We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in the town, wonderful food and services”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Victoria Xiengthong Palace
Ranked #17 of 71 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Xieng Thong Palace is a great hotel with the best location in town, face to Mekong river. We can enjoy the feaceful of the town and easy to walk around, very close to all the main sites. We have stayed there for 3 nights and do not want to leave because it seams to become our home already. The food is excellent, staff are so friendly, all services are perfect. It makes our trip become more memorable. If you come to LPQ please do not miss your chance to stay at Xieng Thong Place, it is highly recomended.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Huong P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 9, 2012

Thank you for your excellent review ! These comments make our team more energized & motivated. Thank you & Looking forward to welcome you to Xiengthong Palace again !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (421)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

292 - 298 of 421 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2012

I stayed there for 3 nights in July and it is my unforgetable time.

The people here so nice, so friendly, always give me the smile. I have the feeling that I am safe here, I am protected by my dear friends here.

The services are perfect. Whenever I get out, they make the room which I turn it messy then they make it clean with so charmingfull smell.

I am strongly would like to say thank you to Mr, Gamunu (GM of this hotel) who is very special GM in the world. He always stands there, in the restaurant to make sure that the customers are happy and have good meals. And his staff tell me that he has never shouted at any one.

Also would like to say thanks to the Chef from Sri Lanka, sorry that I cannot remmember his name, to Ms. Vone and all the Kitchen and bar staff, Ms. Chanmala and the Receptionist crew and all the gaderner who always work in silent but ready to say "Sabai dee" to customers.

I love this hotel with the peole and every corner of the hotel. I can walk there along the bank of Mekong river at peaceful night. I can walk along the silent, small and clean streets to join the night market. I can stop to talk with any one in the hotel or just someone in the streets. They are all amazing, wonderful.

Thanks for giving me great time in Luang Prabang. Will come back to stay here someday.

Trang

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SaSa_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gamunu, General Manager at Victoria Xiengthong Palace, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2012

Thank you for your beautifully worded long review in Trip Ad visor ! Special thanks for complimenting me & my team ! These encouraging words will make us motivated & do our jobs better ! Thank you & looking forward to welcome you to Xiengthong Palace again !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

I was warmly welcomed by the whole hotel. "Sabai Dee" with beautiful smile is the first impression. The hotel is extremely clean. My room is Lavender suite, large and well-aired while my friends stayed at Grand Villa Suite, which has 2 floors (the 1st floor has a Jacuzzi pool, it's great, isn't it?). Both have a large balcony with have great view. It's quite and peaceful, near the royal temple Wat XiengThong (it makes the hotel the last stop of the monks on their journey of sacred Alms Giving Ceremony in the early morning)
You can enjoy the breakfast in Mekong kichen Restaurant (which facing the Mekong river), while seeing the daily life of the local. What an experience!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thuyxoai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 8, 2012

Thank you for taking time to write an excellent review ! These comments make out team motivated & do our tasks better ! Thank you again & looking forward to welcome you to Xiengthong Palace again !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

First we got to the hotel and inmediately we noticed how hard they tried to please you. The check in process was smooth with lots of greets. Then we entered our great room with a balcony with a river view. Location is great, we walked downtown and came back to a room that they prepared again. At night we went to the Kitchen by the Mekong and were treated as kings. The same the following day for breakfast. The manager, Ms. Vorve, Somphone, Bouahong and the girls served the breakfast and just wanted us to feel good. We will recommend it 100%.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank naydi n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 6, 2012

Thank you for the compliments , we are over joyed to see these & our team 'll do better in the future ! Thank you again & looking forward to welcome you to Xiengthong Palace again !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights and was fortunate to be given one of the rooms on the riverside. The hotel itself is located near the place where Nam Kan enters the Mekong which is a little quiter than down town. It has a very relaxing atmosphere in the morning and evenings. The service and food were excellent with many nice little touches. Another review has noted that the hotel was only opened in 2011. The hotel was in fact the final residence of the last King of Laos, having been restored and developed into the hotel it is today maintaining the same look as the orginal buildings. Hence there is a bit of history as well. I can thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to have a memorable experience of Luang Prabang.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TB41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 2, 2012

Thank you very much for your valuble comments ! These comments will defineatly increases our morale. Thank you & looking forward to welcome you to Xiengthong Palace !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Went here for dinner one day while staying in luang prabang. Amazing food and really friendly staff. Amazing view.

Staying here for sure the next time I'm in Laos.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VaruniV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 2, 2012

Thank you for visiting Kitchen by the Mekong & taking time write a review ! These comments will boost our team moral & do better in the future . Thank you & looking forward to welcome you to Xiengthong Palace !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights during our stay in Luang Prabang. The only reason I can think why this hotel is not in the top 5 in Tripadvisor is because it is a new hotel that was only opened in December 2011. As a result the premises is obviously very new and modern but at the same time does not lose the touch of the Palace history.

The location is ideal as it overlooks the Mekong River and very quiet but still walking distance to the hustle and bustle of the night market area. The daily monk alms giving procession also took place right in front of the hotel.

We both ate at the hotel restaurant and it was great - we were also treated to a special menu that was organised by the general manager Mr Srilal which was typical of the friendly and accomodating nature of their staff. The entire staff always had a smile on their face which was refreshing to see and as mentioned above, special mention to the General Manager Mr Srilal and the hotel engineer who made our stay very comfortable and ensured all our requests were met.

We both also used the spa one day and were very satisified.

Overall if staying in Luang Prabang, staying at the Xiengthong Palace is a must.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank prabu1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gamunu, General Manager at Victoria Xiengthong Palace, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2012

Thank you for your review, these comments will keep us moving towards better heights. Looking forward to welcome you again to Xiengthong Palace !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.1 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#3 of 71 in Luang Prabang
842 reviews
1.8 mi away
Luang Prabang View Hotel
Luang Prabang View Hotel
#18 of 71 in Luang Prabang
314 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel
The Belle Rive Boutique Hotel
#8 of 71 in Luang Prabang
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Satri House
Satri House
#7 of 71 in Luang Prabang
592 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kiridara
Kiridara
#12 of 71 in Luang Prabang
667 reviews
0.1 mi away
Burasari Heritage
Burasari Heritage
#9 of 71 in Luang Prabang
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Xiengthong Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Xiengthong Palace

Address: Kounxoau Road, Ban Phonehueng, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Phone Number:
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 71 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Price Range: $156 - $298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria Xiengthong Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Luang Prabang, surrounded by the golden spires of the town’s famous Buddhist temples is Victoria Xiengthong Palace, the last residence of the Laos Royal Family. This beautiful boutique property has been lovingly restored to its former glory, and once more sits proudly on the banks of the Mekong River. The 26 elegantly appointed rooms and suites capture the essence of Laos’ unique culture and style, with local materials and fabrics used throughout. Look out upon the majestic Wat Xiengthong – the town’s most famous temple, or simply sit back and soak up the ambience of this UNESCO protected palace, the perfect place to discover the wonder and charm of Luang Prabang – the Jewel of Indochina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Victoria Xiengthong Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing