We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Victoria Xiengthong Palace
Nearby Hotels
$140
$107
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$188
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$74
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$130
$100
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Apsara Rive Droite(Luang Prabang)
$103
$86
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Maison Dalabua Hotel(Luang Prabang)
$63
$57
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Sada Hotel(Luang Prabang)
$63
$56
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Apsara(Luang Prabang)
$53
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Sokdee Residence(Luang Prabang)
$14
$13
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lao Spirit Resort(Luang Prabang)
$69
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
Reviews (442)
Filter reviews
442 results
Traveler rating
311
101
22
7
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
311
101
22
7
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmekong riverlotus suiteprivate jacuzziroyal residenceliving roomold palacemain templepeaceful locationnight marketmonks passvery nice hotelmorning almsthe hotel staffearly morningbeautiful propertysitting areain town
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
311 - 316 of 442 reviews
Reviewed July 5, 2012

First we got to the hotel and inmediately we noticed how hard they tried to please you. The check in process was smooth with lots of greets. Then we entered our great room with a balcony with a river view. Location is great, we walked downtown and came back to a room that they prepared again. At night we went to the Kitchen by the Mekong and were treated as kings. The same the following day for breakfast. The manager, Ms. Vorve, Somphone, Bouahong and the girls served the breakfast and just wanted us to feel good. We will recommend it 100%.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank naydi n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 6, 2012

Thank you for the compliments , we are over joyed to see these & our team 'll do better in the future ! Thank you again & looking forward to welcome you to Xiengthong Palace again !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights and was fortunate to be given one of the rooms on the riverside. The hotel itself is located near the place where Nam Kan enters the Mekong which is a little quiter than down town. It has a very relaxing atmosphere in the morning and evenings. The service and food were excellent with many nice little touches. Another review has noted that the hotel was only opened in 2011. The hotel was in fact the final residence of the last King of Laos, having been restored and developed into the hotel it is today maintaining the same look as the orginal buildings. Hence there is a bit of history as well. I can thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to have a memorable experience of Luang Prabang.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TB41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 2, 2012

Thank you very much for your valuble comments ! These comments will defineatly increases our morale. Thank you & looking forward to welcome you to Xiengthong Palace !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2012

Went here for dinner one day while staying in luang prabang. Amazing food and really friendly staff. Amazing view.

Staying here for sure the next time I'm in Laos.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VaruniV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 2, 2012

Thank you for visiting Kitchen by the Mekong & taking time write a review ! These comments will boost our team moral & do better in the future . Thank you & looking forward to welcome you to Xiengthong Palace !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights during our stay in Luang Prabang. The only reason I can think why this hotel is not in the top 5 in Tripadvisor is because it is a new hotel that was only opened in December 2011. As a result the premises is obviously very new and modern but at the same time does not lose the touch of the Palace history.

The location is ideal as it overlooks the Mekong River and very quiet but still walking distance to the hustle and bustle of the night market area. The daily monk alms giving procession also took place right in front of the hotel.

We both ate at the hotel restaurant and it was great - we were also treated to a special menu that was organised by the general manager Mr Srilal which was typical of the friendly and accomodating nature of their staff. The entire staff always had a smile on their face which was refreshing to see and as mentioned above, special mention to the General Manager Mr Srilal and the hotel engineer who made our stay very comfortable and ensured all our requests were met.

We both also used the spa one day and were very satisified.

Overall if staying in Luang Prabang, staying at the Xiengthong Palace is a must.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank prabu1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gamunu, General Manager at Victoria Xiengthong Palace, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2012

Thank you for your review, these comments will keep us moving towards better heights. Looking forward to welcome you again to Xiengthong Palace !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2012

The hotel is stuning. The service is perfect. Staff are really friendly and helpfull. Everything for small children is available, high chair, baby cot, etc...
The best place to stay in Luang Prabang.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank 222Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gamunu, General Manager at Victoria Xiengthong Palace, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2012

Thank you for your comments & compliments ! These comments will bring our teams motivation levels high. Thank you ! Looking forward to welcome you again to Xiengthong Palace !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews