We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fave SE Asia hotel to date”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Victoria Xiengthong Palace
Ranked #15 of 68 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed in a Mekong Suite for four nights which overlooked the river from the bedroom and lounge. Could not have asked for a better location. Gorgeous light filled spacious room.

Room was nice & quite - super comfy beds & pillows allowed for a great nights sleep, Turndown service with chocolates, ornaments and clean towels,
Huge spacious rooms & bathrooms,
Lots of bottled water provided,
Location: on the penisula adjacent to the wat. An easy stroll to the night markets, boats, main street yet away from all the noise and tourists in the busy areas,
Easy airport transfer,
Could hire bicycles from reception,
Superb bath tub & bathroom was huge,
Friendly reception & restaurant staff,
Breakfasts overlooking the river- a highlight - made to order juices, fruit plates, eggs etc. And the basket full of baked goodies. Good coffee. Brilliant friendly service. Our orders did get messed up a little i.e, asking for a juice and getting a plate of mango was one example but hey who can complain about a plate of mango.
Rooms have lots of light.

Only thing missing is a swimming pool

I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 665kate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gamunu, General Manager at Victoria Xiengthong Palace, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Thank you for your constructive & excellant comments ! We actually wanted to built a swimming pool ; since we are in UNESCO most restricted area, surrounded by the most rev.Xiengthong Royal temple, Royal Palace & all other UNESCO heritage buildings, we were compelled to give up the idea. We continue to do the training of our staff to get better results & thank you for the remarks made on breakfast service ! Looking forward to welcome you to Xiengthong Palace again ! Thank you !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (411)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

265 - 271 of 411 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2012

We stayed here with our three children for 3 nights while exploring
Luang Prabang. The accommodations are elegant and beautifully appointed. There are many lovely touches in the rooms which are very roomy and comfortable. We were upgraded to a suite which had a lovely sitting room and overlooked the Mekong river. Our kids had a room on the other side of the building which was smaller but certainly big enough for the three of them.
The location of the hotel is perfect for the morning alms walk as it is located on the less touristy street where the monks walk to return to the monasteries. You just need to walk out the door. The breakfast is really a highlight of the experience. The food was excellent and the staff extremely friendly and lovely. The restaurant overlooks the Mekong river and it is a joy to wake early and watch luang Prabang come to life.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gamunu, General Manager at Victoria Xiengthong Palace, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Thank you for your excellant review ! These reviews make our team motivated & do our jobs better. Thank you & looking forward to welcome you to Xiengthong Palace again !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We have had an amazing 10 day stay in Luang Prabang staying at the luxurious Xiengthong Palace Hotel. The staff are amazingly hospitable and helpful and the suites are beautifully designed in a serene, tranquil location all appointed by the mighty Mekong River right in town. We enjoyed sumptuous breakfasts, attentive service and would recommend this historic hotel to anyone. Will come again!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gamunu S, General Manager at Victoria Xiengthong Palace, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Thank you for taking time to write this wonderful review ! We are overjoyed by your comments since you & your family stayed for 10 days ; the first guest to stay over one week, since the opening of this hotel in last December. Thank you & looking forward to welcome you & your family to Xiengthong Palace AGAIN !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

I've been here 3 nights for my business. The staff were very friendly and helpful, all being able to speak some English as a common method of communication. Xiengthong Palace is a most restful and peaceful place to stay and in an ideal location to take a break or to explore Luang Prabang. The rooms are stately and offer a dark wood paneled deck. The bathrooms have large shower chamber enclosed in glass and large bath tub. The hotel has a nice restaurant and bar with river view. The food is excellent, all services are perfect. It makes my trip become more helpful and memorable.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Brisson m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gamunu S, General Manager at Victoria Xiengthong Palace, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Thank you for writing a review ! Your comments make wonders to the motivational levels of our team at Xiengthong Palace . Looking forward to welcome you to Xiengthong Palace again !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

This hotel is ideally located in the northern part of the city, far from the tourist crowds, yet a 15 minute stroll to all the sights in central Luang Prabang. The staff and management are gracious, the facilities elegant and modern, and the atmosphere extremely restful. The restaurant is a particular jewel with an excellent menu and wonderful location overlooking the Mekong River. I would not hesitate to return and recommend the hotel very highly.

Room Tip: Make sure you book one of the spacious villas with your own private plunge pool and balcony terrace...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Addison2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gamunu S, General Manager at Victoria Xiengthong Palace, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2012

Thank you for taking time to write a review ! These comments make us motivated & increase our performances. Thank you again & looking forward to welcome again to Xiengthong Palace !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Having recently stayed three nights at this location, I must admit that the 'Jasmine Suite' that I stayed in was spacious, well appointed, very clean and well maintained. The staff were very friendly and helpful, all being able to speak some English as a common method of communication. The buildings are beautiful in their own right.
The on site restaurant where, breakfast, lunch and dinner can be obtained was excellent serving a variety of very nice meals.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gamunu S, General Manager at Victoria Xiengthong Palace, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2012

Thank you for your excellent review ! Your comments make us proud & motivated ! Looking forward to welcome you to Xiengthong Palace again ! Thank you !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

A truly serene and tranquil place to stay and having been an early guest not long after Xiengthong Palace opened I knew that I would go back. The staff I have found to be without exception most attentive, always extremely polite and kind - a reflection of the Lao people in general and representative of Xienthong Palace.

Xiengthong Palace is a most restful and peaceful place to stay and in an ideal location to take a break or to explore Luang Prabang and it's attractions and surrounds further.

Room Tip: Mekong suites with a view of the Mekong River are idea.l
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 31Tiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gamunu, General Manager at Victoria Xiengthong Palace, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2012

Thank you for coming again to Xiengthong Palace & thank you for taking time to write a review ! Your comments makes us motivated & do our jobs better ! Thank you again & looking forward to welcome you to Xiengthong Palace again !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.1 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#2 of 68 in Luang Prabang
818 reviews
1.8 mi away
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Luang Prabang View Hotel
#19 of 68 in Luang Prabang
302 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel
#6 of 68 in Luang Prabang
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 68 in Luang Prabang
781 reviews
0.1 mi away
Burasari Heritage
Burasari Heritage
#7 of 68 in Luang Prabang
474 reviews
1.0 mi away
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
#8 of 68 in Luang Prabang
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Xiengthong Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Xiengthong Palace

Address: Kounxoau Road, Ban Phonehueng, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Phone Number:
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 68 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Price Range: $136 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria Xiengthong Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Luang Prabang, surrounded by the golden spires of the town’s famous Buddhist temples is Victoria Xiengthong Palace, the last residence of the Laos Royal Family. This beautiful boutique property has been lovingly restored to its former glory, and once more sits proudly on the banks of the Mekong River. The 26 elegantly appointed rooms and suites capture the essence of Laos’ unique culture and style, with local materials and fabrics used throughout. Look out upon the majestic Wat Xiengthong – the town’s most famous temple, or simply sit back and soak up the ambience of this UNESCO protected palace, the perfect place to discover the wonder and charm of Luang Prabang – the Jewel of Indochina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Victoria Xiengthong Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing