very keen to help you get the most of your stay. We had a problem with a lack of hot water and the manager promptly ensured that our stay was not impacted by moving us to another room.

The restaurant overlooks the Mekong River and the quality of the food is as good as you could enjoy in a large city. The hotel is also yards away from the Wat which houses the most amazing architecture and that coupled with the monks who walk by for their morning alms makes this a place to cherish and remember very fondly.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank rkgkrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria Xiengt... H, General Manager at Victoria Xiengthong Palace, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear rkgkrk,

Sabaidee! Greetings from Victoria Xiengthong Palace!

Thank you for your review and comments about your stay, I am glad to read you enjoyed Christmas with us as well as the comments about the hotel team. I regret the inconvenience with hot water during these remarkably and unexpectedly freezing days in Luang Prabang, but I am delighted to see you were satisfied with your second apartment.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future, shall you decide to return to lovely Luang Prabang,

Guillermo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Food average, service average, food ok. Bad luck for us, we got a room looking just towards opposite room..So we could not keep even curtains open. Staff was friendly, breakfast among the terrace-restaurant had nice atmosfere with Mekong river. Somehow i was generally disappointed.

Room Tip: Room looking towards Mekong river, second floor. People walking at staircase wake you surely up at f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank db02182014i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria Xiengt... H, General Manager at Victoria Xiengthong Palace, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear akikai,

Sabaidee! Greetings from Victoria Xiengthong Palace!

I thank you for your review on our property and I appreciate you took the time to share your thoughts with the online community. It is sad to read we were not up to your expectations, however your feedback does not really help nor gives us indications for improvement, and I understand it comes to a matter of taste on which there is little we can do. Also, I regret this dissatisfaction was not mentioned while chatting with you during your stay.

Still, I must disagree with your statement that rooms not overlooking the Mekong are not worth paying. Three of our rooms face the street on which one can see the monks every morning as they collect alms from the locals on the "tak bath" traditional procession. Even this can be witnessed from two of our Xiengthong Villas, while other rooms face the gardens and reflecting pond, receiving nice comments from our guests.

I have noticed you rated as average the Xiengthong Temple as well, so I regret you did not appreciate fully Luang Prabang or the destination may have not been up to your likes, as so it seems to be with your other reviews in other destinations, so I wish you will enjoy your future trips a bit more.

With best regards and all the best wishes from the hotel team for 2014,

Guillermo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Great hotel in a very quiet and beautiful area of Luang Prabang. The rooms are beautifully decorated and well equiped, with very comfortable beds and great bathrooms. The restaurant serves really nice food with good prices and all accompanied by excellent staff. A wonderful choice that I would definitely recommend to anyone going to Luang Prabang.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarVM2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria_Xiengthong, General Manager at Victoria Xiengthong Palace, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Dear CarVM2013,

Sabaidee! All the best for the upcoming New Year from Victoria Xiengthong Palace!

Thank you for your review, I am delighted to read you enjoyed your stay in our property back in August, and pleased to inform you that the hotel is integrating now the Victoria Hotels & Resorts group, a collection of boutique properties that draw from colonial & cultural heritage at the most unique destinations of Vietnam, Cambodia and, of course, beautiful and lovely Luang Prabang in Laos.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you back in the near future if ever your travel plans drive you again to this part of the world.

Best regards,

Guillermo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We've stayed 4 nights in this beautiful hotel and I already recommended it to all my friends going to Asia. Being greeted directly by the GM Mr. Bastarrica and his well trained staff were outstanding. they definitely were part of the success of our stay.
The room we had was very comfortable with outstanding view, overlooking the Mekong river.
given the humidity and temperature, i was expecting a lot from the A/C but it was perfect.
Having breakfast on the terrace was a must as well.
For sure this is the place to go when traveling to Luang Prabang !
Congratulations to all the staff and their GM, service is terrific and smile always present with fast and efficient service.
Keep on going this way !

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria_Xiengthong, General Manager at Victoria Xiengthong Palace, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Dear XH1,

Sabaidee! Merry Christmas and Happy New Year from Victoria Xiengthong Palace!

Thank you for having taken the time to share your experience at our property with the TripAdvisor community, and for your motivating comments. Indeed it can get hot during daytime in Luang Prabang winter, and I am glad you found the room equipment suitable. Still, I always advise our guests to bring warm clothes for the evenings and early hours of winter time.

I hope to have the chance of welcoming you back soon to Luang Prabang!

Best regards,

Guillermo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level Contributor
262 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013

We did not actually stay here, and only had a meal in the main Restaurant, but if the food and service is anything to go by, then the hotel would be exceptional. It was very clean and tidy, and the food was out of this world, the staff all going out of there way to make our short visit not to be missed.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kelmci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria_Xiengthong, General Manager at Victoria Xiengthong Palace, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Dear Kelmci,

Sabaidee! Merry Christmas from Victoria Xiengthong Palace!

Thank you for your review. I am delighted to read you enjoyed your brief visit to our property. I hope to have the chance of welcoming you back soon, next time for longer, so you can appreciate all the services of Victoria Xiengthong Palace.

Wishing you a Happy New Year and with best regards,

Guillermo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

We stayed for four nights, and were impressed with the very clean design, nicely put together offering, in a good quiet location near the main monuments and a short walk from the town centre. The staff in particular were excellent in their attention to detail - always on hand, never overwhelming. Breakfast was efficient in the pleasant Mekong terrace, but I got the impression that in the evenings the restaurant was deserted - the town centre seemed to be the place everyone went. Recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nuthatch_birder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guillermo B, General Manager at Victoria Xiengthong Palace, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear nuthatch_birder,

Sabaidee! Warm greetings from Victoria Xiengthong Palace in Luang Prabang!

I would like to thank you for having shared your experience in our property with the online community and future visitors, as well as for your comments about our team members.

Indeed this end of the peninsula where our hotel is located is quiet at nights, becoming very intimate.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Best regards,

Guillermo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
1.3 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 69 in Luang Prabang
743 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#2 of 69 in Luang Prabang
804 reviews
1.0 mi away
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
#6 of 69 in Luang Prabang
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
#7 of 69 in Luang Prabang
685 reviews
0.1 mi away
Burasari Heritage
Burasari Heritage
#8 of 69 in Luang Prabang
448 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kiridara
Kiridara
#11 of 69 in Luang Prabang
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Xiengthong Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Xiengthong Palace

Property: Victoria Xiengthong Palace
Address: Kounxoau Road, Ban Phonehueng, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Phone Number:
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria Xiengthong Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Luang Prabang, surrounded by the golden spires of the town’s famous Buddhist temples is Victoria Xiengthong Palace, the last residence of the Laos Royal Family. This beautiful boutique property has been lovingly restored to its former glory, and once more sits proudly on the banks of the Mekong River. The 26 elegantly appointed rooms and suites capture the essence of Laos’ unique culture and style, with local materials and fabrics used throughout. Look out upon the majestic Wat Xiengthong – the town’s most famous temple, or simply sit back and soak up the ambience of this UNESCO protected palace, the perfect place to discover the wonder and charm of Luang Prabang – the Jewel of Indochina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Victoria Xiengthong Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing