We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb tranquility”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Victoria Xiengthong Palace
Ranked #15 of 68 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 16, 2012

My partner and I enjoyed three nights in wonderful luxury at this former royal palace - the service couldn't have been more attentive, the location and grounds were immaculate and the entire experience of Luang Prabang with its frangipani-tinged misty surroundings was magical.

I can't recommend this highly enough. Marvellous

Room Tip: Not sure if all rooms are split level, but ours had a pool down bottom. Super!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sebasu101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gamunu, General Manager at Victoria Xiengthong Palace, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Thank you for your comment in Trip Ad visor ! These comments make us motivated & perform our duties better ! Thank you & looking forward to welcome you to Xiengthong Palace again !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (412)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

260 - 266 of 412 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2012

The place is beautiful. The breakfast was amazing, it was not a buffet so everything was made from scratch, including the bread that came warm just from the oven in a littlet basket. We used the bikes from the hotel and it was a great way to move around since the hotel is not close to the mayor spots. For us it was a great place because it was just out of the noise but walking distance to everything. My only comment to the hotel is that it will be usefull to add a basket and lights to the bikes.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ConniePeralta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gamunu, General Manager at Victoria Xiengthong Palace, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Thank you for writing a review in Trip Ad visor ! We appreciate your comments & views as it helps us to do better. The baskets were removed from the bicycles as Luang Prabang city authorities asked all the Hotel owners to have cycles with out baskets due to security reasons. We ll install the lights as you mentioned. Thank you & looking forward to welcome you to Xiengthong Palace again !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed two nights at Xiengthong Palace in September, 2012. We were there for the weekend of the country wide boat races, and the location of the hotel was very close to the activities. We could walk along the waterfront, and also into the town. The room was very comfortable, the food at the restaurant was great. And to add a nice touch, it was the day of my husband's birthday, and in the evening, they brought him a cake! That was so unexpected and so much appreciated. The staff were all nice and helpful and polite.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seeingtheworld180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gamunu, General Manager at Victoria Xiengthong Palace, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2012

Thank you for taking time to write a comment in Trip Ad visor ! We are looking forward to welcome you to Xiengthong Palace again ! Thank you !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

A truly great hotel that represents true 5 star service throughout this historical site
Well located along the Mekong and within walking distance to town center
We will definitely be returning to this great hotel
Great restaurant with excellent food and great staff as well
AAAAA+++++

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gamunu, General Manager at Victoria Xiengthong Palace, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2012

Thank you for your excellent comment ! Thank you for taking time to write about our hotel & services ! Looking forward to welcome you to Xiengthong Palace again ! Thank you !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Firstly, the hotel is beautifully understated. None of that "Ye Olde ___" and you can fill in any city and country you like, starting with Luang Prabang [which I have visited now 4 times]. The elegance is restful.
Secondly, the hotel management is professional. Elegance would no substitute for bad lighting, clumsy bathrooms, etc. I especially appreciated the adequate reading light. it's rare back 'home' in Thailand. and breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PadovaChiangMai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gamunu, General Manager at Victoria Xiengthong Palace, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2012

Thank you for your review & the compliments ! These comments make us motivated & perform our tasks better . Thank you & looking forward to welcome you to Xiengthong Palace & Luangprabang again !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

My daughter and I stayed in this suite for three nights while visiting places in Luang Prabang. The room was clean, tastefully furnished and so user friendly. The staff were helpful, polite and attentive to all our needs. The view from our room overlooked the Mekong river and it was so breezy and cool. The morning breakfast was very healthy and tasty. Every evening we were greeted with chocolates and small knick-knacks laid on the bed. The room was lit with scented oil and the beds were made and fresh towels were laid out. The bed was high and very cosy and comfortable. We slept, ate and enjoyed ourselves tremendously while we stayed there. The hotel staff assisted in preparing sticky rice for the alms giving ceremony of the monks. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who would like to visit Luang Prabang.

Room Tip: Choose the room facing the river, it is very breezy and the view is breathtaking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jiggs157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gamunu, General Manager at Victoria Xiengthong Palace, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Thank you for taking time to write a review ! Your comments make us motivated & do our jobs better ! Thank you & loooking forward to welcome you to Xiengthong Palace again !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed in a Mekong Suite for four nights which overlooked the river from the bedroom and lounge. Could not have asked for a better location. Gorgeous light filled spacious room.

Room was nice & quite - super comfy beds & pillows allowed for a great nights sleep, Turndown service with chocolates, ornaments and clean towels,
Huge spacious rooms & bathrooms,
Lots of bottled water provided,
Location: on the penisula adjacent to the wat. An easy stroll to the night markets, boats, main street yet away from all the noise and tourists in the busy areas,
Easy airport transfer,
Could hire bicycles from reception,
Superb bath tub & bathroom was huge,
Friendly reception & restaurant staff,
Breakfasts overlooking the river- a highlight - made to order juices, fruit plates, eggs etc. And the basket full of baked goodies. Good coffee. Brilliant friendly service. Our orders did get messed up a little i.e, asking for a juice and getting a plate of mango was one example but hey who can complain about a plate of mango.
Rooms have lots of light.

Only thing missing is a swimming pool

I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 665kate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gamunu, General Manager at Victoria Xiengthong Palace, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Thank you for your constructive & excellant comments ! We actually wanted to built a swimming pool ; since we are in UNESCO most restricted area, surrounded by the most rev.Xiengthong Royal temple, Royal Palace & all other UNESCO heritage buildings, we were compelled to give up the idea. We continue to do the training of our staff to get better results & thank you for the remarks made on breakfast service ! Looking forward to welcome you to Xiengthong Palace again ! Thank you !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.1 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#2 of 68 in Luang Prabang
818 reviews
1.8 mi away
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Luang Prabang View Hotel
#20 of 68 in Luang Prabang
302 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel
#6 of 68 in Luang Prabang
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 68 in Luang Prabang
782 reviews
0.1 mi away
Burasari Heritage
Burasari Heritage
#7 of 68 in Luang Prabang
474 reviews
1.0 mi away
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
#8 of 68 in Luang Prabang
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Xiengthong Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Xiengthong Palace

Address: Kounxoau Road, Ban Phonehueng, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Phone Number:
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 68 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Price Range: $136 - $273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria Xiengthong Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Luang Prabang, surrounded by the golden spires of the town’s famous Buddhist temples is Victoria Xiengthong Palace, the last residence of the Laos Royal Family. This beautiful boutique property has been lovingly restored to its former glory, and once more sits proudly on the banks of the Mekong River. The 26 elegantly appointed rooms and suites capture the essence of Laos’ unique culture and style, with local materials and fabrics used throughout. Look out upon the majestic Wat Xiengthong – the town’s most famous temple, or simply sit back and soak up the ambience of this UNESCO protected palace, the perfect place to discover the wonder and charm of Luang Prabang – the Jewel of Indochina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Victoria Xiengthong Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing