We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely tranquil and relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Victoria Xiengthong Palace
Ranked #16 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence
Luang Prabang, Laos
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely tranquil and relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

Lovely hotel, staff friendly and very helpful. Spa treatments were amazing. Mekong Kitchen, food very good and service impeccable.

Would recommend this hotel for your stay in Laos.

Room Tip: We had a suite overlooking the Mekong River, very large well air conditioned and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank glenn311057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gamunu, General Manager at Victoria Xiengthong Palace, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Thank you for taking time to write a review Your comments make us motivated & energized. Looking forward to welcome you to Xiengthong Palace again. The rooms that are facing Mekong are 3 Mekong suites & the two Palace deluxe rooms; Rooms from the original Palace rooms of the Last King of Laos.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    80
    20
    4
    1
See reviews for
62
169
37
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

What a relaxing week end between the most beautifull Temple on the Peninsula and The Mekong River.

The Staff were all charming and usefull.

We tried the restaurant 2 times and the Lady Laos Chef made sure that we enjoyed it all...and we did. It was excellent!

Room Tip: Mekong Suite facing the Mekong and next to the Restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank soapopera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gamunu, General Manager at Victoria Xiengthong Palace, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Thank you for taking time to write a review ! These comments make us happy & motivated. Looking forward to welcome you to Xiengthong palace again !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2012

We were a family of 6 people and stayed at Xiengthong Palace for 2 nights in May. This is truely a beautiful hotel and one of the best in Luang Prabang. We were greeted by the General Manager-Mr. Gamunu and his team upon our check in & check out-What's A Special Touch!!! Since, we have 2 kids ( 7 & 10 years sons), they upgraded us to the Mekong Suite-which is spacious and the room is very clean. We love the small little things that they added into the rooms-the flowers on the beds, small bamboo fishing traps as the gifts for the kids and daily fruits basket in the room. Their team has really made our stay very memorable. We also ended up having 2 lovely meals at the hotel (lunch & dinner). Again, the sous chef came to talk to us and we really gave her the credit for making sure that everything is going well. The foods were all delicious!!! We strongly recommended Both-Xiengthong Palace Hotel & their Kitchen by the Mekong Restaurant to everyone who comes to Luang Prabang. What's a Special Treat, WE HAD!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TPanya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gamunu, General Manager at Victoria Xiengthong Palace, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Thank you for your excellents comments, Hope your children will take back home the memories of charming Luang Prabang & the beauty of Xiengthong Palace. Thank you & looking forward to welcome you to Xiengthong Palace again !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2012

This trip review for 3Days/2Nights at Xiengthong Palace for friends group on April 2012

Room Tip: Suit room have 2steps of flooring separating Living-room and Bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hugo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gamunu, General Manager at Victoria Xiengthong Palace, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Thank you for your review, Looking forward to welcome you to Xiengthong Palace again !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seremban District, Malaysia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2012

One of the best hotels we have ever stayed. It was hot 40C heat and we spent the afternoon lazing around in these faultless magnificent rooms. The restaurant had a good view with reasonably tasting food. The Laobeer was chilled to perfection and it helped in this unforgiving heat. The waiters, receptionist were always friendly and helpful. We had to go after 2 nights to Vientiane but we had not booked a hotel room there. The manager invited me to his office and used his cellphone and after half and hour he managed to help us to get 2 rooms. Very helpful and humble management. There is also a I Dock (for I pod) provided in the room. Top marks .

Room Tip: a room with the river view will be good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Raj S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gamunu, General Manager at Victoria Xiengthong Palace, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Thank you for your comments , Your comments make us more energetic & to do our jobs better. Hope you enjoyed your stay in Vientienne too. Looking forward to welcome you to Xiengthong Palace again !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for four nights last week, and my stay in Luang Prabang couldn't have been better. The location is great, you can walk to the boat ticket office, to the night market, to most sights, wonderful restaurants and the greatest shops. The morning alms procession passes right through the street in front of the hotel, so you can watch it quietly without being a nuisance.
The staff is incredibly friendly, professional and helpful. The breakfast is really good, and the restaurant is located right by the Mekong, so you have your morning cup of coffee sitting by the river and watching the boats go by. I stayed in one of the suites, the Lotus suite 2, which overlooks the courtyard, and has a big terrace. The suite was just wonderful, everything you could expect from a top hotel, very clean, beautifully decorated in Lao style with some Western touches, there is free wifi in the rooms and even an iPod docking system. Every night after turn down service there was a little gift on the bed, always a miniature version of something significant in Lao culture, such as a sticky rice basket or a mini fishing boat, with a little card explaining what it is, what it means and wishing you good night, such a lovely gesture!
I would stay here again without even having to think about it, and recommend this hotel to everybody.

Room Tip: There are several buildings, some of which have a river view. I stayed in the Lotus suite, which ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rrbangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gamunu, General Manager at Victoria Xiengthong Palace, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Thank you for your review & all the compliments offered to us ! Your comments make our team more & more enthusiastic in our jobs & perform better. The Lotus suites; one of the favourites in our room catogaries overlooking the big pond & the garden of the hotel. It has the view of Mekong when you are at the terrace or the balcony of the suite. The other rooms which has Mekong view are 3 Mekong suites & the 2 Palace deluxe rooms. Looking forward to welcome you to Xiengthong Palace again !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2012

I had been in Xiengthong Palace for 3 nights and it was a very pleasant stay. The hotel is located on the riverside next to Xiengthong Wat - the most beautiful pagoda in Luang Prabang. To me it's the best location in town, cool, peaceful and quiet yet just few minutes walk to the center (night market, restaurants...). I was stayed in the suit room, ground floor is a living room and a big jaccuzi pool (photo attached), 1st floor is a spacious bedroom, with a corridor view to a big beautiful pond in the hotel, and a neat bathroom with a big white bathtub and shower. What impress me much in the restaurant (beside delicious food, highly recommend Mekong salad and professional staffs) is the parfume of pikaki flower(???), we always choose the seats under a big pikaki tree, enjoy breakfast, seeing birds squeek and breeze from Mekong river. Can not recommend enough.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Hao M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gamunu, General Manager at Victoria Xiengthong Palace, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Thank you for your review & thank you for taking time to write a comment in Trip Advisor ! These comments make us motivated more & make our services better ! Thank you ! The rooms with Plounge pools / Jacuzies are Grand suites; we have 6 of them ! The trees that you mentioned in your review is Champa tree ; the national flower of Laos PDR ( Its called Temple tree or Frangipani too ) Thank you & looking forward to welcome you to Xiengthong Palace again !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Luang Prabang hotels
0.1 mi away
Mekong Riverview Hotel
Mekong Riverview Hotel
#1 of 69 in Luang Prabang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
0.1 mi away
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
The BelleRive Boutique Hotel
#6 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
1.3 mi away
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
#3 of 69 in Luang Prabang
5.0 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Burasari Heritage
Burasari Heritage
#7 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
1.0 mi away
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
#5 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kiridara
Kiridara
#11 of 69 in Luang Prabang
4.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Xiengthong Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Xiengthong Palace

Property: Victoria Xiengthong Palace
Address: Kounxoau Road, Ban Phonehueng, Luang Prabang 0600, Laos
Phone Number:
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 69 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria Xiengthong Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Luang Prabang, surrounded by the golden spires of the town’s famous Buddhist temples is Victoria Xiengthong Palace, the last residence of the Laos Royal Family. This beautiful boutique property has been lovingly restored to its former glory, and once more sits proudly on the banks of the Mekong River. The 26 elegantly appointed rooms and suites capture the essence of Laos’ unique culture and style, with local materials and fabrics used throughout. Look out upon the majestic Wat Xiengthong – the town’s most famous temple, or simply sit back and soak up the ambience of this UNESCO protected palace, the perfect place to discover the wonder and charm of Luang Prabang – the Jewel of Indochina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Victoria Xiengthong Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing