We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Asolutely the best In Laos.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Victoria Xiengthong Palace
Ranked #17 of 71 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Former king' s palace is now an elegant mekong riverside hotel with beatuful rooms and super helpful staff. The breakfast was extra special because of the wonder Von cooking eggs to perfection and the ever smiling chef 'Rasika'. We had no seats on a flight to riem reap and the general manager, Gamunu made a quick call and voila we had seats! Just amazing staff from the top man down. Will absolutely stay again !

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rubysdes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gamunu, General Manager at Victoria Xiengthong Palace, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Thank you for your excellent comment in Trip Adviser ! Thank you for the compliments offered to me & the Ex.Chef ! Theses keep us over the moon & do better in every aspect of our work ! Thank you & looking forward to welcome you to Xiengthong Palace again !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (434)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

258 - 264 of 434 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2013

We had an amazing stay at this hotel where they looked after all our needs. The General Manager went out of his way to make every guest feel looked after. First I thought it was only us...but then I saw him treating all the guests in the same way. Rasika, Vong and the rest of the breakfast staff were great..... Made our mornings! We had booked for three nights, but decided to stay for a fourth only because we were having such a great time in LP and the hotel. We are looking forward to coming back!

Room Tip: Chose a room that faces the central courtyard or the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aparna V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gamunu, General Manager at Victoria Xiengthong Palace, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Thank you for taking time to write a review & compliments to me , our Ex.Chef & the staff ! Your comments make us exceptional & discharge our duties better ! Thank you again & looking forward to welcome you to Xiengthong Palace again !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

The quality and atmosphere of this hotel was far better than I expected to find in laos. Coming back to this hotel at the end of the day was always a great experience. The staff are so lovely and helpful. The room was large and the atmosphere was fabulous. This is one of my favourite hotels in the world. It doesn't have a pool because it is in the heritage area. However I didn't really miss it and the heritage aspect is why the atmosphere at this hotel is so lovely. The hotel is so well located right beside the river and a very short walk to the main strip. After spending 5 nights here I didn't see any other hotel in Luang Prabang (or the rest of laos) that I would prefer.

Room Tip: I stayed in the lotus suite and this was a great room. It didn't have river views but did have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PipCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gamunu, General Manager at Victoria Xiengthong Palace, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Thank you for your review & the compliments to my team ! These comments makes us energized & perform our jobs better ! Thank you & looking forward to welcome you to Xiengfthong Palace again !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

I was in Luang Prabang for 4 days. Staying at the Xiengthong Palace made me love Luang Prabang. Though the prices were reasonable for Western Standards, this is an expensive option in Laos. The value is amazing though. This small Palace by the river is right beside the Xiengthong Temple, which is one of the main temples in the city and were most monks converge in the morning. The breakfast facing the Mekong was fantastic.
Though I did not see other rooms, I really enjoyed the one I had with a balcony to the Mekong. Very clean and nice rooms. The service is superb and very friendly at all levels.
The pond in the centre of the patio is nice but it would have been nice to have a pool as it was very hot!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moneymakestheworldgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gamunu, General Manager at Victoria Xiengthong Palace, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2013

Thank you for writing a an excellent review in Trip Adviser ! Your comments & reiviews makes us enegized & perform our jobs better ! Thank you & looking forward to welcome you to Xiengthong Palace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed at Xiengthong Palace for 6 days 5 nights in December and couldn't ask for a more fantastic place to stay in. The hotel staff was on time with our airport pickup.

Our room was the Lotus Suite 2 and the room was well-spacious, including a big bathroom equipped with a rain shower and bath tub. The place was well-ventilated and had a balcony and small living room area. The hotel staff was approachable and friendly throughout our stay and each night, we were welcomed with small gifts on the bed (some local hand-made crafts of Laos) which added a personal thoughtful touch to the stay.

Breakfast served daily at the hotel restaurant facing the Mekong River was fresh and kept warm. The staff was professional and polite, always ready to serve.

The hotel staff was impeccable in their service during Christmas Day. We booked the Christmas dinner and on the night, everything was arranged nicely. We had lovely lights in the garden and a live dance music performance during dinner. Well-done for making us feel appreciated and important!

I highly recommend this hotel if you're staying in Luang Prabang. it is within walking distance to the city centre (so less noise, more blending in with the locals), the hotel staff is amazing in their service and all smiles. Moreover, it is near to the Vat Xiengthong, the royal temple in LB so you can watch the monks in the alms ceremony every morning.

I would definitely return to Xiengthong Palace for my next visit to LB.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrancescaC8484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gamunu, General Manager at Victoria Xiengthong Palace, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2012

Thank you for taking time to write a response in trip adviser ! Your comments makes us motivated & energized ! Thank you & looking forward to welcome you to Xiengthong palace again !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

My wife and I recently traveled through Thailand and Laos. Luang Prabang was definitely a highlight of our trip. From the minute we arrived the staff at Xiengthong Palace were friendly and helpful. Hotel is in a great location and the room was spotless. WIFI worked in the room and internet was also available in the lobby. We enjoyed breakfast as well as drinks on the patio. We will definitely return to Xiengthong Palace when we return to Luang Prabang

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alohabrennan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gamunu, General Manager at Victoria Xiengthong Palace, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Thank you for you review in Trip Adviser ! Your comments make us motivated & do our best ! Thank you & looking forward to welcome you to Xiengthong Palace again !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Our family of four stayed in Suite 3 for 3 nights and we all liked the hotel. The location is perfect, within walking and biking distance from the main road, and river front but far enough for a tranquil stay during the day and night. The hotel, a former palace, has only 26 rooms located in several buildings. It is right next to Xienthong temple which is one of the must-see sites. The pictures on the hotel's website give a pretty good idea of what you should expect. The interior of the rooms are not brand new but relatively clean and certainly spacious. The hotel food was excellent. We had breakfast all 3 days and 2 other meals in the hotel. I would also like to compliment the service as everyone working there was friendly and helpful. We booked a van for one day tours via the reception and that worked out perfectly as well. They charged us 50 dollars per day which I think is fine otherwise we would have had to hire an external taxi and risk being taken for a ride. By the way if you're interested to give alms to the Monks early morning they do walk past the hotel and the reception can prepare sticky rice for you, just tell them one day ahead of time. Overall, I think that this hotel is probably one of the best places to stay if you're visiting Luang Prabang.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adithepv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gamunu, General Manager at Victoria Xiengthong Palace, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2012

Thank you for taking time to write a comment in Trip Ad visor ! Your comments helps us to correct our mistakes & more importantly boost our morale. Thank you & looking forward to welcome you to Xiengthong Palace again !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.1 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#3 of 71 in Luang Prabang
872 reviews
1.2 mi away
Satri House
Satri House
#6 of 71 in Luang Prabang
615 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kiridara
Kiridara
#13 of 71 in Luang Prabang
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#2 of 71 in Luang Prabang
844 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Luang Say Residence
The Luang Say Residence
#1 of 71 in Luang Prabang
625 reviews
1 mi away
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
#8 of 71 in Luang Prabang
851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Xiengthong Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Xiengthong Palace

Address: Kounxoau Road, Ban Phonehueng, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Phone Number:
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 71 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Price Range: $90 - $264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria Xiengthong Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Luang Prabang, surrounded by the golden spires of the town’s famous Buddhist temples is Victoria Xiengthong Palace, the last residence of the Laos Royal Family. This beautiful boutique property has been lovingly restored to its former glory, and once more sits proudly on the banks of the Mekong River. The 26 elegantly appointed rooms and suites capture the essence of Laos’ unique culture and style, with local materials and fabrics used throughout. Look out upon the majestic Wat Xiengthong – the town’s most famous temple, or simply sit back and soak up the ambience of this UNESCO protected palace, the perfect place to discover the wonder and charm of Luang Prabang – the Jewel of Indochina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Victoria Xiengthong Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing