We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the perfect hotel to rest and work from 3 months oldvbeautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Victoria Xiengthong Palace
Ranked #15 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
264 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“the perfect hotel to rest and work from 3 months oldvbeautiful”
Reviewed October 24, 2012 via mobile

i love the old town.. this hotel is the old palace rebuilt a great place for me to spend time wriring and reflecting.. the mekong suite is spacious. the staff friendly and helpful.
spotless rooms fluffy linen. a little off the main street . tranquil

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Worldwidediner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gamunu, General Manager at Victoria Xiengthong Palace, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you for the excellent comment ! These comments makes the team to do better in their jobs .
Thank you & lokking forward to welcome you to Xiengthong Palace again !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    80
    20
    4
    1
See reviews for
64
171
38
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Our first hotel in Luang Prabang was a disaster, so we left early. Our second choice started with on-line research to identify best options and concluded by visiting all of those hotels.

We initially chose this hotel because it was the clear best option: new hotel, close to town, large elegantly appointed rooms with all of the amenities you'd expect in a luxury hotel. Our experience here reinforces that choice. Breakfast and staff were wonderful.

Elegance that's not ":fussy" , and a very fair price for what you get

Room Tip: Our room bordered the Mekong River... ask for a river view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michael g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gamunu, General Manager at Victoria Xiengthong Palace, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you for taking time to write a review in Trip Ad visor ! You make us proud & do our jobs better !Thank you & looking forward to welcome you to Xiengthong palace again 1
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

My partner and I enjoyed three nights in wonderful luxury at this former royal palace - the service couldn't have been more attentive, the location and grounds were immaculate and the entire experience of Luang Prabang with its frangipani-tinged misty surroundings was magical.

I can't recommend this highly enough. Marvellous

Room Tip: Not sure if all rooms are split level, but ours had a pool down bottom. Super!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sebasu101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gamunu, General Manager at Victoria Xiengthong Palace, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you for your comment in Trip Ad visor ! These comments make us motivated & perform our duties better ! Thank you & looking forward to welcome you to Xiengthong Palace again !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

The place is beautiful. The breakfast was amazing, it was not a buffet so everything was made from scratch, including the bread that came warm just from the oven in a littlet basket. We used the bikes from the hotel and it was a great way to move around since the hotel is not close to the mayor spots. For us it was a great place because it was just out of the noise but walking distance to everything. My only comment to the hotel is that it will be usefull to add a basket and lights to the bikes.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ConniePeralta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gamunu, General Manager at Victoria Xiengthong Palace, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you for writing a review in Trip Ad visor ! We appreciate your comments & views as it helps us to do better. The baskets were removed from the bicycles as Luang Prabang city authorities asked all the Hotel owners to have cycles with out baskets due to security reasons. We ll install the lights as you mentioned. Thank you & looking forward to welcome you to Xiengthong Palace again !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed two nights at Xiengthong Palace in September, 2012. We were there for the weekend of the country wide boat races, and the location of the hotel was very close to the activities. We could walk along the waterfront, and also into the town. The room was very comfortable, the food at the restaurant was great. And to add a nice touch, it was the day of my husband's birthday, and in the evening, they brought him a cake! That was so unexpected and so much appreciated. The staff were all nice and helpful and polite.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seeingtheworld180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gamunu, General Manager at Victoria Xiengthong Palace, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Thank you for taking time to write a comment in Trip Ad visor ! We are looking forward to welcome you to Xiengthong Palace again ! Thank you !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

A truly great hotel that represents true 5 star service throughout this historical site
Well located along the Mekong and within walking distance to town center
We will definitely be returning to this great hotel
Great restaurant with excellent food and great staff as well
AAAAA+++++

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gamunu, General Manager at Victoria Xiengthong Palace, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Thank you for your excellent comment ! Thank you for taking time to write about our hotel & services ! Looking forward to welcome you to Xiengthong Palace again ! Thank you !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Firstly, the hotel is beautifully understated. None of that "Ye Olde ___" and you can fill in any city and country you like, starting with Luang Prabang [which I have visited now 4 times]. The elegance is restful.
Secondly, the hotel management is professional. Elegance would no substitute for bad lighting, clumsy bathrooms, etc. I especially appreciated the adequate reading light. it's rare back 'home' in Thailand. and breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PadovaChiangMai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gamunu, General Manager at Victoria Xiengthong Palace, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Thank you for your review & the compliments ! These comments make us motivated & perform our tasks better . Thank you & looking forward to welcome you to Xiengthong Palace & Luangprabang again !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.1 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#2 of 69 in Luang Prabang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
0.1 mi away
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
#8 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
1.3 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 69 in Luang Prabang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Burasari Heritage
Burasari Heritage
#7 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
1.0 mi away
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
#6 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kiridara
Kiridara
#12 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Xiengthong Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Xiengthong Palace

Property: Victoria Xiengthong Palace
Address: Kounxoau Road, Ban Phonehueng, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Phone Number:
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria Xiengthong Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Luang Prabang, surrounded by the golden spires of the town’s famous Buddhist temples is Victoria Xiengthong Palace, the last residence of the Laos Royal Family. This beautiful boutique property has been lovingly restored to its former glory, and once more sits proudly on the banks of the Mekong River. The 26 elegantly appointed rooms and suites capture the essence of Laos’ unique culture and style, with local materials and fabrics used throughout. Look out upon the majestic Wat Xiengthong – the town’s most famous temple, or simply sit back and soak up the ambience of this UNESCO protected palace, the perfect place to discover the wonder and charm of Luang Prabang – the Jewel of Indochina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Victoria Xiengthong Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing